A A A

Innovation Grants

Innovation Grants are offered once per year. The timeline below is anticipated to be consistent going forward.  

Please review the eligibility and requirements section prior to creating an application.

Previously funded grants through this competition are available here

Please note:

  • this competition consists of a full application only, abstract registration is not required
  • there must be no (0%) overlap with any pending or held grant applications (i.e. 100% unique aims are required - conceptual overlap is acceptable but must be described by the applicant)

Deadline dates

Full application due date: October 15, 2019

Results announcement: April, 2020
Anticipated start date: May 1, 2020

Application guides can be found on the EGrAMS documentation for applicants page.


Program description

Innovation Grants support the highest quality creative problem solving in cancer research. The goal of the Innovation program is to support the development and testing of transformative, paradigm-shifting concepts and approaches to address problems in cancer research, enhance our understanding of cancer, and generate novel approaches to confront the challenges we face in defeating cancer.

Successfully funded Innovation projects are ideally based on “high risk” ideas that have a strong potential for “high reward”. They are feasible and doable by the applicant(s), but not necessarily based on a significant amount of preliminary data. With a significant emphasis on innovation, this program encourages bold attempts to test novel hypotheses and/or generate new knowledge and/or improvements related to cancer prevention, detection, diagnosis, treatment, and support. Applications are encouraged from across all areas and disciplines of cancer research, as well as from investigators in other disciplines whose ideas are relevant to the field of cancer research.

It is hoped that this program will accelerate the introduction of innovation into the entire cancer research system and contribute to the scientific idea pipeline. Proposals with high scientific merit that are deemed derivative or formulaic, pursue next logical steps, or seek to make incremental advancements are not considered innovative and should not be submitted to this competition. Applicants are also cautioned to avoid overly-ambitious aims or aims that are not clearly connected - significant findings from investigators funded by Innovation Grants may be developed further through a CCS "Innovation to Impact" Grant.

Applicants are encouraged to review past competition results for examples of funded projects.

Funds available

It is anticipated that approximately 30 grants will be awarded in this competition.

Special funding calls within the Innovation Grant competition envelope:
  • Applications relevant to breast cancer research are encouraged
  • Applications relevant to skin cancer are encouraged
  • As a result of a generous donation, funding for one application with a focus on early detection, diagnosis, and/or treatment of malignant mixed Müllerian tumours (MMMT) is available
  • Additional funds may be available from the Lotte and John Hecht Memorial Foundation to support innovative projects focused on the application of complementary and alternative approaches in cancer treatment and control
Grant budgets may be up to $100,000 per year and a maximum of $200,000 per grant. Grant expenditures may be extended over 3 years if justified in the application. Grants will be non-renewable.

Funding will be provided to support the direct costs of research, including supplies, salaries, and equipment associated with the proposed work. Equipment requests cannot exceed 25% of the requested budget. Indirect costs are not eligible.

Peer review panels

Multidisciplinary peer review committees will be assembled to review the full applications. Peer review committees will consist of scientific experts with broad expertise, along with patient/survivor/caregiver participants, as applicable.

Review panel information can be found below. Please review carefully before making your panel selection, however CCS reserves the right to determine the panel with the greatest expertise to review the application. Panel composition will be finalized after the Full Application deadline, based on best-fit for each application.

Panel Number - Name


Panel Description
I1a - Biomarkers & Genomics
Including the use of high-throughput methodologies like genomics, transcriptomics, metabolomics and radiomics applied to cancer patients or model systems to develop mechanistic or translational insight or to develop biomarkers.
I1b - Gene Regulation & Cell Biology
Including mechanisms of transcriptional control, epigenetics, chromatin structure and function, translational control, RNA biology, post-translational modifications, telomere function, DNA damage and repair, organellar biology, model organisms, angiogenesis, cell migration, cell invasion, tumour environment.
I2 - Imaging and Technology Development
Including platform and tool development, systems biology, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), positron emission tomography (PET), ultrasound, computer tomography (CT), radiobiology, radiotherapy, photodynamic therapy (PDT), optical imaging, microfluidics, nanotechnology.
I3 - Immunology, Signalling & Stem Cells
Including metastasis, hormone-sensitive pathways, growth-factor mediated signalling, immunotherapies, viral therapeutics, cancer stem cells, signal transduction, innate immunity, tumour antigens, immune surveillance, hematopoiesis. 
I4 - Novel Therapeutics
Including small molecule and biologic drug candidates, rational drug design, hit and target validation, compound screening, medicinal chemistry, pharmacology, drug delivery systems, drug transport, drug resistance, combination therapies and pharmacogenomics. 
I5 - Prevention & Quality of Life
Including epidemiology, prevention interventions, lifestyle and environmental risk factors, health economics, health services, quality of life, survivorship, palliative care, psychosocial issues, knowledge translation and exchange. 

