A A A

Innovation to Impact Grants

*Note update to eligibility criteria regarding former CBCF grant holders.

This program is designed to support the logical next steps of a positive, innovative, 'high risk/high reward' research grant, with the goal of working towards or achieving a significant impact on cancer.

The Innovation to Impact Grants are designed to continue the CCS funding pipeline between successful Innovation and Impact Grants. Note that a special allowance has been made for former CBCF grant holders for this competition. Applicants are cautioned to carefully review the full description for details on the eligibility criteria for this funding opportunity.

Scientific focus of the program and eligibility

Innovation to Impact Grants (i2I) are intended to support the further development of significant findings based on the goals originally explored through a funded CCS Innovation Grant (or eligible CBCF grant). Note: Only investigators with a funded Innovation Grant/CBCF Grant with a project end date between January 1, 2016 and July 31, 2019 are eligible for this program.

Applicants are required to articulate significant achievements from the original Innovation/CBCF Grant (i.e., significant new knowledge, publications, intellectual property, technology development, or relevant endpoints) and clearly describe and justify the progression to the new research proposed. Applicants must also describe the potential for impact of the proposed project on cancer.

Investigators looking to explore unexpected outcomes or ideas not originally proposed in a funded Innovation/CBCF Grant are encouraged to apply for a new Innovation Grant as the Innovation to Impact Grant program is designed to build upon successful outcomes from the objectives of the original grant.

Please see the eligibility and requirements section prior to creating an application.

Deadline dates

Full application due date: January 15, 2019
Results announcement: July 2019
Anticipated start date: August 1, 2019

Application guides can be found on the EGrAMS documentation for applicants page.

Funds available

It is expected that up to 12 grants will be awarded in this competition.

A special call for breast cancer research is included in this competition. For applicants wishing to be considered under the breast cancer research initiative, a relevance statement is required that explicitly demonstrates how the project is relevant to breast cancer.

Grant budgets may be up to $150,000 per year with a maximum of 3 years of funding. Grants will be non-renewable.

Funding will be provided to support the direct costs of research, including supplies, salaries, and equipment associated with the proposed work. Equipment requests should not exceed $50,000 of the requested budget however an increase in this portion of the budget will be considered as an exceptional case if the i2I application involves the development of a technology or a platform that requires specific equipment to do so.  Indirect costs are not eligible.

Peer review panels

Multidisciplinary peer review committees will be assembled to review the full applications. Peer review committees will consist of scientific experts with broad expertise, along with community representatives to provide patient/survivor/caregiver perspectives.

Review panel information can be found here. Note that panel composition will be finalized after the Full Application deadline, based on best-fit for each application. CCS may determine that the creation of additional panels is necessary to accommodate the volume and breadth of applications.


Full Application structure

A maximum of one i2I grant application resulting from a single Innovation or CBCF Grant is allowed and must be submitted by the Principal Investigator or Co-Principal Investigator of the original Innovation/CBCF Grant. 

When preparing the full application, the following will be required:

  1. a public summary of the proposed research (please note requirements have changed)
  2. a scientific abstract
  3. a breast cancer relevance statement (as applicable), explicitly demonstrating how the project is relevant to breast cancer.
  4. a demonstration of significant achievements from the stated goals in the funded Innovation/CBCF Grant and discussion of the clear progression of the work outlined in the i2I proposal (no more than 2 pages of single spaced text). Progress must be a direct result of the work completed within the Innovation/CBCF Grant. Note that a publication resulting from the original grant is not required but it is necessary to include a clear description of specific outcomes and include relevant preliminary data in the i2I proposal.
  5. a detailed scientific proposal clearly stating the aims of the project including any previous work done in the area, study design, methods and analysis; a description of the expected impact that research results will have on reducing the burden of cancer; details of the investigator(s) including which member(s) of the research team will be responsible for which aspect of the project and a rationale for their inclusion in the project, as well as a description of the research environment where the work will take place (no more than 6 pages of single spaced text) 
  6. a vision statement explicitly describing how the proposed work could move the field forward and accelerate progress in cancer research.
  7. data figures/tables/charts and their associated legends (no more than 5 pages)
  8. submission of the original Innovation/CBCF Grant proposal and scientific abstract, as well as the innovation statement (for Innovation Grants) (auto-populated).
  9. a budget justification related to the supplies, equipment and personnel associated with the research project. This must include the number of personnel required to complete the work and a description of their experience and/or education level and their commitment to the project. The budget request must be appropriate for the type of research proposed.

Specific guidelines for the online application are available here.

