Finally, legislation that protects minors from artificial tanning - The Canadian Cancer Society salutes Minister Bolduc for his leadership

15 May 2012

Montreal, QC -

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division would like to congratulate Quebec’s Health Minister, Dr. Yves Bolduc, for his leadership and the Quebec government for its decision to ban the sale of tanning services to youths aged under 18 years. Following Nova Scotia and British Columbia, Quebec is the third province to introduce this type of legislation.

“There is no doubt that artificial tanning is a health hazard at any age, but it is especially important to protect young people from a potential deadly disease. The measures announced this morning will contribute to reducing the increasing number of skin cancer cases,” states Suzanne Dubois, Executive Director of the Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division. Skin cancer is the most common cancer in Quebec (ranging from 22,000 to 35,000 cases per year according to sources).

In February, the CCS and its partners, dermatologists and the Institut national de santé publique (INSPQ), testified before the Committee on Health and Social Services (CSSS). On that occasion, the CCS submitted signatures from 60,000 people in Quebec collected in 2011 and letters of support from 65 groups representing more than 600 organizations. The CSSS has since recognized the need for a legislation to ban the sale of tanning services to youths and underscored the lack of regulatory requirements in the industry.

The CCS is also pleased that the bill calls for the obligation to declare any sale of tannings services to the enterprise registrar, the hiring of dedicated inspectors and the general ban of all kinds of direct advertising or not dedicated to minors. There are over 1,000 active tanning salons in Quebec, and many are found in unusual places: travel agencies, video clubs, convenience stores, and laundromats. “Not to legislate was not a viable option any more and was becoming increasingly harmful for public health. We now ask that the law be quickly adopted before the summer recess,” adds Ms Dubois.

Spring marks the return in force of misleading advertising and promotional campaigns for artificial tanning salons in Publisac distribution bags, high-school newspapers, and graduation albums. Discount coupons and low-price tanning specials are also traditional spring offers. Consequently, the CCS believes that the timing of the bill on artificial tanning is perfect.

However, the CCS would have liked the bill to require tanning salons to obtain a paid permit: “Some services naturally require permits. Just think of the permit needed to sell alcohol here or the permit needed to sell tobacco in other provinces,” states Mélanie Champagne, Coordinator, Public Issues, CCS – Quebec Division. As a follow-up measure, the CCS also recommends a 10% on the purchase of tanning sessions, as in the United States. Not only would such a tax fund prevention campaigns and research on skin cancer, but it would also eliminate the practice of offering artificial tanning sessions for free.”


 

Facts on artificial tanning

  • Three quarters of melanoma cases among artificial tanning fans aged 18 to 29 can be attributed to the use of tanning beds; exposure to artificial tanning before the age of 35 years increases the risk of developing a melanoma by 75%.
  • Tanning-bed rays are 5 to 15 times stronger than the midday sun.
  • Nearly 250,000 youths (16%) in Quebec population aged 15 to 29 use artificial tanning services 11 times a year, on average, including 160,000 females (22%) and 90,000 males (11.5%).
  • The use of tanning beds by young girls increases with age, more than doubling from age 14 to 15 (rising from 7% to 15%) and more doubling again at age 17 (to 35%).
  • Over a quarter of artificial tanning fans develop tanorexia (tanning addiction) as they become obsessed with tanning.
  • Skin-cancer treatment is not simple and benign: it involves scarring surgery, various treatments, pain, convalescence, and major changes in sun-exposure habits (FPS 60 daily required protection, year-round).

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

Enfin une loi qui protège les mineurs du bronzage artificiel - La Société canadienne du cancer salue le leadership du ministre Bolduc

15 mai 2012

Montréal, QC -

Image needs to be migrated

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec félicite le ministre de la Santé, Dr Yves Bolduc, pour son leadership ainsi que le gouvernement québécois pour sa volonté d’interdire la vente de services de bronzage aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans. Après la Nouvelle-Écosse et la Colombie-Britannique, le Québec est la 3e province à légiférer en ce sens.