Full application

Only Full applications are required for this competition (no abstract registration required).

A maximum of one application per Principal Investigator or Co-Principal Investigator will be permitted in each competition. 

The proposal will contain no more than 4 pages of single-spaced text and 2 pages of figures/tables/charts and associated legends. Specific guidelines for the online application are available here.

When preparing the full application, the following is required:

  1. a public summary of the proposed research
  2. a scientific abstract (and non-confidential scientific abstract)
  3. an innovation statement explicitly describing how the project is transformational and innovative.
  4. a detailed scientific proposal clearly stating the aims of the project, experimental design, methods and analysis.
    • Investigators must provide a compelling rationale for the hypothesis.
    • Preliminary data may be included, but is not a requirement.
    • Overly-ambitious aims are discouraged (see above)
    • Details of the investigator(s) including which member(s) of the research team will be responsible for which aspect of the project and a rationale for their inclusion in the project are required, and a description of the research environment where the work will take place.a vision statement explicitly describing how the proposed work could move the field forward and accelerate progress in cancer research. This statement should also clearly address the expected “next steps” following completion of the project.
  5. a vision statement explicitly describing how the proposed work could move the field forward and accelerate progress in cancer research. This statement should also clearly address the expected “next steps” following completion of the project.
  6. a budget justification related to the supplies, equipment and personnel associated with the research project. This must include the number of personnel required to complete the work and a description of their experience and/or education level and their commitment to the project.

Review criteria

The review criteria will include, but not necessarily be restricted to, five assessment categories: Innovation, Research Strategy, Investigator(s), Environment, and Cancer Relevance.

Innovation

(Innovation rating scale)

  • potential to address an important problem or a critical barrier to progress in the field
  • potential to improve or apply a novel theoretical concept, approach, methodology or tool
  • degree to which the research is transformative, original, unique and creative, in the context of the current state of the field
  • potential gain relative to (any) perceived risk
  • degree to which the research proposes new paradigms or challenges existing ones
Research strategy
  • scientific merit and compelling rationale that considers critical review and analysis of preliminary data and/or published literature, as appropriate
  • identification of potential limitations of the proposed research strategy and how they will be addressed, including alternative approaches
  • appropriateness of the term and amount of support requested
Investigator(s)
  • qualifications and appropriate expertise of the investigator(s)
Environment
  • quality of the research environment in which the work will take place
Cancer relevance
  • potential impact on cancer prevention and/or control
  • degree to which the proposed research could ultimately address CCS’s mission to eradicate cancer and enhance the quality of life for people living with and beyond cancer.

Multiple applications/multiple sources of funding

There must be no overlap (0%) with any held or pending applications including those at the registration, abstract or Letter of Intent submission stage to any agency as of this competition due date. The Innovation grant must contain 100% unique aims to comply with this policy (conceptual overlap is permitted but must be explained by the applicant. Duplicate applications will not be accepted.

Applicants are reminded to review the eligibility and requirements section for details on scientific and financial reporting, funder acknowledgement, Canadian Cancer Society policies on open access and tobacco related funding.

Partner Description

Founded in 1962 to support charitable causes in Vancouver, the Lotte & John Hecht Memorial Foundation has since broadened its mandate to include the investigation and support of complementary and alternative medicine, particularly in the treatment of cancer. As part of its support for health research, the Foundation has partnered with Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) since 2012 to support relevant research projects in the CCS Innovation, i2I and Impact Grant programs.





Last modified on: July 25, 2019

A A A

Subventions pour l'innovation

Les Subventions pour l’innovation sont offertes une fois par année. Le calendrier ci-dessous devrait rester le même dans les années à venir.

Veuillez lire la section admissibilité, exigences et obligations avant de créer votre demande.

Les subventions accordées plus tôt dans le cadre de ce concours sont énumérées ici

À noter :

  • Ce concours consiste en une demande intégrale seulement; l’inscription du résumé n’est pas requise.
  • Il ne doit y avoir aucun (0 %) chevauchement avec une demande de subvention qui est en instance ou qui a été retenue (c.-à-d. 100 % d’objectifs uniques; un chevauchement conceptuel est acceptable, mais doit être décrit par le candidat).

