The Canadian Cancer Society is investing nearly $1 million in Quebec to help adolescents quit smoking

14 November 2012

Montreal, QC -

A team led by Dr Jennifer O’Loughlin, a researcher with the University of Montreal Hospital Research Centre (CRCHUM) will receive $970,000 in funding from the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute for a four-year study focussing on improving smoking cessation interventions aimed at adolescents aged 12 to 17.

Despite the recent drop in tobacco addiction, 45,000 Quebec adolescents in secondary school smoke and every year, more than 30,000 get initiated into smoking. Unfortunately, many will get addicted. By doing so, they increase their risk of developing cancer and cardiovascular diseases: one out of every two regular smokers dies from the consequences of tobacco use.

A smoking cessation program for 12-17-year-olds would enable intervention right from the first few cigarettes before an addiction develops. But existing programs have been designed for adults and do not suit them. Young people are not necessarily sensitive to the same arguments as their parents. “Children don’t smoke like adults,” says Dr O’Loughlin. “They smoke in an irregular way, sometimes only in the evenings, on weekends, or during the school year. For some, it is love at first sight, but for others, the addiction escalates slowly.”

Also, the adolescents would be accompanied for a year by young former smokers aged 21 to 25, in addition to advice from healthcare professionals. They would communicate by e-mail, telephone or text messages. Researchers will also collaborate with the Quebec Division of the Canadian Cancer Society, which manages SMAT (Short Messages Against Tobacco), a text messaging service for young people aged 18 to 24 who want to quit smoking. “We are happy to take part in this project that could ultimately prevent many cancers in Quebec, the province where the lung cancer rates are the highest,” says Jacinthe Hovington, Director, Cancer Prevention and Health Promotion at the CCS, Quebec Division.

Dr Jennifer O’Loughlin is an expert in smoking among adolescents. In the past, she conducted NICO, a vast study funded by the CCS, which followed a cohort of nearly 1,300 youths from grade 7 until they turned 26 years old. NICO enabled the gathering of data on what makes a youth start smoking earlier than another, become addicted, or having trouble quitting. To make it more effective, researchers will build the smoking cessation program from this information. “It’s the project of our dreams that will enable all our previous work to come to fruition,” says Dr O’Loughin.

For this research to have concrete results at the earliest possible, the research team is involving different actors in prevention: researchers, public health practitioners, clinicians and decision-makers. They have established long-term relationships with key organizations in Quebec, including the Quebec Public Health Institute, in which Michèle Tremblay, also principal investigator of the project, works, and the Canadian Cancer Society.


In addition to Dr O’ Loughlin, two other Canadian researchers are receiving the Multisector Team Grants in Prevention Research.

Is work making you sick?

Dr Paul Demers (Director of the Occupational Cancer Research Centre at Cancer Care Ontario) will receive a million dollars over four years to evaluate, for the first time, the exposure of Canadians to 44 confirmed or suspected causes of cancer (chemicals, asbestos, irregular work hours, etc.) at work. His team will measure the consequences by the number of cancers, lives lost, and economic costs for employers and the health care system.

“At the end of this study, explains Paul Demers, we will have solid data which will ultimately help guide industry leaders and policy makers to decide where to change, strengthen or enforce regulations on workplace exposures in order to help prevent workplace-related cancers.”

How to reduce the number of cancer deaths in isolated communities?

Dr Joan Botoroff (UBC, Vancouver) will receive $928,000 over four years to study how health agencies must collaborate to reduce cancer deaths in isolated communities in Northern BC. The smoking, obesity, and cancer mortality rates there are the highest in the province.

Prevention research at the CCS

Since 1947, the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) has supported thousands of researchers in the country by investing more than a billion dollars in cancer research. One of the priority targets of the CCS is to lower the incidence of cancer. Research can help prevent cancer by determining its causes and finding the means to protect ourselves from them. To do this, the CCS offers several grants dedicated to prevention research, like the new Team Grants in Prevention, which can carry up to a million dollars over four years. To learn more about cancer and research on the disease, please visit cancer.ca.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Melody Enguix

Scientific Communication Advisor

Phone: 514 255-2455

La Société canadienne du cancer investit presque 1 M$ au Québec pour aider les adolescents à cesser de fumer

14 novembre 2012

Montréal, QC -

L’équipe de la professeure Jennifer O’Loughlin, chercheuse au Centre de recherche du CHUM (CRCHUM), va recevoir 970 000 $ de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) pour une étude de quatre ans qui permettra de mettre sur pied un programme d’arrêt tabagique spécialement conçu pour les adolescents de 12 à 17 ans.

Malgré la diminution récente du tabagisme, 45 000 adolescents québécois du secondaire fument, et chaque année plus de 30 000 s’initient au tabac. Malheureusement, plusieurs deviendront dépendants. Ils augmentent ainsi leur risque de cancer et de maladies cardiovasculaires : un fumeur régulier sur deux meurt des suites de sa consommation de tabac.