« Il ne fait pas de doute que le bronzage artificiel est dangereux pour la santé, et ce, à tout âge, mais il était surtout important pour nous de protéger nos jeunes d’une maladie potentiellement mortelle. Les mesures annoncées ce matin contribueront à diminuer le nombre croissant de cancers de la peau », déclare Suzanne Dubois, directrice générale de la Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec. Le cancer de la peau est le cancer le plus fréquent au Québec (de 22 000 à 35 000 cas par année selon les sources).

En février dernier, la SCC et ses partenaires, les dermatologues et l’Institut national de santé publique (INSPQ) avaient témoigné devant la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux (CSSS). La SCC avait alors présenté les signatures de 60 000 Québécois recueillies en 2011 et les lettres d’appui de 65 groupes représentant plus de 600 organismes. La CSSS a reconnu depuis la nécessité de légiférer en faveur d’une interdiction de la vente de services de bronzage aux jeunes et a souligné les nombreuses lacunes en termes d’encadrement de cette industrie.

La SCC est également satisfaite que le projet de loi inclue l’obligation d’inscrire la vente de services de bronzages artificiels au registraire des entreprises, l’embauche d’inspecteurs dédiés au projet, ainsi que l’interdiction de toute publicité directe ou indirecte destinée aux mineurs. Plus de 1000 salons de bronzage sont actifs au Québec, et plusieurs se retrouvent dans des endroits insolites : agences de voyage, clubs vidéo, dépanneurs ou buanderies. « Ne pas légiférer n’était plus envisageable et devenait de plus en plus catastrophique pour la santé publique. Nous demandons maintenant que la loi soit adoptée rapidement, et ce, avant le congé estival », ajoute Mme Dubois.

Le printemps marque le retour en force des publicités et des promotions trompeuses des salons de bronzage artificiel dans les publisacs, les journaux des écoles secondaires et les albums de finissants, de même que la distribution de coupons-rabais et l’offre de forfaits de bronzage illimité à bas prix. La SCC estime donc que le dépôt de la Loi sur le bronzage artificiel arrive à un très bon moment.

Cependant, la SCC aurait souhaité que le projet de loi impose un permis payant aux commerçants qui offrent des services de bronzage : « Il est normal que certains services à encadrer doivent se munir de permis. Pensons au permis de vente d’alcool chez nous, ou encore au permis de vente de tabac dans d’autres provinces, précise Mélanie Champagne, coordonnatrice, Questions d’intérêt public, SCC – Division du Québec. La SCC recommande aussi, dans une prochaine étape, d’imposer une taxe de 10 % à l’achat de toute séance de bronzage, comme cela se fait aux États-Unis. Non seulement une telle taxe permettra de financer des campagnes de prévention et la recherche sur le cancer de la peau, mais elle éliminera également toute idée de gratuité d’une séance de bronzage artificiel. »


Faits sur le bronzage artificiel

  • Les trois quarts des cas de mélanome chez les 18-29 ans adeptes du bronzage artificiel sont attribuables à l’usage des lits de bronzage, et l’exposition au bronzage artificiel, avant l’âge de 35 ans, augmente de 75 % le risque de développer un mélanome.
  • Les rayons des lits de bronzage sont de 5 à 15 fois plus forts que le soleil de midi.
  • Près de 250 000 jeunes Québécois de 15 à 29 ans, soit 16 %, utilisent le bronzage artificiel 11 fois l’an en moyenne — 160 000 femmes (22 %) contre 90 000 hommes (11,5 %).
  • L’utilisation des lits de bronzage chez les jeunes filles semble évoluer en fonction de l’âge, car elle fait plus que doubler entre 14 et 15 ans (passant de 7 % à 15 %) et double de nouveau à 17 ans (passant à 35 %).
  • Plus du quart des amateurs de bronzage artificiel sont atteints de tanorexie et deviennent obsédés par le bronzage.
  • Le traitement des cancers de la peau n’est pas « bénin » et simple : chirurgies mutilantes, traitements, douleur, convalescence et changement important des habitudes face au soleil (FPS 60 requis tous les jours, 12 mois par année).

Le gouvernement du Québec interdit la vente de services de bronzage aux mineurs. De 15 à 21 ans, Geneviève a fréquenté les salons de bronzage de trois à quatre fois par semaine. À 24 ans, on lui diagnostique un premier mélanome, puis un second un peu plus tard.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444