The Canadian Cancer Society turns 75 today!

28 March 2013


To highlight both the Canadian Cancer Society’s 75th anniversary and the 2013 edition of the Relay For Life, the CCS has produced a video-relay called, Pour moi, la vie, c’est… (available in French only), made up of 75 testimonials by Quebec celebrities.

This unique video was released this morning in the presence of cancer survivors, volunteers, employees, and researchers funded by CCS as well as several personalities who participated in the video. Every 11 minutes, a Quebecer hears the words: “You have cancer.” By inviting 75 Quebec celebrities to relay a message about life, the CCS wanted to show all those who were or are living with cancer that a whole community is behind them in their battle against the disease.

“Watching this video-relay, relaying it to friends and family, and taking part in one of the Relay For Life events are concrete ways of getting involved against cancer and offering support to all those who are touched by the disease,” says Suzanne Dubois, Executive Director of the CCS – Quebec Division. To watch the video:

Short version : http://youtu.be/4xLHU-sr8rE

Long version : http://youtu.be/JN0zWIvW7fA

Since its very first edition in Quebec back in 2001, which helped us collect $45,000, the Relay For Life has raised more than $75M. “Today, it’s the biggest fundraising event in the country,” says Alain Deschamps, Director of Operations at the CCS – Quebec Division. “Its success in Quebec has enabled the CCS to almost double its investments in research, prevention, and support in the last decade to reach more than $21M last year.”

Participants walk and relay around a track for an entire night from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. the next morning to raise money to fight cancer. Each Relay For Life is a celebration of life: tents are pitched and decorated for the occasion; there’s also music, food, activities and entertainment. Teams of 10, each formed by colleagues, parents, and friends, celebrate cancer survivors and remember those who lost their battle and those who are still affected by the disease.

The recrutment of participants and teams for the Relay For Life events that will take place in May and June 2013 as well as the sale of luminaries (at $5 apiece) are underway on facebook.com/sccquebec. You can also join the conversation on Twitter at #WhyIRelay.

“On March 28, 1938, the Canadian Cancer Society was born thanks to the initiative of the Canadian Medical Association and provincial groups. Its original mandate was to create awareness among the population of the early signs of cancer. Since then, the CCS has always had the support of Quebecers and is today the leading charity fighting against cancer,” adds Ms. Dubois. “Although our 75th anniversary is an occasion to celebrate the many victories against cancer, there is still a lot to do.”  

Key figures for the 2013 Relay For Life in Quebec:


  • 50,000 participants will celebrate life!
  • 87 events will take place across Quebec.
  • 230,000 luminaries will be lit up.
  • $13.7 million: the CCS’s target.

A donation to the CCS’ Relay for Life can:


  • Fund innovative research projects that save lives: to date, the CCS has invested more than 1.2 billion in this field.
  • Provide up-to-date and reliable information on cancer — more than one million requests from all over the country have been processed by the Cancer Information Service since its inception — and offer support services to the community.
  • Support people touched by cancer through the comforting services offered by Cancer J’écoute and the Jacques-Cantin Lodge.
  • Create prevention programs such as the Thingamaboob to remind women about the need for regular cancer screening, SMAT (Short Messages Against Tobacco) to help young people quit smoking, the Trottibus Walking School Bus to promote walking among young children, or the Sun Squads, which, last summer, taught 36,000 young Quebecers how to protect themselves from UV rays.
  • Advocate for better laws and public policies from the government to protect Quebecers’ health. Here’s a good example in Quebec: with the support of CCS volunteers, some 60,000 signatures were gathered for a petition which led to the passage of Bill 74 to prevent skin cancer caused by artificial tanning. The Act to prevent skin cancer caused by artificial tanning came into force on February 11, 2013.

For 75 years, the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. All these years, we have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research, and support people touched by the disease. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. To know more about cancer, visit our website at cancer.ca or call our Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

La Société canadienne du cancer a aujourd’hui 75 ans!

28 mars 2013

Montréal -

Pour souligner à la fois le 75e anniversaire de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) et l’édition 2013 du Relais pour la vie, la SCC a réalisé la vidéo-relais Pour moi, la vie, c’est…, composée de plus de 75 témoignages de célébrités québécoises.

Cette vidéo unique a été lancée ce matin en présence de survivants du cancer, de bénévoles, d’employés et de chercheurs subventionnés par la SCC ainsi que de plusieurs personnalités participant à la vidéo. Toutes les 11 minutes, un Québécois se fait dire: « Vous avez le cancer. » En invitant 75 vedettes québécoises à relayer un message sur la vie, la SCC a voulu démontrer à tous ceux qui ont été ou qui sont touchés par le cancer que toute une communauté est derrière eux dans leur combat contre la maladie.

