Ontario Budget: Canadian Cancer Society applauds Ontario government’s proposed contraband tobacco measures

24 April 2015

Toronto -

The Canadian Cancer Society continues to be very concerned about the serious public health threat posed by tobacco and welcomes the proposed contraband measures announced in the 2015 Ontario Budget.

Contraband tobacco products are becoming increasingly available at schools and making their way into our neighbourhoods in unbranded, clear plastic bags. The public, especially youth, are often unaware that these products are illegal.

“We support action to tackle contraband tobacco and would like to see a province-wide education campaign to educate youth and their parents about contraband tobacco products,” says Kelly Gorman, Senior Manager, Public Issues. “Low priced tobacco products leads to higher rates of consumption, which is especially true among youth.”

The Society applauds the government’s continued commitment to a Smoke-Free Ontario. Reducing youth smoking rates is key to achieving Ontario’s goal of having the lowest smoking rates in Canada. The proposed legislation that is currently under consideration to ban flavoured tobacco, including menthol, will be a big step forward towards achieving this goal.

The Society encourages the swift passage of this legislation. Tell your MPP you support a ban on flavoured tobacco at takeaction.cancer.ca.

About the Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization dedicated to preventing cancer, saving lives and supporting people living with cancer through research funding, services and advocacy. We are Canada’s largest charity fighting all types of cancer and leading authority on cancer statistics and information. To learn more, call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca.

 

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Budget de l'Ontario : La Société canadienne du cancer applaudit les mesures proposées par le gouvernement ontarien contre le tabacco de contrebande

24 avril 2015

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer continue à se préoccuper du grave problème de santé public que pose le tabac et accueille favorablement les mesures proposées contre la contrebance annoncées dans le budget de l'Ontario 2015.

Les produits de tabac de contrebande deviennent de plus en plus disponibles dans les écoles et se répandent dans nos voisinages dans des sacs de plastique clair et sans marque. Le public, surtout les jeunes, ignorent souvent que ces produits sont illégaux.

« Nous appuyons l'action pour s'attaquer au tabac de contrebande et nous aimerions voir une campagne d'éducation provinciale pour éduquer les jeunes et leurs parents sur les produits de tabac de contrebande », dit Kelly gorman, gestionnaire principale, questions d'intérêt public. « Les produits du tabac à bas prix mènent à des taux de consommation plus élevés, ce qui est particulièrement le cas chez les jeunes. »

La Société applaudit l'engagement continu du gouvernement envers un Ontario sans fumée. La réduction du taux de tabagisme chez les jeunes est essentielle pour atteindre l'objectif de l'Ontario d'avoir les taux de tabagisme les plus bas au Canada.  La loi proposée actuellement à l'étude pour interdire le tabac aromatisé, y compris le menthol,  sera un grand pas en avant vers l'atteinte de cet objectif.

La Société encourage l'adoption rapide de cette loi. Dites à votre député provincial que vous appuyez une interdiction de tabac aromatisé à takeaction.cancer.ca.


À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l'Ontario

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, voué à prévenir le cancer, à sauver des vies et à appuyer les personnes vivant avec le cancer par le biais du financement de la recherche, des services et de la défense de l'intérêt public. Nous sommes le plus important organisme de bienfaisance au Canada luttant contre tous les types de cancer et chef de file en matière de statistiques et d'information sur le cancer. Pour plus d'information, composez le 1-888-939-3333 ou visitez cancer.ca.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026