The Canadian Cancer Society says bravo to smokers who are going to sign up for the Quit to Win! Challenge

08 January 2013

Montreal, QC -

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division, a partner of the Quit to Win! Challenge since the beginning, would like to congratulate and encourage all the smokers in Quebec who decide to sign up for the 14th edition.

For the CCS, initiatives such as the Quit to Win! Challenge are important because smoking is an alarming reality despite the progress made in tobacco control over the past few years. Around 1.5 million Quebecers still smoke and nearly a quarter of them are between 15 and 24 years old.

How the CCS collaborates with the Quit to Win! Challenge

The toll-free Ligne j’Arrête smokers helpline, 1866 JARRETE (527-7383), a service managed and housed in CCS offices, has for many years been the reference for information on the Challenge as well as smoking cessation.

In 2013, counsellors on the Ligne j’Arrête smokers’ helpline will once again offer assistance to smokers who sign up for the Challenge. Last year, 1 in every 4 smokers registered for the Challenge made a request for personalized support to help them quit.

Furthermore, the CCS will provide smokers with tools, notably a questionnaire to assess their addiction, to support them in their effort to kick the habit. The questionnaire will be available on the Quit to Win! Challenge website ( to help them prepare to quit. In addition, throughout Quebec in the coming months, CCS employees and volunteers will make use of various opportunities to ask smokers to take action and sign up for the Challenge until March 1st.

Challenge participants will also be able to take advantage of a text-messaging support service available on their cell phones as the CCS’s SMAT (Short Text Messages Against Tobacco) makes a comeback in 2013 on

Smoking in Quebec

  • In spite of all the efforts made for smoking prevention and cessation in the past few years, the smoking rate has stagnated at an average of 20% since 2006. For every smoker who quits or dies, a new smoker gets initiated. This means that tens of thousands of youths will start smoking this year.
  • Smoking is the main cause of cancer and the leading cause of preventable diseases and death: one regular smoker in two will die prematurely from the consequences of smoking, that is, 10,400 people per year.
  • Smoking is responsible for 1 in 3 cancer deaths and 85% of lung cancer cases.
  • Lung cancer is by far the deadliest of cancers. This year, it will kill twice as many women in Quebec as breast cancer and four times as many men as prostate cancer. It also plays a role in the development of 17 other types of cancer.


The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

La Société canadienne du cancer dit bravo à tous les fumeurs qui vont s’inscrire au Défi J’arrête, j’y gagne!

08 janvier 2013

Montréal, QC -

La Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec (SCC), partenaire du Défi J’arrête, j’y gagne! depuis ses débuts, tient à féliciter et encourager tous les fumeurs québécois qui vont faire le choix de s’inscrire au 14e Défi.

Pour la SCC, des initiatives comme celle du Défi J’arrête, j’y gagne! sont importantes, car le tabagisme reste d’une actualité criante malgré les progrès accomplis en contrôle du tabac ces dernières années. Environ 1,5 million de Québécois fument encore, dont près du quart sont âgés de 15 à 24 ans.

Comment la SCC collabore au Défi J’arrête, j’y gagne!

Le numéro sans frais de la ligne j’Arrête, 1866 JARRETE (527-7383), un service gratuit géré et logé à même les locaux de la SCC, est depuis plusieurs années le numéro de référence pour obtenir de l’information sur le Défi et la cessation tabagique.

En 2013, les conseillers de la ligne j’Arrête vont de nouveau offrir des appels de suivi aux fumeurs inscrits au Défi. L’an dernier, 1 fumeur sur 4 inscrit au Défi a fait une demande de soutien personnalisé pour de l’aide à l’arrêt tabagique.

D’autre part, la SCC mettra des outils à la disposition des fumeurs pour les soutenir dans leur démarche de cessation, notamment un questionnaire pour évaluer la dépendance. Ce dernier sera disponible sur le site du Défi J’arrête, j’y gagne! (defitabac.ca) afin de se préparer à l’abandon. De plus, au cours des prochains mois, un peu partout au Québec, les employés et les bénévoles de la SCC vont profiter de diverses occasions pour inviter les fumeurs à passer aux actes et à s’inscrire au Défi d’ici le 1er mars.

Il faut aussi aussi souligner que les participants au Défi pourront profiter d’un service de soutien par messagerie texte via leur téléphone cellulaire puisque que le SMAT (Service de messagerie texte pour arrêter le tabac) de la SCC sera de retour en 2013 sur smat.ca.

Le tabac au Québec

  • Malgré tous les efforts investis en prévention et en cessation tabagique au cours des dernières années, les taux de tabagisme stagnent en moyenne à 20 % depuis 2006. Pour chaque fumeur qui arrête ou décède, une nouvelle personne s’initie au tabac. Résultat : des dizaines de milliers de jeunes vont commencer à fumer cette année.
  • Le tabac demeure la principale cause de cancer et la plus importante cause de maladies et de décès évitables : un fumeur régulier sur deux mourra des suites du tabagisme prématurément : soit 10 400 personnes annuellement.
  • Le tabac est responsable de 1 décès sur 3 par cancer et de 85 % des cancers du poumon.
  • Le cancer du poumon est de loin le plus meurtrier des cancers. Il tuera cette année 2 fois plus de Québécoises que le cancer du sein et 4 fois plus de Québécois que le cancer de la prostate. Il joue aussi un rôle dans l’apparition d’au moins 17 autres types de cancer.

 

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444