A A A

Canadian Cancer Statistics 2011

18 May 2011

New Brunswick -

A simple at-home test has the potential to prevent many colorectal cancer deaths, according to a special report about colorectal cancer in the Canadian Cancer Statistics 2011, released today by the Canadian Cancer Society in collaboration with the Public Health Agency of Canada and Statistics Canada.

According to the 2009 Colon Cancer Screening in Canada survey, 34% of New Brunswickers ages 50 to 74 reported being tested for colorectal cancer in the previous two years, and/or a sigmoidoscopy/colonoscopy in the previous five years, well below the benchmark of 80%. The Canadian Cancer Society recommends that people between the ages 50 and 74 who are at average risk of colorectal cancer be screened every two years with a fecal occult blood test (FOBT) and the fecal immunochemical test (FIT). These can detect trace amounts of blood in the stool.

“Screening among the target age group has the potential to prevent many deaths from colorectal cancer,” said Anne McTiernan-Gamble, CEO of the Canadian Cancer Society New Brunswick. “It’s important to note that the goal of screening is to detect cancer in its early stages in people who have no symptoms. Currently, New Brunswick does not have an organized colorectal screening program, but the Provincial Government has announced plans to establish one by 2013.”

“We encourage all people in the target age group to talk to their family physicians about obtaining a screening test,” Ms. McTiernan-Gamble said. “Those who are not within the age range of 50 – 74 but who are experiencing symptoms or are at higher risk for colorectal cancer should speak with their physician.”

Participation in screening for colorectal cancer varies widely across the country, with the lowest rate in Quebec and the highest in Ontario and Manitoba (the first two provinces to actively launch province-wide screening programs).

In Canada, colorectal cancer is the second most common cause of cancer death. In New Brunswick, approximately 550 people will be diagnosed with colorectal cancer in 2011, and an estimated 215 will die from the disease.

Canadian Cancer Statistics 2011 New Brunswick highlights:

  • An estimated 4,800 New Brunswickers will be diagnosed with cancer in 2011, and an estimated 1,990 will die from the disease.
  • The four most common cancers in New Brunswick are prostate, lung, colorectal and breast. These are also the cancers with the highest mortality rates.
  • In both sexes, the age-standardized incidence rate for all cancers combined is higher in New Brunswick compared to the national average. In males, this is mainly due to the higher rate of prostate, lung, bladder, and kidney cancer in the province. In females, this is mainly due to the higher rate of lung, thyroid melanoma, pancreas and kidney cancer in the province.
  • In both sexes, the age-standardized mortality rate for all cancers combined is higher in New Brunswick compared to the national average. In males, this is mainly due to the higher rate of lung and pancreas cancer in the province. In females, this is mainly due to the higher rate of pancreas and kidney cancer in the province.

Canadian Cancer Statistics 2011 is prepared, printed and distributed through a collaboration of the Canadian Cancer Society, the Public Health Agency of Canada, Statistics Canada and provincial and territorial cancer registries.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

A A A

Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2011

18 mai 2011

Nouveau-Brunswick -

Un simple test de dépistage qui se fait à domicile pourrait prévenir de nombreux décès par cancer colorectal, selon un rapport spécial sur le cancer colorectal contenu dans les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2011, publiées aujourd’hui par la Société canadienne du cancer de concert avec l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et Statistique Canada.

D’après le sondage de 2009 sur le dépistage du cancer du côlon au Canada, 34 % des Néobrunswickois de 50 à 74 ans ont déclaré avoir passé un examen de dépistage du cancer colorectal au cours des deux années antérieures ou une sigmoïdoscopie/coloscopie au cours des cinq années antérieures, un taux de loin inférieur au point de référence de 80 %. La SCC recommande aux personnes de 50 à 74 ans et plus présentant un risque moyen de cancer colorectal d’effectuer un examen de dépistage tous les deux ans, à l’aide d’une recherche de sang occulte dans les selles (RSOS) ou du test immunochimique fécal (TIRSOS). Ces derniers peuvent détecter les traces de sang dans les selles.

« Le dépistage chez le groupe d’âge cible peut prévenir de nombreux décès par cancer colorectal, d’affirmer Anne McTiernan-Gamble, la chef de la direction de la Société canadienne du cancer, Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est important de retenir que le dépistage vise à détecter le cancer à un stade précoce chez les personnes qui ne présentent pas de symptômes. À l’heure actuelle, le Nouveau-Brunswick ne possède pas de programme organisé de dépistage du cancer colorectal, mais le gouvernement provincial a annoncé qu’il entendait en instaurer un d’ici 2013. »

« Nous invitons tous les membres de ce groupe d’âge cible à consulter leur médecin de famille afin d’obtenir le test de dépistage, de préciser Mme McTiernan-Gamble. Les personnes qui ne font pas partie du groupe d’âge de 50 à 74 ans, mais qui présentent des symptômes ou un risque accru de cancer colorectal devraient parler à leur médecin. »

La participation au dépistage du cancer colorectal varie amplement d’un bout à l’autre du pays, le taux le plus faible étant au Québec et le plus élevé, en Ontario et au Manitoba (les deux premières provinces qui ont lancé des programmes de dépistage provinciaux). À l’heure actuelle, le Nouveau-Brunswick ne possède pas de programme organisé de dépistage du cancer colorectal, mais le gouvernement provincial a annoncé qu’il prévoyait d’en instaurer un d’ici 2013.

Au Canada, le cancer colorectal est la deuxième principale cause de décès par cancer. En 2011, au Nouveau-Brunswick, près de 550 résidents recevront un diagnostic et environ 215 d’entre eux succomberont à la maladie.

Faits saillants des statistiques 2011 de la Société canadienne du cancer touchant le Nouveau-Brunswick :

  • En 2011, environ de 4 800 Néobrunswickois recevront un diagnostic de cancer, et la maladie emportera près de 1 990 d’entre eux.
  • Au Nouveau-Brunswick, les cancers de la prostate, du poumon, colorectal et du sein sont les quatre types les plus répandus. Ceux-ci présentent également les taux de mortalité les plus élevés.
  • Chez les deux sexes, le taux d’incidence normalisé selon l’âge de tous les cancers combinés est supérieur au Nouveau-Brunswick, comparativement à la moyenne nationale. Chez les hommes, cela est attribuable notamment aux taux provinciaux accrus de cancers de la prostate, du poumon, de la vessie et du rein. Chez les femmes, cela s’explique surtout par les taux provinciaux supérieurs de cancer du poumon, du mélanome de la thyroïde et des cancers du pancréas et du rein.
  • Chez les deux sexes, le taux de mortalité normalisé selon l’âge de tous les cancers combinés est supérieur au Nouveau-Brunswick, comparativement à la moyenne nationale. Chez les hommes, cela est principalement attribuable aux taux provinciaux accrus de cancers du poumon et du pancréas. Chez les femmes, cela s’explique surtout par les taux provinciaux supérieurs de cancers du pancréas et du rein.

Les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2011 sont préparées, imprimées et distribuées grâce à la collaboration entre la Société canadienne du cancer, l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Statistique Canada et les registres du cancer provinciaux et territoriaux.

Renseignements :

Paula White

Manager, Communications, CCSNB

Téléphone : (506) 634-6040