Hamilton area man trades in cigarettes for new car

07 May 2015

Hamilton -

Video b-roll and photos of event available for download: http://bit.ly/1QqmMKx

 

Chris Taylor is the 2015 Driven to Quit Challenge Grand Prize winner after staying smoke-free for the month of March, with the support of the Canadian Cancer Society’s Smokers’ Helpline.

Chris, 33 was awarded his new car — a Toyota Corolla S — at a prize presentation today at Upper James Toyota, a subsidiary of Parkway Motors Hamilton.

Chris, from Waterdown, Ontario, had signed up for the Challenge in a previous year with the support of a buddy, but at that time was unable to successfully quit. When he came down with the flu earlier this year, he decided to give it another try.

“I learned that the timing has to be right if you want to quit,” Chris explains. “The first few days are the toughest, but after that it gets a lot better.”

The Driven to Quit Challenge is an annual health promotion campaign in association with McNeil Consumer Healthcare, a division of Johnson & Johnson Inc., the makers of NICODERM® and NICORETTE®.  The Challenge is designed to motivate adult Ontario tobacco users to quit smoking or other forms of tobacco for the month of March by offering the chance to win cash prizes or the grand prize of a new vehicle.

Research shows that if people can stop smoking for a month they are five times more likely to remain smoke-free for good.[1] Quitline support, such as Smokers’ Helpline, more than doubles the likelihood of quitting successfully.[2]

“While most people who smoke want to quit, it is one of the hardest things they will face in their lives. With support from Smokers’ Helpline and incentives like a new car, we know people can quit for good,” says John Atkinson, Director, Cancer Prevention and Tobacco Control, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “We congratulate everyone who participated in this year’s Driven to Quit Challenge and hope they encourage others to get on the path to a tobacco-free life.”

Seven regional winners from across Ontario were awarded $1,000 each for completing the Driven to Quit Challenge:

-      Adrian Campbell from London

-      Karen Chamberlain from Cannifton

-      Tracy Jalava from Atikokan

-      Sylvie Larouche from Sault Ste. Marie

-      Katherine Maruya from Barrie

-      Deborah Paylove from Niagara Falls

-      Robin Silverman from East York

Since 2006, the Driven to Quit Challenge has inspired more than 222,000 Ontarians to make a quit attempt. Anyone looking to quit smoking is encouraged to get support by connecting with the Canadian Cancer Society’s Smokers’ Helpline, toll-free, at 1-877-513-5333 and SmokersHelpline.ca.

About the Driven to Quit Challenge
The Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division’s Driven to Quit Challenge is a health promotion campaign intended to motivate Ontario smokers and tobacco users to make a quit attempt with the support of a “buddy”. Entrants who remain tobacco free for the month of March 2015 are eligible to win a car or cash prizes. Participants are encouraged to take advantage of the free support services of Smokers’ Helpline and all entrants receive discount coupons for NICODERM® or NICORETTE® nicotine replacement therapy products. The Challenge is in association with McNeil Consumer Healthcare, a division of Johnson & Johnson Inc., makers of NICODERM® and NICORETTE®.  The grand prize sponsor is Parkway Motors of Hamilton, Ontario.

About the Canadian Cancer Society Smokers’ Helpline
Smokers’ Helpline is a free service that provides personalized support, advice and information about quitting smoking and tobacco use. Operated by the Canadian Cancer Society and funded by the Government of Ontario, Smokers’ Helpline offers support by telephone, online and text messaging.  To learn more, call 1-877-513-5333 or the number on cigarette packages or SmokersHelpline.ca.

About Parkway Motors Hamilton
Parkway Nissan, Red Hill Toyota Scion and Upper James Toyota are subsidiaries of Parkway Motors Hamilton; a family owned and operated company serving the communities of Greater Hamilton and Grimsby for over 30 years. Parkway Motors Hamilton and its subsidiaries are proud supporters of initiatives like Driven to Quit; they believe a healthy community is a strong community.

About McNeil Consumer Healthcare, division of Johnson & Johnson Inc.
McNeil Consumer Healthcare, division of Johnson & Johnson Inc. markets a broad range of well-known and trusted over-the-counter products. McNeil Consumer Healthcare is most widely recognized for the TYLENOL® brand. Other McNeil Consumer Healthcare brands include NICODERM® and NICORETTE® Nicotine Replacement Therapies,  BENADRYL® and REACTINE® allergy medicines; IMODIUM® anti-diarrheal; PEPCID® and ZANTAC® for digestive health, and  MOTRIN® Ibuprofen.



[1] West, R, Stapleton, J., Clinical and public health significance of treatments to aid smoking cessation. European Respiratory Review, December 1, 2008 vol. 17 no. 110 199-204.

[2] Fiore, MC, et al., Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence: 2008 Update—Clinical Practice Guideline, U.S. Public Health Service, May 2008.

About the Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division
The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization dedicated to preventing cancer, saving lives and supporting people living with cancer through research funding, services and advocacy. We are Canada’s largest charity fighting all types of cancer and leading authority on cancer statistics and information. To learn more, call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Un homme d'Hamilton échange ses cigarettes contre une nouvelle voiture

07 mai 2015

Hamilton -

Vidéo rouleau b et photos de l'événement disponibles à : http://bit.ly/1QqmMKx

 

Chris Taylor est le grand gagnant du défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette 2015 après être demeuré sans fumée pendant le mois de mars, avec le soutien de Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer.

Chris, âgé de 33 ans, a reçu sa nouvelle voiture, une Toyota Corolla S, lors d'une présentation des prix aujourd'hui chez Upper James Toyota, une filiale de Parkway Motors Hamilton.

