LCBO raises funds for the Canadian Cancer Society

04 April 2016

Toronto -

Ontarians can help support the Canadian Cancer Society by making a donation to buy a daffodil pin at any of the more than 650 LCBO stores throughout the province. Donation boxes for the Society’s annual Daffodil Month fundraising campaign will be displayed at LCBO checkout counters until April 23.

When loved ones are diagnosed with, or pass away from cancer, we often want to do something to help or honour them. The Canadian Cancer Society wants people to know that there is something they can do.

April is Daffodil Month. When people buy a daffodil pin at LCBO stores they are saving lives and helping people who are living with cancer now and in the future. Funds raised during Daffodil Month help patients and their families in communities across Ontario. Daffodil pin sales help to fund life-saving research, support services and other important work that means fewer people will be touched by the disease.

“We are very thankful for the support of LCBO customers and staff during Daffodil Month,” says Susan Drodge, Director of Corporate and Community Partnerships for the Canadian Cancer Society in Ontario. “Through this partnership, we are able to raise significant funds for research and community-based support programs, including providing patients with rides to their treatments.”

Last year, the charity helped almost 47,000 Ontarians through its support programs. Supporting the Canadian Cancer Society has never been more important. More people will be looking to the organization for help as the number of cancer cases is expected to increase by 40 per cent by 2030 because of Canada’s aging and growing population.

“As a socially responsible community-minded retailer, LCBO is pleased to partner with the Canadian Cancer Society and support a variety of worthy causes through the Giving Back In Our Community fundraising program,” says LCBO Acting President & CEO George Soleas. “Through the generosity of LCBO customers and the support of our staff, we help improve the lives of countless Ontarians and make a difference in communities across Ontario.”

The Canadian Cancer Society is one of 28 provincial and numerous local charities that will benefit from LCBO’s province-wide donation box program in 2016. In 2014, LCBO raised a total of more than $9.5 million for charities through special programs and initiatives, of which $8.8 million was raised through in-store fundraising. In addition, LCBO’s annual dividend transfer to the Ontario government, which totaled $1.805 billion in fiscal year 2014-15 ending March 31, 2015, excluding taxes, supports a wide range of important government programs, services and priorities, including health care and education.

The Canadian Cancer Society thanks the public for its support when purchasing daffodil pins at their local LCBO store from April 1 - 23, 2016.

 

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

For more information, please contact:

Camille Beaubien

Senior Manager, Communications

Phone: 416-323-7181

La LCBO recueille des fonds pour la Société canadienne du cancer

04 avril 2016

Toronto -

Les Ontariens peuvent appuyer la Société canadienne du cancer en faisant un don pour acheter une épinglette jonquille dans une des quelque 650 succursales de la LCBO dans la province. Les dons seront recueillis dans des boîtes placées à cet effet près des caisses, et ce, jusqu’au 23 avril.

Lorsque nos êtres chers reçoivent un diagnostic de cancer ou décèdent d'un cancer, nous voulons souvent faire quelque chose pour aider ou leur rendre hommage. La Société canadienne du cancer veut que les gens sachent qu’ils peuvent faire quelque chose.

Avril est le Mois de la jonquille. Lorsque les gens achètent une épinglette jonquille dans les succursales de la LCBO, ils sauvent des vies et aident les personnes vivant avec le cancer maintenant et à l’avenir. L’argent recueilli pendant le Mois de la jonquille aide les patients et leur famille dans les communautés de l’Ontario. La vente d’épinglettes jonquilles aide à financer la recherche qui sauve des vies, les services de soutien et autre travail important qui signifie que moins de Canadiens seront touchés par la maladie.

« Nous sommes très reconnaissants du soutien que nous recevons de la LCBO, de ses clients et de son personnel pendant le Mois de la jonquille », dit Susan Drodge, directrice, partenariats avec les entreprises et communautaires, Société canadienne du cancer, Ontario. « Grâce à ce partenariat, nous pouvons recueillir les fonds importants pour la recherche et les programmes de soutien communautaires, y compris offrir aux patients un transport vers leurs traitements. »

L’an dernier, l’organisme de bienfaisance a aidé presque 47 000 Ontariens grâce à ses programmes de soutien. Appuyer la Société canadienne du cancer n’a jamais été aussi important. Plus de gens se tourneront vers l’organisme pour obtenir de l’aide car on prévoit que le nombre de cas de cancer augmentera de 40 % d’ici 2030 en raison de la population vieillissante et croissante.

« En sa qualité de détaillant socialement responsable et soucieux de la collectivité, la LCBO est heureuse de s'associer à la Société canadienne du cancer et d’appuyer différentes bonnes causes dans le cadre de son programme Ayons du cœur pour notre collectivité », dit George Soleas, président-directeur général par intérim de la LCBO. « La générosité des clients et le soutien du personnel de la LCBO contribuent à améliorer les conditions de vie d’un grand nombre d’Ontariens et d’Ontariennes et à soutenir les collectivités à l’échelle de la province. »

La Société canadienne du cancer compte parmi les 28 œuvres de bienfaisance provinciales et les nombreux organismes caritatifs locaux qui bénéficieront en 2016 du programme des boîtes de collecte de dons de la LCBO. La LCBO a recueilli plus de 9,5 millions de dollars en 2014 grâce à différentes initiatives et programmes spéciaux, dont 8,8 millions de dollars ont été recueillis dans les succursales de la LCBO. Notons aussi que le dividende que la LCBO remet annuellement au gouvernement de l’Ontario soutient un large éventail de programmes, de priorités et de services importants, notamment dans les domaines de la santé et de l’éducation. Ce dividende s’est chiffré à 1,805 milliards de dollars pour l’exercice financier 2014-2015 qui a pris fin le 31 mars 2015.

La Société canadienne du cancer remercie les clients de la LCBO qui achèteront des épinglettes jonquilles dans une succursale entre le 1er et le 23 avril 2016.

 

Renseignements :

Camille Beaubien

Coordonnatrice principale, Relations publiques

Téléphone : (416) 323-7181