« Visionner la vidéo-relais, la relayer à ses proches et participer à l’un des Relais pour la vie sont des façons concrètes de s’impliquer contre le cancer et d’offrir un soutien à tous ceux et celles qui sont touchés par la maladie », a souligné Suzanne Dubois, directrice générale de la SCC – Division du Québec.

Parmi les 75 personnalités on retrouve Vincent Graton, Mariloup Wolfe, France Beaudouin, Guillaume Lemay-Thivierge, Bernard Fortin, Joannie Rochette, Lise Dion, Natalie Choquette, Fred Pellerin, Dany Turcotte, Louis-Jean Cormier, Bernard Fortin, Jean Lapointe, Dr Michel Tremblay, Dre Christiane Laberge, Sophie Durocher, Nicole Martin et Youppi!

Pour visionner la vidéo :

Version courte : http://youtu.be/4xLHU-sr8rE

Version intégrale : http://youtu.be/JN0zWIvW7fA

Depuis sa toute première édition au Québec, en 2001, qui avait alors permis de recueillir 45 000 $, le Relais pour la vie a amassé plus de 75 M$. « C’est aujourd’hui le plus grand événement de collecte de fonds au pays, a déclaré Alain Deschamps, directeur des Opérations de la SCC – Division du Québec. Son succès au Québec a fait que la SCC a pu, au cours de la dernière décennie, presque doubler ses investissements en recherche, en prévention et en soutien, pour atteindre plus de 21 M$ l’an dernier. »

Pendant toute une nuit, soit de 19 h à 7 h le lendemain, les participants marchent et se relaient autour d'une piste pour amasser des fonds pour lutter contre le cancer. Chaque Relais pour la vie est une célébration de la vie : des tentes sont dressées et décorées pour l’occasion; il y a de la musique, de la nourriture, des activités et de l’animation. Des équipes de 10 personnes, formées de collègues, de parents et d’amis célèbrent alors ceux qui ont survécu au cancer et rendent hommage à ceux qui ont perdu leur combat et à ceux qui, aujourd’hui, vivent avec cette maladie.

Le recrutement des participants et des équipes qui participeront au Relais pour la vie en mai et juin 2013, ainsi que la vente des luminaires (au coût unitaire de 5 $) sont actuellement en cours sur facebook.com/sccquebec. Vous pouvez aussi joindre la conversation sur Twitter à l’aide du mot-clic #VivreLeRelais.


« Le 28 mars 1938, la Société canadienne du cancer a vu le jour officiellement à l'initiative de l'Association médicale canadienne et de groupes provinciaux. Elle avait pour mandat original de sensibiliser le public aux signes précoces du cancer. Depuis, elle n’a cessé d’avoir l’appui des Québécois et est aujourd’hui le chef de file des organismes de bienfaisance de lutte contre le cancer, a ajouté Mme Dubois. Bien que notre 75e anniversaire soit une occasion de célébrer les multiples acquis face au cancer, il reste encore beaucoup à faire. »

Quelques chiffres du Relais pour la vie au Québec en 2013 :

-        50 000 participants célèbreront la vie!

-        87 événements auront lieu partout au Québec

-        230 000 luminaires seront allumés

-        13,7 M$ : objectif visé par la SCC

Un don au Relais pour la vie de la SCC permet :

-       De financer des projets de recherche novateurs qui sauvent des vies : à ce jour, la SCC a investi plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars dans ce domaine.

-       D’offrir de l’information récente et fiable sur le cancer — plus d’un million de demandes provenant de partout au pays ont été traitées par notre Service d’information sur le cancer depuis sa création — et de fournir des services de soutien à la communauté.

-       De soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer, grâce aux services réconfortants offerts par Cancer J’écoute et la Maison Jacques-Cantin.

-       De mettre en place des programmes de prévention comme le Mémo-mamo pour le dépistage du cancer du sein, le SMAT pour aider les jeunes à cesser de fumer, le Trottibus pour promouvoir la marche auprès des enfants, ou les Escouades Ô soleil qui, l’été dernier, ont appris à 36 000 jeunes Québécois à se protéger des rayons UV.

-       De militer activement afin d’obtenir du gouvernement des lois et politiques publiques qui protègent la santé des Québécois. L’an dernier, avec l’appui des bénévoles de la SCC, les quelque 60 000 signatures recueillies ont mené à l’adoption de la Loi visant à prévenir les cancers de la peau causés par le bronzage artificiel, loi qui a été mise en œuvre le 11 février 2013.

Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Toutes ces années, nous avons travaillé sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Forts de cette expérience, nous continuons de lutter avec les Canadiens pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu’ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444