Un programme d’arrêt tabagique pour les 12-17 ans permettrait d’intervenir dès les premières cigarettes, avant que la dépendance ne s’installe. Mais les programmes existants sont conçus pour des adultes et ne leur conviennent pas. Les jeunes ne sont pas forcément sensibles aux mêmes arguments que leurs parents. « Les enfants ne fument pas comme des adultes, ajoute la Dre O’Loughlin. Ils fument de façon irrégulière, parfois seulement en soirée, la fin de semaine ou durant l’année scolaire. Certains ont dès le début un coup de foudre pour la cigarette, mais pour d’autres la dépendance s’installe lentement. »

Aussi, l’équipe prévoit que les adolescents seront accompagnés pendant un an par des jeunes de 21 à 25 ans, anciens fumeurs, en complément des conseils reçus de professionnels de la santé. Ils échangeraient par courriels, téléphone ou messages textes. Les chercheurs collaboreront d’ailleurs avec la Division du Québec de la Société canadienne du cancer, qui gère le SMAT (Service de messagerie texte pour arrêter le tabac), une aide par messages textes pour les jeunes de 18 à 24 ans qui veulent arrêter de fumer. « Nous sommes heureux de prendre part à ce projet qui pourrait à terme prévenir de nombreux cancers au Québec, la province où les taux de cancer du poumon sont les plus élevés », souligne Jacinthe Hovington, directrice, Prévention du cancer et promotion de la santé à la SCC, Division du Québec.

La Dre Jennifer O’Loughlin est une experte du tabagisme chez les adolescents. Par le passé, elle a mené NICO, une vaste étude subventionnée par la SCC, qui a permis de suivre une cohorte de près de 1300 jeunes de leur 1re secondaire à leurs 26 ans. NICO a permis de rassembler des données sur ce qui fait qu’un jeune est plus prompt qu’un autre à fumer, à devenir dépendant ou à avoir des difficultés à arrêter. Pour qu’il soit plus efficace, les chercheurs construiront le programme d’arrêt tabagique à partir de ces informations. « C’est le projet de nos rêves, celui qui va permettre de faire aboutir nos recherches passées », se réjouit la Dre O’Loughlin.

Pour que cette recherche ait des retombées concrètes le plus tôt possible, l’équipe de recherche implique différents acteurs de la prévention : des chercheurs, des professionnels de la santé publique, des cliniciens et des décideurs. Elle a établi des relations de longue durée avec des organismes clés au Québec, comme l’Institut de santé publique du Québec (INSPQ) pour qui Michèle Tremblay, co-directrice du projet, travaille et la Société canadienne du cancer.

En plus de la Dre O’Loughlin, deux autres chercheurs canadiens reçoivent des Subventions d'équipes multi-secteurs pour la recherche sur la prévention.

Le travail rend-il malade?

Le Dr Paul Demers (Directeur de l’Occupational Cancer Research Centre, d’Action Cancer Ontario) recevra un million de dollars sur quatre ans pour évaluer pour la première fois l’exposition des Canadiens, au travail, à 44 causes certaines ou présumées du cancer (produits chimiques, amiante, travail à horaires irréguliers, etc.). Son équipe mesurera les conséquences, en nombre de cancers, en vies perdues et en pertes économiques pour les employeurs et le système de santé.

« À la fin de cette étude, explique Paul Demers, nous aurons des données fiables qui permettront ensuite aux dirigeants d’entreprises et aux décideurs politiques de déterminer ce qui doit être modifié, mis en application ou renforcé dans les règlements sur l’exposition professionnelle pour prévenir les cancers liés au milieu de travail. »

Comment réduire les nombreux décès par cancer dans les communautés éloignées?

La Dre Joan Botoroff (UBC, Vancouver) recevra 928 000$ sur quatre ans pour trouver comment les agences de santé doivent collaborer pour réduire les décès par cancer dans les communautés éloignées, au Nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Les taux de tabagisme, d’obésité et de mortalité par cancer y sont les plus élevés de la province.

La recherche en prévention à la SCC

Depuis 1947, la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) a soutenu des milliers de chercheurs du pays en investissant plus d’un milliard de dollars dans la recherche sur le cancer. Une des cibles prioritaires de la SCC est de diminuer l’incidence du cancer. La recherche peut contribuer à prévenir le cancer, en déterminant ses causes et en trouvant des moyens d’agir pour nous en protéger. Pour ce faire, la SCC offre plusieurs bourses dédiées à la recherche en prévention, comme ces nouvelles Subventions d’équipe en prévention, qui peuvent s’élever à un million de dollars sur quatre ans. Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer et la recherche sur la maladie, veuillez consulter notre site Web à l'adresse cancer.ca.

Renseignements :

Melody Enguix

conseillère en communication scientifique

Téléphone : 514 255-2455