Electronic cigarettes: labels are not to be trusted - Test results unveiled by the Canadian Cancer Society

23 January 2014

Montreal -

According to the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division, the labelling on liquid refills for electronic cigarettes is unreliable. As part of the Quebec Tobacco-Free Week, the CCS has released a second batch of results from tests it commissioned on e-liquids[1] from the Université de Montréal’s Regional Centre for Mass Spectrometry. For all “with nicotine” e-liquids tested, the amount of nicotine found did not match what was displayed on the package. Even more worrying is that nicotine was detected in “nicotine-free” e-liquids.

 

Nicotine labelling for 7 e-liquids

Type

Flavour

Misleading label

With nicotine

Banana

X

After Eight

X

Oak Wood

X

Zen Garden

X

Cola

X

Nicotine-free

RedBull

X *

Cookie

X *

Lab tests carried out by the Université de Montréal’s Regional Centre for Mass Spectrometry. Report dated April 23, 2013.

*Nicotine content not declared

 

“More and more youths and smokers are getting into electronic cigarettes. And it’s now child’s play to buy e-liquid refills containing nicotine on the Internet or at a store. The CCS is worried because nicotine is a toxic substance that is highly addictive and the product labelling is inaccurate in all cases. Clearly, at present, we can’t go by what’s on the labels,” says Sylvie Poissant, Acting Executive Director, CCS – Quebec Division.  

 

The CCS wants the authorities to act without delay and regulate these new products, especially since they’re becoming such a fad with youths.  The CCS wants the government to include a provision to regulate electronic cigarettes in the Tobacco Act to:

•Ban their sale to minors

•Control their advertising/promotion

•Regulate product ingredients and emissions

•Ban electronic cigarettes from being smoked in public places where tobacco is not allowed



[1] E-liquids containing nicotine are used to refill electronic cigarette cartridges.

Every day, the Canadian Cancer Society works to save more lives. We have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research, and support people touched by the disease. For 75 years, our goal has remained unchanged: do more so that fewer of us have to face cancer and more survive. Let’s save more lives: visit cancer.ca or call our Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

 

Information:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Communications

Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division

abeaulieu@quebec.cancer.ca

Phone: (514) 393-3444

 

 

Geneviève Berteau

Health Policy Analyst

Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division

gberteau@quebec.cancer.ca

Phone: (514) 255-5151

Cigarette électronique : impossible de se fier à l’étiquetage - Résultats de tests dévoilés par la Société canadienne du cancer

23 janvier 2014

Montréal -

Selon la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec, on ne peut pas se fier à l’étiquetage des liquides vendus comme recharge pour les cigarettes électroniques. Dans le cadre de la Semaine pour un Québec sans tabac, la SCC diffuse un deuxième volet de résultats de tests effectués à sa demande par le Laboratoire de spectrométrie de masse de l’Université de Montréal sur des e-liquides[1]. Pour tous les e-liquides « avec nicotine » testés, la quantité de nicotine analysée n’était pas celle inscrite sur l’emballage. Plus inquiétant encore, de la nicotine a été détectée dans des e-liquides « sans nicotine ».

 

Étiquetage de nicotine pour 7 e-liquides

Type

Arôme

Affichage erroné

Contenu avec nicotine

Banane

X

After Eight

X

Bois de Chêne

X

Jardin zen

X

Cola

X

Contenu sans nicotine

RedBull

X *

Biscuit

X *

Tests en laboratoire effectués par le Centre régional de spectrométrie de masse de l’Université de Montréal. Rapport daté du 23 avril 2013.

*Présence non affichée de nicotine

 

« De plus en plus de jeunes et de fumeurs s’intéressent à la cigarette électronique. Et c’est désormais un jeu d’enfant que d’acheter des recharges e-liquides contenant de la nicotine via Internet ou en boutique. La SCC est inquiète car la nicotine est un produit toxique qui crée une forte dépendance et l’affichage sur les produits est inexact dans tous les cas. Il est clair qu'il est impossible actuellement de se fier à ce qui est inscrit sur les étiquettes,  déclare Sylvie Poissant, directrice générale par intérim, SCC – Division du Québec. »

 

Pour la SCC les autorités doivent agir sans délai et encadrer ces nouveaux produits d’autant plus qu’ils suscitent un engouement chez les jeunes. La SCC demande donc au gouvernement d’inclure dans la Loi sur le tabac un encadrement de la cigarette électronique qui amènera un(e) :

•Interdiction de la vente aux mineurs

•Encadrement de la publicité/promotion

•Réglementation sur le contenu du produit et de ses émissions

•Interdiction de fumer la cigarette électronique dans les lieux publics où le tabac est interdit



[1] Les e-liquides contenant de la nicotine sont utilisés pour remplir les cigarettes électroniques rechargeables.

La Société canadienne du cancer œuvre chaque jour à sauver plus de vies. Elle travaille sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Depuis 75 ans, son but n’a pas changé : en faire plus pour que nous soyons davantage à ne pas avoir à faire face au cancer et plus nombreux à y survivre. Sauvons + de vies : visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.

 

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu 

Porte-parole et conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer - Division du Québec

abeaulieu@quebec.cancer.ca

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444

 

Geneviève Berteau

Analyste des politiques

Société canadienne du cancer - Division du Québec

gberteau@quebec.cancer.ca

Téléphone : (514) 255-5151