A A A

Including boys in Ontario’s HPV vaccination program a big win for cancer prevention

21 April 2016

Toronto -

Parents can celebrate that both their sons and daughters can now receive the HPV vaccine as part of Ontario’s school-based HPV immunization program. The government’s decision to expand the program to include boys makes Ontario the sixth province in Canada to provide equal access to a vaccine that can prevent cancer.

The Human papillomavirus (HPV) can cause cancer in men and women and will infect 3 in 4 Canadians during their lifetime. Canadian Cancer Society staff and volunteers have been working closely with other stakeholders, Members of Provincial Parliament at Queen’s Park and across Ontario to expand the immunization program to include boys.

“The time between initial HPV infection and development of cancer is about 20 years,” explains Rowena Pinto, Vice President, Public Affairs & Strategic Initiatives, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “We urge parents to get their sons and daughters vaccinated against HPV. It will help prevent them from getting cancer.”

HPV infection is associated with almost all cases of cervical cancer but the lesser known HPV-related cancers include anal, penile, vaginal and oral and oropharyngeal (head and neck) cancers. About one-third of oral and oropharyngeal cancers are caused by HPV and 89% of these are attributable to HPV types 16 & 18.

Canadian forecasts are not yet available, but the number of HPV-related head and neck cancer cases in the United States is expected to surpass cervical cancer within 4 years, underscoring the importance of including boys in school-based vaccination programs.

As part of the Society’s efforts to advocate for the inclusion of boys in the immunization program, a video featuring the story of Tiffany Bond, a cancer survivor whose type of throat cancer was caused by HPV, was released.

“When I was first diagnosed with oropharynx (throat) cancer it was a big shock. I had no idea it could be caused by the HPV virus,” says Bond, a Society volunteer. “After my near-death experience with the disease, I am thrilled that the government has taken this initiative. I just wish the vaccine was available to my son when he was younger. I would have had him vaccinated right away.”

Because of the long lead time, it may take several years before the full impact of HPV vaccination on the incidence and death rates of HPV-related cancers is established. Australia was one of the first countries to introduce a national HPV vaccination program for women 12 to 26. Three years later, the country is  already seeing a decrease in signs of early cervical cancer.

To learn more about cancer, HPV and the HPV vaccine, speak to one of cancer information specialists at 1 888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca/HPVvaccine

About the Canadian Cancer Society
The Canadian Cancer Society is a national, community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is to eradicate cancer and enhance the quality of life of people living with cancer. Thanks to our donors and volunteers, the Society has the most impact, against the most cancers, in the most communities in Canada. For more information, visit cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333 (TTY 1-866-786-3934).

For more information, please contact:

Susan Fekete

Communications Manager

Canadian Cancer Society

Phone: 613-565-2522 ext 4985

L’inclusion des garçons au programme de vaccination anti-VPH de l’Ontario est une grande victoire pour la prévention du cancer

21 avril 2016

Toronto -

Les parents peuvent célébrer le fait que leurs fils et leurs filles peuvent maintenant recevoir le vaccin anti-VPH dans le cadre du programme d’immunisation anti-VPH en milieu scolaire. La décision du gouvernement d’élargir le programme pour inclure les garçons fait de l’Ontario la sixième province au Canada à offrir l’égalité d’accès à un vaccin qui peut prévenir le cancer.

Le virus du papillome humain (VPH) peut causer le cancer chez les hommes et les femmes et infectera 3 Canadiens sur 4 au cours de leur vie. Le personnel et les bénévoles de la Société canadienne du cancer ont travaillé de près avec les autres intervenants, les députés provinciaux à Queen’s Park et partout en Ontario pour demander l’élargissement du programme pour inclure les garçons.

« La période entre l’infection au VPH et le développement du cancer est d’environ 20 ans », explique Rowena Pinto, vice-présidente, affaires publiques & initiatives stratégiques, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Nous encourageons les parents à faire vacciner leurs fils et leurs filles contre le VPH. Cela aidera à prévenir qu’ils aient un cancer. »

L’infection au VPH est associée à presque tous les cas de cancer du col de l’utérus mais les cancers moins connus liés au VPH comprennent les cancers de l’anus, du pénis, du vagin et de la cavité buccale et de l’oropharynx (tête et cou). Environ le tiers des cancers de la cavité buccale et de l’oropharynx sont causés par le VPH et 89 % de ceux-ci sont attribuables aux types de VPH 16 et 18.

Les prévisions canadiennes ne sont pas encore disponibles mais on prévoit que le nombre de cas de cancer de la tête et du cou lié au VPH aux États-Unis surpassera le nombre de cas de cancer du col de l’utérus dans les 4 ans, soulignant l’importance d’inclure les garçons dans les programmes de vaccination en milieu scolaire.

Dans le cadre des efforts de défense de l’intérêt public de la Société pour inclure les garçons dans le programme de vaccination en milieu scolaire, une vidéo a été créée et diffusée mettant en vedette Tiffany Bond, une survivante d’un cancer de la gorge causé par le VPH.

« Mon diagnostic de cancer de l’oropharynx (gorge) a été un grand choc. Je n’avais aucune idée qu’il pouvait  être causé par le VPH », dit Mme Bond, qui est bénévole de la Société. « Après avoir frôlé la mort en raison de cette maladie, je suis heureuse que le gouvernement ait pris cette initiative. Je regrette seulement que le vaccin n’était pas disponible quand mon fils était plus jeune. Il aurait été vacciné tout de suite. »

En raison de ce long délai d’apparition, de nombreuses années seront nécessaires avant de connaître tout l’impact de la vaccination contre le VPH sur l’incidence et la mortalité dues aux cancers liés au VPH. L’Australie a été un des premiers pays à lancer un programme national de vaccination anti-VPH pour les femmes de 12-26 ans et, trois ans plus tard, on observe déjà une réduction des précurseurs du cancer du col de l’utérus.

Pour en apprendre plus sur le cancer, le VPH et le vaccin anti-VPH, parlez à un de nos spécialistes en information sur le cancer au 1-888-939-3333 ou visitez cancer.ca/HPVvaccine.

 

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer
La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l’éradication du cancer et l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Grâce à nos donateurs et à nos bénévoles, la Société a le plus d'impact, contre le plus de cancers, dans le plus de collectivités au Canada. Pour plus d’information, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez sans frais notre Service bilingue d’information sur le cancer au 1-888-939-3333 (ATS 1-866-786-3934).

Renseignements :

Susan Fekete

Gestionnaire, Communications

Société canadienne du cancer

Téléphone : 613 565-2522 poste : 4985