Review criteria

The review criteria for the full application will include the following:
  • evidence of the successful testing of the hypotheses from the original Innovation/CBCF Grant
  • evidence of significant achievements made in the original Innovation/CBCF Grant
  • evidence of progression to show how the proposed work builds upon significant findings from the original Innovation/CBCF Grant
  • potential for impact
  • feasibility and scientific merit 
  • qualifications and experience of the investigator(s) 
  • quality of the research environment
  • potential for the advancement of the mission of the Canadian Cancer Society
  • appropriateness of the term and amount of support requested

Multiple applications/multiple sources of funding

There must not be substantial overlap (i.e. more than 50%) with any pending application (including those at the registration, abstract or Letter of Intent submission stage) to any other CCS research program as of this competition due date. Duplicate applications will not be accepted. The onus is on the applicant to indicate the extent (or absence) of overlap. Grantees can accept funds from other sources, up to the CCS research panel recommended amount in cases where the panel approved amount exceeds the annual funding limit.

Applicants are reminded to review the eligibility and requirements section for details on scientific and financial reporting, funder acknowledgement, Canadian Cancer Society policies on open access and tobacco related funding. 

Last modified on: October 23, 2018

A A A

Subventions d’une innovation à un impact

Ce programme a été conçu afin de soutenir les étapes faisant suite à l’obtention d’une subvention de recherche positive et novatrice de type « haut risque/haut rendement » dont l’objectif consiste à faire avancer la recherche sur le cancer ou à réaliser un impact significatif dans la lutte contre le cancer.

Ce programme a été conçu pour étendre le circuit de financement de la SCC en comblant l'écart entre les subventions pour l'innovation et les subventions pour un impact. Les candidats sont priés d’examiner attentivement l’ensemble des détails concernant l’admissibilité restreinte de cette occasion de financement.

Admissibilité et axe scientifique du programme

Les subventions d’une innovation à un impact visent à soutenir le développement ultérieur de découvertes prometteuses réalisées à la suite d’objectifs fixés dans le cadre d’une subvention pour l’innovation de la SCC. Par conséquent, seuls les chercheurs financés par une subvention pour l’innovation et dont le projet doit se conclure entre le 1er janvier 2016 et le 31 juillet 2019 sont admissibles à ce programme.

Les candidats doivent formuler les réalisations spécifiques associées à la subvention pour l’innovation initiale (ex. : nouvelles connaissances, publications, propriété intellectuelle, avancée technologique ou résultats pertinents) en plus de décrire clairement et de justifier la progression du nouveau projet de recherche proposé. Les candidats doivent aussi décrire l’impact potentiel du projet de recherche proposé sur le cancer.

Nous encourageons les chercheurs souhaitant explorer des sujets inédits ou des idées nouvelles à proposer leur projet au programme de subventions pour l’innovation. Le programme de subventions de l’innovation à un impact est spécifiquement conçu pour la poursuite de travaux de recherche axés sur les résultats prometteurs obtenus dans le cadre d’une subvention pour l’innovation.

Veuillez consulter la section admissibilité, exigences et obligations avant de faire une demande.

Dates limites

Date limite pour la demande intégrale : 15 janvier 2019
Annonce des résultats : juillet 2019
Date de début de la subvention : 1er août 2019

Les guides de présentation des demandes sont accessibles depuis la page EGrAMS documentation for applicants.

Fonds disponibles

On s’attend à octroyer 12 subventions dans le cadre de ce concours.

Ce concours comprend un appel spécial à des projets de recherche sur le cancer du sein. Pour les candidats qui souhaitent être évalués dans le cadre de l’initiative de recherche sur le cancer du sein, une déclaration de pertinence démontrant explicitement en quoi le projet est pertinent par rapport au cancer du sein est requise.

Le budget annuel accordé aux subventions peut atteindre 150 000 $, pour un maximum de trois années de financement. Ce concours prévoit l'octroi de dix subventions non renouvelables. 

Le financement octroyé doit servir à soutenir les coûts directs de la recherche, incluant les fournitures, les salaires et l'équipement associé au projet proposé. La valeur des demandes en matière d'équipement ne devrait pas excéder 50 000 $. Si toutefois une demande de subvention d’une innovation à un impact requiert exceptionnellement l’accès à de l’équipement spécifique au développement d’une technologie ou d’une plateforme, cette portion du budget pourrait être modifiée. Les coûts indirects ne sont pas admissibles.

Comité d’évaluation par les pairs

Des comités multidisciplinaires d'examen par des pairs se réuniront pour évaluer les demandes intégrales. Les comités d'examen par des pairs seront constitués d'experts scientifiques possédant une vaste expertise dans leur domaine, ainsi que de représentants de la communauté qui donneront le point de vue des patients, des survivants et des prestataires de soins.

Les renseignements sur les comités d’examen sont accessibles ici. Veuillez noter que la composition des comités sera finalisée après la date limite de soumission des demandes intégrales, selon ce qui convient le mieux pour chaque demande. La SCC pourrait déterminer que d’autres comités doivent être mis sur pied pour répondre au volume et à la diversité des demandes.


