A A A

Canadian Cancer Statistics 2012

09 May 2012

New Brunswick -

Lower smoking rates, better screening and treatment have contributed to a decline in cancer mortality rates in New Brunswick.

According to the Canadian Cancer Statistics 2012, released today by the Canadian Cancer Society in collaboration with the Public Health Agency of Canada and Statistics Canada, declines in death rates in New Brunswick were seen in all four major cancers – lung, colorectal, breast and prostate, with the exception of lung cancer death rates in women, which are trending upward.

In men, the decline in smoking rates is a significant reason for the drop in death rates. Among Canadian males aged 15 and up, smoking has declined from a high of 61% in 1965 to 20% in 2010. The lung cancer death rate for men dropped 30% between 1988 and 2007. Among women, however, the lung cancer death rate has not yet dropped. This is because smoking among women peaked later than among men and saw substantial declines beginning only in the 1980s. In 1965, 38% of Canadian women smoked, compared to 14% of Canadian women who smoked in 2010.

New Brunswick rates are similar to the national trends. Smoking rates have declined, as have lung cancer death rates for men.

“Tobacco use accounts for more than one-quarter of all cancer deaths,” said Anne McTiernan-Gamble, CEO of the Canadian Cancer Society New Brunswick. “More New Brunswickers die of lung cancer every year than the combined deaths from breast, colorectal and prostate cancer.”

New Brunswick continues to have higher-than-average smoking rates (19% in 2010, compared to the national average of 17%). “Even though tobacco use is decreasing, one-fifth of our population in New Brunswick still smokes, highlighting the need for stronger tobacco control efforts,” Ms. McTiernan-Gamble said.

The Canadian Cancer Society New Brunswick is a leader advocating for tobacco control. The Society continues to push for government action to expand tobacco-free environments. This includes a ban on smoking in outdoor public places such as sports fields, parks, playgrounds and entrances and exits to public buildings. The Society is also advocating for subsidized pharmacological support for smokers who wish to quit, and a ban on flavoured tobacco products.

Death rates for prostate, colorectal and breast cancer in New Brunswick are also continuing on a downward trend, which could be attributed to improved cancer screening practices and treatments.

“We are seeing decreasing breast cancer mortality partially due to our organized screening program,” Ms. McTiernan-Gamble said. “There is potential for further improvements in death rates in New Brunswick as organized screening programs for cervical and colorectal cancers are fully implemented.”

Canadian Cancer Statistics 2012 general highlights for New Brunswick

  • An estimated 4,900 new cases of cancer and 1,910 deaths from cancer are expected to occur in New Brunswick in 2012.
  • An estimated 410 men will be diagnosed with lung cancer in 2012, and an estimated 330 will die from the disease. An estimated 370 women will be diagnosed, and approximately 280 will die.
  • More men than women are diagnosed with cancer (2,700 and 2,200 new cases respectively).
  • More than one-quarter of all cancer deaths (27%) are due to lung cancer.
  • The five-year relative survival rate for all cancers combined is 62%.

Canadian Cancer Statistics 2012 was prepared and distributed through a collaboration of the Canadian Cancer Society, the Public Health Agency of Canada, Statistics Canada, provincial/territorial cancer registries, as well as university-based and provincial/territorial cancer agency-based cancer researchers.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Paula White

Manager, Communications, CCSNB

Phone: (506) 634-6040

A A A

Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2012

09 mai 2012

Nouveau-Brunswick -

Les taux réduits de tabagisme et l’amélioration du dépistage et des traitements ont contribué au recul des taux de mortalité par cancer au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2012,publiées aujourd’hui par la Société canadienne du cancer de concert avec l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et Statistique Canada, indiquent une baisse au Nouveau-Brunswick des taux de décès dans l’ensemble des quatre cancers principaux : soit les cancers du poumon, colorectal, du sein et de la prostate, à l’exception des taux de décès par cancer du poumon chez les femmes, qui affichent une tendance à la hausse.

Chez les hommes, la diminution des taux de tabagisme représente un important facteur de la chute des taux de décès. Chez les Canadiens âgés de 15 ans et plus, l’usage du tabac a chuté d’un sommet de 61 % en 1965 à 20 % en 2010. Le taux de décès par cancer du poumon chez ces derniers a reculé de 30 % de 1988 à 2007. Toutefois, chez les femmes, le taux de décès par cancer du poumon n’a pas diminué. Cela est attribuable au fait que le tabagisme chez celles-ci a atteint un sommet plus tard que chez les hommes et n’a commencé à reculer de façon importante que durant les années 1980. En 1965, 38 % des Canadiennes fumaient, comparativement à 14 %, en 2010.

Les taux néobrunswickois s’apparentent aux tendances nationales. Les taux de tabagisme ont chuté, à l’instar des taux de décès par cancer du poumon chez les hommes.

« Le tabagisme est à l’origine de plus du quart de tous les décès par cancer, a déclaré Anne McTiernan-Gamble, PDG de la Société canadienne du cancer, Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous les ans, un nombre plus élevé de Néobrunswickois meurent du cancer du poumon que le total global des décès par cancer du sein, colorectal et de la prostate. »

Le Nouveau-Brunswick continue d’afficher des taux de tabagisme supérieurs à la moyenne (19 % en 2010, comparativement à la moyenne nationale de 17 %). « Bien que l’usage du tabac connaisse une baisse, le cinquième de notre population provinciale fume toujours, soulignant le besoin de mesures de lutte antitabac plus rigoureuses, » de préciser Mme McTiernan-Gamble.

La Société canadienne du cancer, Nouveau-Brunswick, est un chef de file dans la promotion de la lutte contre le tabagisme. La SCC poursuit ses démarches afin que le gouvernement adopte des mesures qui multiplieront les milieux sans fumée. Cela comprend l’interdiction de fumer dans les endroits publics extérieurs comme les terrains de sport, les parcs, les terrains de jeu et les entrées et sorties des bâtiments publics. La SCC réclame également des aides pharmacologiques subventionnées pour les fumeurs désireux de cesser et l’interdiction des produits de tabac aromatisés.

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, les taux de décès des cancers de la prostate, colorectal et du sein suivent toujours une tendance descendante, attribuable possiblement à l’amélioration des pratiques de dépistage et des traitements anticancéreux.

« Nous assistons à une baisse de la mortalité du cancer du sein imputable en partie à notre programme de dépistage organisé, a expliqué Mme McTiernan-Gamble. Il est permis d’envisager d’autres améliorations des taux de décès au Nouveau-Brunswick, avec la mise en œuvre complète des programmes de dépistage organisés des cancers du col de l’utérus et colorectal. »

Faits saillants généraux des Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2012 pour le Nouveau-Brunswick

  • En 2012, au Nouveau-Brunswick, près de 4 900 nouveaux cas et 1 910 décès par cancer sont prévus.
  • En 2012, près de 410 hommes recevront un diagnostic de cancer du poumon et environ 330 succomberont à la maladie. Environ 370 femmes recevront un diagnostic et près de 280 mourront.
  • Plus d’hommes que de femmes reçoivent un diagnostic de cancer (2 700 et 2 200 nouveaux cas respectivement).
  • Plus du quart de tous les décès par cancer (27 %) sont attribuables au cancer du poumon.
  • Le taux de survie relatif de cinq ans de tous les cancers réunis est de 62 %.

Le rapport des Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2012 a été préparé et distribué grâce à la collaboration entre la Société canadienne du cancer, l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Statistique Canada, les registres du cancer provinciaux et territoriaux de même que les chercheurs du milieu universitaire et des agences du cancer provinciales et territoriales.