Dates limites

Date limite pour la demande intégrale : 15 octobre 2019

Annonce des résultats : avril 2020
Date de début de la subvention : 1er mai 2020

On peut se procurer les guides de présentation des demandes à la page EGrAMS documentation for applicants (en anglais seulement).


Description du programme

Les Subventions pour l’innovation soutiennent la quête de solutions créatives de première qualité à des problèmes en recherche sur le cancer. L’objectif du programme de Subventions pour l’innovation est de favoriser l’élaboration et l’évaluation de concepts et d’approches susceptibles d’entraîner des transformations et des changements de paradigmes permettant de remédier à des problèmes en recherche sur le cancer, d’accroître notre compréhension du cancer et de produire des stratégies novatrices en vue de surmonter les difficultés auxquelles nous faisons face pour vaincre le cancer.

Les projets retenus sont idéalement basés sur des idées « à haut risque » qui ont un potentiel élevé de « haut rendement ». Ils sont faisables et réalisables par le ou les candidats, mais ne reposent pas nécessairement sur une grande quantité de données provisoires. Fortement axé sur l’innovation, ce programme encourage les tentatives audacieuses d’évaluer des hypothèses novatrices et/ou de générer de nouvelles connaissances et/ou des améliorations en lien avec la prévention, la détection, le diagnostic et le traitement du cancer et avec le soutien offert à ce sujet. Des demandes provenant de toutes les sphères et disciplines de la recherche sur le cancer, et de chercheurs d’autres disciplines qui ont des idées utiles pour le domaine de la recherche sur le cancer, sont sollicitées.

On espère que ce programme va accélérer l’introduction d’innovations dans tout le système de recherche sur le cancer et contribuer à la pépinière d’idées scientifiques. Les propositions de grande valeur scientifique qui sont perçues comme des dérivés, ou des automatismes, constituent les prochaines étapes logiques ou visent l’obtention de progrès additionnels ne sont pas considérées comme étant novatrices et ne doivent pas être soumises pour ce concours. Il est également recommandé aux candidats d’éviter les objectifs trop ambitieux ou les objectifs qui ne sont pas clairement reliés – d'importantes découvertes issues de Subventions pour l'innovation pourraient être poussées plus loin par l’entremise d'une Subvention d’une innovation à un impact de la SCC.

Les candidats sont invités à consulter les résultats des concours précédents pour avoir des exemples de projets financés. 


Fonds disponibles

On prévoit qu’environ 30 subventions seront accordées dans le cadre de ce concours.

L’enveloppe du concours de Subventions pour l’innovation comprend un appel spécial :
  • Les demandes pertinentes pour la recherche sur le cancer du sein sont encouragées.
  • Les demandes pertinentes pour le cancer de la peau sont encouragées.
  • Par suite d’un généreux don, des fonds sont disponibles pour une demande portant sur la détection précoce, le diagnostic et/ou le traitement des tumeurs mixtes müllériennes malignes (TMMM).
  • Des fonds additionnels pourraient être remis par la Fondation Lotte and John Hecht, pour le financement de projets novateurs centrés sur l’application d’approches complémentaires et parallèles de traitement du cancer et de lutte contre la maladie.

Les budgets de subvention peuvent s'élever jusqu'à 100 000 $ par année et atteindre un maximum de 200 000 $ par subvention. Les dépenses liées aux subventions peuvent se prolonger jusqu'à trois ans, si elles sont justifiées dans la demande. Les subventions ne seront pas renouvelables.

Le financement sera fourni afin de couvrir les coûts directs de la recherche, dont les fournitures, les salaires et l'équipement associés au travail proposé. Les demandes pour l'équipement ne pourront pas dépasser 25 % du budget demandé. Les coûts indirects ne sont pas admissibles.

Comités d'examen par des pairs

Des comités multidisciplinaires d'examen par des pairs se réuniront pour évaluer les demandes intégrales. Les comités d'examen par des pairs seront constitués d'experts scientifiques possédant une vaste expertise dans leur domaine, avec la participation, s’il y a lieu, de patients/survivants/prestataires de soins.

Les renseignements sur les comités d’examen sont accessibles ci-dessous. Veuillez les lire attentivement avant de choisir votre comité; la SCC se réserve toutefois le droit de déterminer lequel a la meilleure expertise pour évaluer la demande. La composition des comités sera finalisée après la date limite de soumission des demandes intégrales, selon ce qui convient le mieux pour chaque demande.

