The Canadian Cancer Society recognizes company initiatives favouring healthy eating habits among employees

27 November 2013

Montreal -

Eating well at work!

The Canadian Cancer Society recognizes company initiatives favouring healthy eating habits among employees

 

Montreal, November 27, 2013 — We now know that certain foods make us more vulnerable to cancer, while others may protect us: more fruits and vegetables, less animal fat and salt, more whole grains and legumes, less red meat and cold cuts. Naturally, it is all a question of balance.

 

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) strongly believes that more lives can be saved through prevention. One out of every three cancer cases can be prevented by eating healthy foods, staying physically active, and maintaining a healthy weight. So it is very important to raise public awareness of healthy eating as a means of preventing cancer.

 

That is why, in partnership with the DUX program, the SCC is presenting the DUX prize in the COMPANY PROJECTS category for the first time in recognition of initiatives by Quebec companies to enhance their employees’ health.

 

Eating in the workplace

 

Healthy eating is not solely a personal choice, and that is because where you eat can affect how well you eat. Companies – like families – have a role to play in shaping eating habits. “Eating habits in the workplace can be improved if employers facilitate access to healthy food choices,” states Jacinthe Hovington, Director, Prevention and Health Promotion, CCS – Quebec Division. “The CCS believes that employees who adopt healthy eating habits in the workplace will also make healthy food choices at home.”

 

Call for candidacies: deadline December 20

 

  • Are you an employer who has set up an area in the cafeteria offering fresh produce and seasonal products?
  • Do you provide your employees with healthy lunch specials?
  • Do you offer cooking workshops to employees?

 

All initiatives designed to foster healthy eating in the workplace can qualify for the DUX prize in the COMPANY PROJECTS category. This prize, sponsored by the Canadian Cancer Society, and several other prizes will be awarded at the 2nd DUX Gala on January 29, 2014. The event brings together the leading players in Quebec’s agri-food industry. Enter your company today in the projects category and be sure to pass on the news!

 

Agri-food businesses can also take part in the DUX contest by registering their products in the two following categories: PRODUCTS and COMMUNICATIONS.

 

Every day, the Canadian Cancer Society works to save more lives. We have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research, and support people touched by the disease. For 75 years, our goal has remained unchanged: do more so that fewer of us have to face cancer and more survive. Let’s save more lives: visit cancer.ca or call our Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

 

Information:

André Beaulieu, Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division

abeaulieu@quebec.cancer.ca 514 393-3444

 

Jacinthe Carrier, Project manager

Edikom, Dux program

jcarrier@edikom.ca  514 990-6967, ext. 233

A A A

La Société canadienne du cancer reconnaît les initiatives d’entreprises qui favorisent les saines habitudes alimentaires de leurs employés

27 novembre 2013

Montréal -

Bien manger au travail!

La Société canadienne du cancer reconnaît les initiatives d’entreprises qui favorisent les saines habitudes alimentaires de leurs employés

Montréal, le 27 novembre 2013 — On le sait maintenant, certains aliments nous rendent plus vulnérables face au cancer, alors que d’autres ont le potentiel de nous protéger : plus de fruits et de légumes, moins de gras animal et de sel, plus de grains entiers et de légumineuses, moins de viande rouge et de charcuterie. Le tout est évidemment une question d’équilibre.

La Société canadienne du cancer est convaincue qu’on peut sauver plus de vies par la prévention. On pourrait en effet éviter un cancer sur trois en ayant une saine alimentation, en étant actif et en maintenant un poids santé. Sensibiliser la population sur les moyens possibles de prévenir le cancer par de saines habitudes alimentaires s’avère donc essentiel.

C’est pourquoi, en partenariat avec le programme DUX, la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) présente pour la première fois le prix DUX catégorie PROJETS – ENTREPRISE pour reconnaître l’initiative d’entreprises québécoises soucieuses d’améliorer la santé de leurs employés. 

Milieu de travail et alimentation

L’environnement dans lequel les repas sont pris influence les comportements alimentaires, car bien manger n’est pas qu’un choix individuel. Tout comme la famille, les entreprises ont un rôle à jouer en matière d’alimentation. « Améliorer ses habitudes alimentaires au travail est possible surtout si l’employeur facilite l’accès à des choix santé, affirme Jacinthe Hovington, directrice de la prévention et de la promotion de la santé, SCC – Division du Québec. Selon la SCC, un employé qui adopte de saines habitudes alimentaires au travail intégrera ces choix au menu familial. »

Appel de candidatures : date limite, le 20 décembre

  • Vous êtes employeur et avez créé un îlot du marché à la cafétéria offrant des produits frais, selon les arrivages de saison?
  • Vous proposez à vos employés un trio santé à rabais, à l’heure du lunch?
  • Vous leur offrez des ateliers culinaires?

Toute initiative qui contribue à favoriser la saine alimentation en milieu de travail peut se qualifier pour le prix DUX catégorie PROJETS – ENTREPRISE. Ce prix, parrainé par la Société canadienne du cancer, et plusieurs autres seront remis dans le cadre du 2e Gala DUX, le 29 janvier 2014. Ce gala réunit les leaders de l’industrie agroalimentaire du Québec. Inscrivez votre entreprise dès maintenant dans la catégorie PROJETS et passez le mot!

Les entreprises agroalimentaires peuvent également participer à DUX en inscrivant leurs produits dans les deux catégories suivantes : PRODUITS et COMMUNICATIONS.

La Société canadienne du cancer œuvre chaque jour à sauver plus de vies. Elle travaille sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Depuis 75 ans, son but n’a pas changé : en faire plus pour que nous soyons davantage à ne pas avoir à faire face au cancer et plus nombreux à y survivre. Sauvons + de vies : visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.


Renseignements :

André Beaulieu, porte-parole et conseiller principal, Relations publiques
Société canadienne du cancer - Division du Québec
abeaulieu@quebec.cancer.ca 514 393-3444

Jacinthe Carrier, chargée de projets
Edikom – programme DUX
jcarrier@edikom.ca 514 990-6967, poste 233