Ce résident de Waterdown, Ontario s'était inscrit au défi antérieurement avec le soutien d'un copain, mais n'avait pas réussi à cesser. Lorsqu'il a eu la grippe plus tôt cette année, il a décidé d'essayer de nouveau.

« Si vous désirez cesser, il faut le faire au bon moment », explique Chris. « Les quelques premiers jours sont les plus difficiles mais après cela, c'est beaucoup plus facile. »

Le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette est une campagne de promotion de la santé annuelle présentée en association avec Soins-santé grand public McNeil, une division de Johnson & Johnson Inc., fabricants de NICODERM® et NICORETTE®.  Le défi est conçu pour motiver les adultes ontariens usagers du tabac à cesser de fumer ou d'utiliser d'autres types de tabac pendant le mois de mars en offrant la chance de gagner le grand prix d'une voiture ou des prix en argent.

La recherche démontre que si les gens peuvent cesser de fumer pendant un mois, il est cinq fois plus probable qu'ils puissent demeurer non-fumeurs pour de bon. [1] Grâce aux lignes d'arrêt comme Téléassistance pour fumeurs, la probabilité de cesser avec succès est plus que doublée.[2]

« Bien que la plupart des gens qui fument désirent cesser, il s'agit d'une des choses les plus difficiles qu'ils affronteront au cours de leur vie. Avec le soutien de Téléassistance pour fumeurs et les mesures incitatives comme une nouvelle voiture, nous savons que les gens peuvent cesser pour de bon », dit John Atkinson, directeur, prévention du cancer et lutte contre le tabagisme, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l'Ontario. « Nous félicitons tous les participants au défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette de cette année et espérons qu'ils encourageront d'autres personnes à s'engager à vivre une vie sans fumée. »

Sept gagnants régionaux de partout en Ontario ont reçu 1 000 $ chacun pour avoir complété le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette :

-      Adrian Campbell de London

-      Karen Chamberlain de Cannifton

-      Tracy Jalava d'Atikokan

-      Sylvie Larouche de Sault Ste. Marie

-      Katherine Maruya de Barrie

-      Deborah Paylove de Niagara Falls

-      Robin Silverman d'East York

Depuis 2006, le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette a inspiré plus de 222 000 Ontariens à essayer d'abandonner. Nous encourageons toutes les personnes qui désirent cesser de fumer à obtenir du soutien en communiquant avec Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer, sans frais au 1-877-513-5333 et à téléassistancepourfumeurs.ca.

À propos du défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette
Le défi Mettre un Frein à la cigarette de la Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario est une campagne de promotion de la santé conçue pour motiver les adultes ontariens fumeurs et usagers du tabac à faire une tentative d'abandon avec le soutien d’un « copain ». Les participants qui demeurent sans tabac pendant le mois de mars 2015 sont admissibles à gagner une voiture ou des prix en argent. Les participants sont encouragés à profiter du soutien gratuit offert par Téléassistance pour fumeurs et tous les participants reçoivent un coupon rabais pour l'achat de produits de thérapie de remplacement de la nicotine NICODERM® ou NICORETTE®. Le Défi est présenté en association avec Soins-santé grand public McNeil, une division de Johnson & Johnson Inc., fabricants de NICODERM® et NICORETTE®.  Le commanditaire du grand prix est Parkway Motors d'Hamilton, Ontario. 

À propos de Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer
Téléassistance pour fumeurs est un service gratuit offrant un soutien personnalisé, des conseils et de l'information sur l'abandon du tabac et l'usage du tabac. Administré par la Société canadienne du cancer et financé par le gouvernement de l’Ontario, Téléassistance pour fumeurs offre du soutien au téléphone, en ligne et par messagerie texte.  Pour plus d'information, composez le 1-877-513-5333 ou le numéro sur les paquets de cigarettes ou teleassistancepourfumeurs.ca.

À propos de Soins-santé grand public McNeil, une division de Johnson & Johnson Inc.
Soins-santé grand public McNeil, une division de Johnson & Johnson Inc. offre une grande variété de produits en vente libre bien connus et fiables. Soins-santé grand public McNeil est la plus reconnue pour la marque TYLENOL®. D’autres produits de Soins-santé grand public McNeil comprennent les thérapies de remplacement de la nicotine NICODERM® et NICORETTE®, les médicaments contre les allergies BENADRYL® et REACTINE®; l’antidiarrhéique IMODIUM®; PEPCID® et ZANTAC® pour la santé digestive, et l’ibuprofène MOTRIN®.

À propos de Parkway Motors Hamilton
Parkway Nissan, Red Hill Toyota Scion et Upper James Toyota sont des filiales de Parkway Motors Hamilton, une entreprise familiale desservant les communautés du Grand Hamilton et de Grimsby depuis plus de 30 ans. Parkway Motors Hamilton et ses filiales sont des fiers partisans d'initiatives comme le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette; ils croient qu'une communauté en santé est une communauté solide.



[1] West, R, Stapleton, J., Clinical and public health significance of treatments to aid smoking cessation. European Respiratory Review, December 1, 2008 vol. 17 no. 110 199-204.

[2] Fiore, MC, et al., Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence: 2008 Update—Clinical Practice Guideline, U.S. Public Health Service, May 2008.


À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l'Ontario

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, voué à prévenir le cancer, à sauver des vies et à appuyer les personnes vivant avec le cancer par le biais du financement de la recherche, des services et de la défense de l'intérêt public. Nous sommes le plus important organisme de bienfaisance au Canada luttant contre tous les types de cancer et chef de file en matière de statistiques et d'information sur le cancer. Pour plus d'information, composez le 1-888-939-3333 ou visitez cancer.ca.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026