Canadian Cancer Society launches Fearless Challenge at Halloween Haunt

23 September 2014

TORONTO -

The Canadian Cancer Society and Canada’s Wonderland have teamed up for an event that challenges you to face your fears. During the first weekend of Halloween Haunt, October 3-4, those who dare can take on the Fearless Challenge, an online fundraiser launched by the Canadian Cancer Society, at Canada’s Wonderland.

The Fearless Challenge invites people to be fearless in confronting their fears to help those living with cancer do the same. Halloween Haunt, a playground for all types of fears, has the perfect backdrop for those wanting to conquer their fear of heights, clowns, witches, darkness and more.

“The Canadian Cancer Society is committed to creating a world where no Canadian fears cancer, but we are not there yet,” says Susan Drodge, Director of Corporate and Community Partnerships for the Canadian Cancer Society in Ontario. “Canada’s Wonderland during Halloween Haunt is all about facing your darkest fears. This perfect partnership provides our participants with a great venue to take on their Fearless Challenges.”

Participating in the Fearless Challenge is easy. All it takes is three simple steps:

  1. Register at FearlessChallenge.com stating what fear you’ll face at Halloween Haunt and how much it will take to face it,
  2. Ask your friends and family for donations and,
  3. Participants who raise $250 or more will receive free admission to Halloween Haunt and the opportunity to film your video proving that you’ve faced your fear. Plus, you’ll receive a $10 off admission coupon for Halloween Haunt so that four family members or friends can be on-hand to cheer you on!

The Fearless Challenge is open to people age 13 years and older. Visit FearlessChallenge.com today to register a fear and get your fundraising done before October 3. Halloween Haunt is not recommended for children under the age of 13 years old. For more information visit https://www.canadaswonderland.com/things-to-do/halloween-haunt

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

For more information, please contact:

Camille Beaubien

Senior Manager, Communications

Phone: 416-323-7181

La Société canadienne du cancer lance le Défi de la bravoure à « Halloween Haunt »

23 septembre 2014

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer et Canada's Wonderland ont uni leurs efforts pour présenter un événement qui vous défie d'affronter vos peurs. Pendant la première fin de semaine d'Halloween Haunt, les 3 et 4 octobre, ceux qui oseront pourront relever le Défi de la bravoure, collecte de fonds en ligne lancée par la Société canadienne du cancer à Canada's Wonderland.

Le Défi de la bravoure invite les gens à être braves en affrontant leur peur pour aider les personnes vivant avec le cancer à faire de même. Halloween Haunt, un terrain de jeu pour tous les types de peurs, offre un arrière-plan idéal pour les personnes qui désirent conquérir leur peur des hauteurs, des clowns, des sorcières, de la noirceur et plus encore.

« La Société canadienne du cancer s'est engagée à créer un monde où aucun Canadien, aucune Canadienne n'aura à craindre le cancer, mais il reste beaucoup à faire », dit Susan Drodge, directrice, partenariats d'entreprises et communautaires, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l'Ontario. « Canada's Wonderland pendant Halloween Haunt, c'est  l'occasion d'affronter vos plus grosses peurs. Ce partenariat parfait fournit à nos participants un endroit fantastique où relever leur Défi de la bravoure. »

La participation au Défi de la bravoure est facile. Il ne suffit que de trois étapes simples :

  1. Inscrivez-vous à www.fearlesschallenge.com et indiquez quelle peur vous affronterez à Halloween Haunt et combien d'argent il faudra recueillir pour l'affronter.
  2. Demandez à vos amis et à votre famille de faire des dons.
  3. Les participants qui recueillent 250 $ ou plus recevront une entrée gratuite à Halloween Haunt et l'occasion de faire leur vidéo pour prouver qu'ils ont affronté leur peur. De  plus, vous recevrez un coupon de 10 $ de rabais pour Halloween Haunt afin que quatre membres de votre famille ou amis puissent être présents pour vous encourager!

Le Défi de la bravoure est ouvert aux personnes de 13 ans et plus. Visitez FearlessChallenge.com aujourd'hui pour inscrire une peur et recueillir des fonds avant le 3 octobre. Halloween Haunt n'est pas recommandé pour les enfants de moins de 13 ans. Pour plus d'information, visitez https://www.canadaswonderland.com/things-to-do/halloween-haunt


À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

Par notre misison, la Société canadienne du cancer lutte contre plus de 200 types différents de cancer sur plusieurs fronts. Des activités de prévention du cancer aux efforts de défense de l'intérêt public sur d'importantes questions, nous donnons une voix aux patients et à leur famille. Nous finançons aussi les meilleurs projets de recherche et offrons de l'information et des services de soutien dont il a été prouvé qu'ils réduisent le stress et l'anxiété des patients et des aidants. L'œuvre de la Société canadienne du cancer est appuyée par nos bénévoles et le soutien généreux du Défi de la bravoure et d'autres campagnes de collecte de fonds comme le Mois de la jonquille et le Relais pour la vie. Pour plus d'information, composez le 1-888-939-3333 ou visitez cancer.ca.

Renseignements :

Camille Beaubien

Coordonnatrice principale, Relations publiques

Téléphone : (416) 323-7181