A A A

Canadian Cancer Society declares June Relay For Life Month

20 April 2015

Toronto -


Every year, Relay For Life participants spend months fundraising on behalf of the Canadian Cancer Society and get recognized for reaching their individual fundraising goals at Relay events across the country. The move to declare June Relay For Life Month paves the way toward bringing together Relay participants to experience an event that rallies hundreds of communities across Canada over the past 16 years.

“Two out of every five Canadian will develop cancer in their lifetime. Money raised through Relay For Life helps the Canadian Cancer Society save lives,” says Tonya Stewart, Relay For Life Director. “In order to save lives, we are raising $17 million and we need more Ontarians to sign up to help us reach our goal this year.”

The Society is the only cancer charity in Canada that carries out all of the following:

  • funds significantly more cancer research than any other charity in Canada and is the only charity that funds research into all forms of cancer
  • provides practical and emotional support for cancer patients, caregivers and those looking to get healthier. No other charity offers the range of information and support services proven to decrease anxiety, increase coping and provide hope. In 2014, the Society helped close to 66,000 Ontarians
  • invests in prevention work related to healthy living and cancer screening, reaching deep into Ontario communities. From workplace campaigns to school initiatives to working with new immigrants, the Society mobilizes Canadians to stop cancer before it starts
  • advocates for public policies that protect Canadians from cancer-causing substances at work, at home and at play. Successes include the Smoke-Free Ontario Act, Skin Cancer Prevention Act, Toxics Reduction Act and ColonCancerCheck

“We can’t do this work without our Relay For Life participants and the communities that support them,” says Stewart. “That’s why we’re asking Ontarians to accept the baton, help us achieve our goal and then come celebrate at one of the 76 unforgettable events happening during Relay For Life Month.”

Accept the baton. Learn more and register today at relayforlifeontario.ca!

About Relay For Life
Relay For Life is the Canadian Cancer Society’s signature fundraiser. The events are for everyone as people can participate at any age or fitness level. Money raised through Relay For Life funds promising cancer research, community support services and other important work so that fewer Canadians are touched by cancer.

Social media information
Facebook:
facebook.com/RelayForLifeCanada
Twitter: @cancersociety
Hashtags: #RelayForLife #WhyIRelay #AcceptTheBaton

About the Canadian Cancer Society

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization dedicated to preventing cancer, saving lives and supporting people living with cancer through research funding, services and advocacy. We are Canada's largest charity fighting all types of cancer and leading authority on cancer statistics and information. To learn more, call 1 888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca.

For more information, please contact:

Gabrielle Scheliga

Communications Manager

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7038

La Société canadienne du cancer déclare juin le Mois du Relais pour la vie

20 avril 2015

Toronto -


Chaque année, les participants au Relais pour la vie passent des mois à recueillir des fonds au nom de la Société canadienne du cancer et sont reconnus aux Relais partout au pays pour avoir atteint leurs objectifs de collecte de fonds. La décision de déclarer juin le Mois du Relais pour la vie ouvre la voie au rassemblement des participants au Relais pour vivre l'expérience d'un événement qui rallient des centaines de communautés au Canada depuis 16 ans.

« Deux Canadiens sur cinq développeront un cancer au cours de leur vie. L'argent recueilli par le Relais pour la vie aide la Société canadienne du cancer à sauver des vies », dit Tonya Stewart, directrice, Relais pour la vie. « Afin de sauver des vies, nous recueillons 17 millions de dollars et nous avons besoin que plus d'Ontariens s'inscrivent à l'événement pour nous aider à atteindre notre objectif cette année. »

La Société est le seul organisme de bienfaisance dédié au cancer au Canada à accomplir tout ce qui suit :

  • Nous finançons beaucoup plus de recherche sur le cancer que tout autre organisme de bienfaisance au Canada et nous sommes le seul organisme à financer la recherche sur tous les types de cancer.
  • Nous offrons un soutien pratique et émotif aux personnes atteintes de cancer, aux survivants et à celles qui désirent être plus en santé. Aucun autre organisme de bienfaisance offre la variété de services d'information et de soutien dont il a été prouvé qu'ils réduisent l'anxiété, améliorent la capacité d'adaptation et offrent de l'espoir. En 2014, la Société a aidé presque 66 000 Ontariens.
  • Nous investissons dans la prévention liée à une vie saine et au dépistage du cancer, touchant les communautés de l'Ontario. Des campagnes sur les lieux de travail aux initiatives scolaires au travail avec les nouveaux immigrants, la Société mobilise les Canadiens pour arrêter le cancer avant qu'il n'apparaisse.
  • Nous intervenons pour obtenir des politiques publiques qui protègent les Canadiens des substances cancérogènes au travail, à la maison et où ils se divertissent. Nos succès comprennent la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée, la Loi sur la prévention du cancer de la peau, la Loi sur la réduction des toxiques et ContrôleCancerColorectal.

« Nous ne pouvons pas faire ce travail sans les participants au Relais pour la vie et les communautés qui les appuient », dit Stewart. « C'est pourquoi nous demandons aux Ontariens d'accepter le bâton, de nous aider à atteindre notre objectif puis de venir célébrer à un des 76 événements inoubliables ayant lieu pendant le Mois du Relais pour la vie. »

Acceptez le bâton. Apprenez-en davantage et inscrivez-vous aujourd'hui à www.relaispourlavieontario.ca.

À propos du Relais pour la vie
Le Relais pour la vie est le principal événement de la Société canadienne du cancer. Les événements s'adressent aux personnes de tous les âges et niveaux de forme physique. L'argent recueilli par le biais du Relais pour la vie finance les projets de recherche prometteurs, les services de soutien communautaires et autre travail important afin que moins de Canadiens soient touchés par le cancer.

 

Information sur les médias sociaux
Facebook :
facebook.com/RelayForLifeCanada
Twitter : @cancersociety
Hashtags : #RelayForLife #WhyIRelay #AcceptTheBaton 

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, voué à prévenir le cancer, à sauver des vies et à appuyer les personnes vivant avec le cancer par le biais du financement de la recherche, des services et de la défense de l'intérêt public. Nous sommes le plus important organisme de bienfaisance au Canada luttant contre tous les types de cancer et chef de file en matière de statistiques et d'information sur le cancer. Pour plus d'information, composez le 1-888-939-3333 ou visitez cancer.ca.

 

Renseignements :

Camille Beaubien

Coordonnatrice principale, Relations publiques

Téléphone : (416) 323-7181