Structure de la demande

Une seule demande pour une subvention d'une innovation à un impact peut être soumise par projet financé par une subvention pour l'innovation. Cette demande doit être présentée par le chercheur principal ou le cochercheur principal associé à la subvention initiale.

Veuillez noter que la phase d’inscription des résumés a été retirée. Seules des demandes intégrales sont requises pour ce concours. 

La demande intégrale doit comprendre les éléments suivants :

  1. un résumé public de la recherche proposée (veuillez noter que les exigences ont changé). ;
  2. un résumé scientifique ;
  3. une déclaration sur la pertinence pour le cancer du sein (s’il y a lieu), démontrant de façon explicite en quoi le projet est pertinent pour le cancer du sein.
  4. une démonstration des réalisations importantes obtenues des suites des objectifs fixés par la recherche menée dans le cadre de la subvention pour l’innovation et une présentation claire de la progression des travaux (maximum de 2 pages de texte à interligne simple). Les progrès doivent être directement attribuables aux travaux complétés dans le cadre d'une subvention pour l'innovation. Veuillez prendre note que la subvention initiale pour l'innovation ne doivent pas nécessairement donner lieu à une publication, mais qu’il est nécessaire de présenter clairement les résultats précis attendus et les données préliminaires pertinentes dans la demande de subvention pour l'innovation. ;
  5. une proposition scientifique détaillée énonçant clairement les objectifs du projet, incluant tout travail précédemment mené dans ce domaine, le plan d’étude, les méthodes et l’analyse ainsi qu’une description de l’impact attendu des résultats de la recherche en ce qui a trait à la réduction du fardeau qu’est le cancer, en plus des détails concernant le(s) chercheur(s), comme le(s) membre(s) de l’équipe de recherche responsable(s) des différents aspects du projet et une justification de leur rôle, ainsi qu’une description de l’environnement de recherche dans lequel seront tenus les travaux (maximum de 6 pages à interligne simple) ; 
  6. un énoncé sur la vision décrivant de manière explicite la manière dont le travail proposé peut représenter un avancement pour le domaine de recherche et accélérer les progrès réalisés dans la recherche contre le cancer ;
  7. des schémas, des tableaux et des diagrammes présentant des données ainsi que les légendes correspondantes (maximum de 5 pages) ;
  8. une copie de la proposition initiale de subvention pour l’innovation, du résumé scientifique et de l'énoncé d’innovation initialement soumis ; 
  9. une justification du budget concernant les fournitures, l’équipement et le personnel associés au projet de recherche. Cette section doit comprendre le nombre de personnes requis pour mener à bien le projet, une description de leur expérience ou de leur niveau d'éducation ainsi que leur degré d’engagement par rapport au projet. La demande de budget doit correspondre au type de recherche proposé.

Les directives spécifiques sur la demande en ligne seront accessibles ici.

Critères d’évaluation

L’évaluation des demandes sera effectuée selon les critères suivants :
  • la preuve d’hypothèses et d’essais concluants à la suite de la subvention pour l’innovation initiale ;
  • la preuve de l'existence de réalisations importantes liée à la subvention pour l’innovation initiale ; 
  • la preuve d’une progression démontrant la manière dont la recherche proposée s’appuie sur des découvertes importantes liées à la subvention pour l’innovation initiale ; 
  • l’impact potentiel de la recherche ;
  • la faisabilité et le mérite scientifique ; 
  • les compétences et l’expérience du ou des chercheurs ;
  • la qualité de l’environnement de recherche ;
  • le potentiel de la recherche pour l’avancement de la mission de la Société canadienne du cancer ; 
  • la correspondance de la nature du projet et de la quantité de soutien demandé.

Demandes et sources de financement multiples

Il ne doit y avoir aucun chevauchement important (plus de 50 %) entre une demande (y compris celles qui en sont à l’étape du résumé ou de la Lettre de préavis du processus de soumission) en cours dans n’importe quel programme de recherche de la SCC à la date limite de ce concours. Les demandes en double seront refusées. Il incombe au candidat d’indiquer s’il y a ou non chevauchement. Les récipiendaires de subventions peuvent accepter les fonds provenant d'autres sources jusqu'à concurrence du montant recommandé par le comité de recherche de la SCC.

Les candidats sont invités à consulter la section admissibilité, exigences et obligations pour obtenir des renseignements sur les rapports scientifiques et financiers, la reconnaissance du bailleur de fonds, ainsi que les politiques de la Société canadienne du cancer sur le libre accès et le recours au financement lié à l’industrie du tabac.

Dernière modification le: 18 octobre 2018