You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Drive people

When a patient is diagnosed with cancer, transportation becomes an added burden to an already stressful time. Hospital parking fees and expensive taxi distances make travel difficult, and because patients are often not at their healthiest, public transportation can be challenging. Cancer doesn't just affect the patient. Taking time off work to drive family members can start to become problematic, especially if patients are required to go to daily appointments.

As a volunteer driver, you will pick up people receiving cancer treatment from their home and take them to their treatment centre. You’ll be there to offer assistance at a time when they need it the most. And when their treatment is done, you’ll make sure they get home safely. With the kindness and support of volunteer drivers, people with cancer can focus on their health, not their transportation.

Visit our Wheels of Hope section to learn more about this program.

Volunteer drivers are well-trained and supported in their role, and are important ambassadors for the Canadian Cancer Society. We offer flexible day-time driving opportunities based on your schedule.

To become a driver click here to complete a volunteer form.

A-|A|A+

Stories

Nikki Ross Volunteering during Daffodil Month is a fun way to show your support.

Read Nikki's story

Taking action against all cancers

Icon - question mark

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report found that of all newly diagnosed cancers in 2017, half are expected to be lung, colorectal, breast and prostate cancers. Learn what you can do to reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Devenez chauffeur bénévole

Quand une personne reçoit un diagnostic de cancer, le transport devient un fardeau supplémentaire pendant une période déjà stressante. Les frais de stationnement à l’hôpital et de taxis rendent les déplacements difficiles, et parce que les patients ne se sentent pas toujours bien, le transport en commun peut représenter un défi de taille. Le cancer n’affecte pas seulement le patient. Le fait de prendre congé du travail pour conduire un membre de la famille peut devenir problématique, particulièrement si le patient doit se rendre à des rendez-vous quotidiennement.

À titre de chauffeur bénévole, vous irez chercher les personnes recevant un traitement à leur domicile et les conduirez au centre de traitement. Vous serez là pour les aider à un moment où elles en ont grandement besoin. Et après leur traitement, vous vous assurerez qu’elles retournent à la maison en toute sécurité. Grâce à la gentillesse et au soutien des chauffeurs bénévoles, les personnes ayant un cancer peuvent se concentrer sur leur santé et non sur leur transport.

Visitez notre section Roues de l’espoir pour en apprendre plus sur ce programme.

Les chauffeurs bénévoles sont bien formés et appuyés dans leur rôle et sont d’importants ambassadeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer. Nous offrons des horaires flexibles le jour basés sur votre horaire.

Pour devenir un chauffeur, cliquez ici pour remplir le formulaire de demande.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Catherine Coulson Peu à peu, j’ai pris conscience que moi aussi, je pouvais faire partie des survivants.

Plus de détails

Faire face au fardeau financier du cancer

Illustration de pièces de monnaie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit de précieux renseignements sur les programmes gouvernementaux en matière de revenu, l’aide financière et les autres ressources à la disposition des familles qui essaient de boucler leur budget en cette période difficile.

Apprenez-en plus