Canadian Cancer Society celebrates passage of Ontario’s Skin Cancer Prevention Act

09 October 2013

Toronto -

Canadian Cancer Society volunteers and staff are celebrating the passing of legislation that will prohibit youth under 18 from accessing tanning beds in Ontario.

Bill 30 underwent third reading yesterday and was passed as the Skin Cancer Prevention Act in the Ontario Legislature today.

“I’m happy that we finally have legislation that will protect youth from skin cancer,” says Kate Neale, 23, a melanoma cancer survivor and Society volunteer. The Belleville native worked at a tanning salon and used indoor tanning extensively as a young teen. Kate was in the Legislature today to watch history in the making.

“When I was diagnosed with melanoma, I wanted to stop every young person from indoor tanning. I joined the Canadian Cancer Society and the #tanbedban movement to advocate for legislation banning indoor tanning for youth because it was my hope to make a difference. That hope has become reality,” Neale says.

The Society has been placing the issue of indoor tanning and youth on the political agenda since 2005. That year, Society volunteers met with MPPs at Queen’s Park to inform them about the dangers associated with indoor tanning, particularly for youth, and to push for provincial indoor tanning legislation in Ontario. Since then, volunteers have been back at Queen’s Park, met with MPPs, participated in numerous letter-writing campaigns as well as made deputations at municipal council meetings, successfully helping to pass three indoor tanning bylaws across the province.

“Today a clear message has been sent that indoor tanning is not safe and we know that it causes skin cancer. For more than seven years, we’ve mobilized volunteers, donors and staff to fight for a ban on indoor tanning for youth in Ontario,” says Martin Kabat, CEO, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “We applaud all three political parties who have worked together to pass this historic provincial legislation."

 

About the Canadian Cancer Society

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Daniel Paquette

dpPR

Cell: 416 559-2694

Tel: 416 413-7714

Christine Koserski

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7030

La Société canadienne du cancer célèbre l’adoption de la Loi sur la prévention du cancer de la peau

09 octobre 2013

Toronto -

Les bénévoles et le personnel de la Société canadienne du cancer célèbrent l’adoption d’une loi qui interdira aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans d’utiliser des lits de bronzage en Ontario.

Le projet de loi 30, Loi sur la prévention du cancer de la peau, a été adopté aujourd’hui à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario après une troisième lecture hier.

« Je suis heureuse que nous ayons finalement une loi qui protégera les jeunes contre le cancer de la peau », dit Kate Neale, 23 ans, survivante d’un mélanome et bénévole de la Société. Cette native de Belleville a travaillé dans un salon de bronzage et a beaucoup utilisé le bronzage artificiel pendant l’adolescence. Kate était à l’Assemblée législative aujourd’hui pour être témoin de cet événement historique.

« Lorsque j’ai reçu mon diagnostic de mélanome, j’ai voulu empêcher tous les jeunes d’utiliser les lits de bronzage. Je me suis jointe à la Société canadienne du cancer et au mouvement #tanbedban pour militer afin d’obtenir une loi interdisant le bronzage artificiel aux jeunes parce que j’espérais faire une différence. Cet espoir est devenu réalité », dit Kate.

La Société place la question du bronzage artificiel et des jeunes au programme politique depuis 2005, année pendant laquelle les bénévoles de la Société ont rencontré les députés provinciaux à Queen’s Park pour les informer des dangers associés au bronzage artificiel, surtout pour les jeunes, et exercer des pressions pour l’adoption d’une loi provinciale sur le bronzage artificiel en Ontario. Depuis, les bénévoles sont retournés à Queen’s Park, ont rencontré les députés provinciaux, ont participé à de nombreuses campagnes de lettres et ont organisé des délégations lors de réunions de conseils municipaux, ce qui a contribué à l’adoption de trois règlements sur le bronzage artificiel dans la province.

« Aujourd’hui, le message est clair – le bronzage artificiel est dangereux et nous savons qu’il cause le cancer. Pendant plus de sept ans, nous avons mobilisé les bénévoles, les donateurs et le personnel pour lutter dans le but d’obtenir une interdiction d’utilisation de bronzage artificiel par les jeunes en Ontario », dit Martin Kabat, chef de la direction, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Nous félicitons les trois partis politiques qui ont travaillé ensemble pour adopter cette loi provinciale historique. »

 

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer
La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l'éradication du cancer et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer, consultez notre site Web à www.cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, un service gratuit et bilingue, au 1-888-939-3333.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026