Numéro de comité – Nom du comité  Description 
I1a – Biomarqueurs et génomique  Comprend l’utilisation de méthodes à haut débit comme la génomique, la transcriptomique, la métabolomique et la radiomique appliquées à des patients atteints de cancer ou à des systèmes modèles en vue de l’acquisition de connaissances de nature mécanistique ou translationnelle ou de la mise au point de biomarqueurs. 
I1b – Régulation génétique et biologie cellulaire  Comprend les mécanismes de contrôle transcriptionnel, l’épigénétique, la structure et la fonction de la chromatine, le contrôle translationnel, la biologie de l’ARN, les modifications post-translationnelles, la fonction des télomères, l’altération et la réparation de l’ADN, la biologie des organelles, les organismes modèles, l’angiogenèse, la migration cellulaire, l’invasion cellulaire et l’environnement tumoral. 
I2 – Imagerie et nouvelles technologies  Comprend le développement de plateformes et d’outils, la biologie des systèmes, l’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM), la tomographie par émission de positons (TEP), l’échographie, la tomodensitométrie (TDM), la radiobiologie, la radiothérapie, la thérapie photodynamique (TPD), l’imagerie optique, la microfluidique et la nanotechnologie. 
I3 – Immunologie, transmission des signaux et cellules souches  Comprend les métastases, les voies hormonosensibles, la signalisation induite par les facteurs de croissance, l’immunothérapie, la virothérapie, les cellules souches cancéreuses, la transduction des signaux, l’immunité innée, les antigènes tumoraux, la surveillance immunitaire et l’hématopoïèse. 
I4 – Thérapies nouvelles  Comprend les candidats-médicaments biologiques et faits de petites molécules, la conception rationnelle de médicaments, la validation de l’impact et de la cible, le criblage de composés, la chimie thérapeutique, la pharmacologie, les systèmes d’administration de médicaments, le transport des médicaments, la résistance aux médicaments, les traitements d’association et la pharmacogénomique. 
I5 – Prévention et qualité de vie  Comprend l’épidémiologie, les interventions de prévention, les facteurs de risque liés au mode de vie et à l’environnement, l’économie de la santé, les services de santé, la qualité de vie, la survie, les soins palliatifs, les enjeux psychosociaux ainsi que la transmission et l’échange de connaissances. 

Demande intégrale

Seules des demandes intégrales sont requises pour ce concours (l’inscription des résumés n’est pas nécessaire).

Un maximum d'une demande par chercheur principal ou cochercheur principal sera permis par concours.

La proposition ne contiendra pas plus de 4 pages à interligne simple et pas plus de 2 pages de chiffres, de tableaux, de diagrammes et de légendes qui les accompagnent. Des directives spécifiques relatives aux demandes en ligne seront disponibles ici

Une demande intégrale contient (sans s’y limiter) :

  1. Un résumé public de la recherche proposée.
  2. Un résumé scientifique (et un résumé scientifique non confidentiel). 
  3. Une déclaration sur l'innovation décrivant de façon explicite en quoi le projet est transformationnel et novateur. Les demandes doivent aborder divers aspects « novateurs » du projet.
  4. Une proposition scientifique détaillée énonçant clairement les buts du projet, le plan expérimental, les méthodes et les analyses.
    • Les chercheurs doivent fournir des justifications convaincantes pour soutenir leur hypothèse.
    • Des données provisoires peuvent être soumises, mais ne sont pas exigées.
    • Les objectifs trop ambitieux sont déconseillés (voir ci-dessus).
    • Des précisions relatives aux membres de l'équipe de recherche qui seront responsables de chacun des aspects du projet, le motif de leur participation au projet, ainsi qu'une description de l'environnement dans lequel se déroulera la recherche sont requis.
  5. Une déclaration sur la vision décrivant explicitement la façon dont les travaux proposés pourraient faire avancer la recherche dans le domaine en question et accélérer les progrès en matière de recherche sur le cancer. Cette déclaration devrait aussi indiquer clairement les « étapes suivantes » prévues une fois le projet achevé.
  6. Une justification budgétaire en ce qui concerne les fournitures, les matériels et le personnel liés au projet de recherche. Elle doit comprendre le nombre de membres du personnel nécessaires afin d’exécuter le travail, une description de leur expérience ou de leur niveau d’études, ainsi que leur engagement relatif au projet.     

Critères d'évaluation

Les critères d'évaluation comprendront, sans toutefois s'y limiter, cinq catégories : Innovation, Stratégie de recherche, Chercheurs, Environnement et Pertinence par rapport au cancer.

Innovation (Échelle d'évaluation de l'innovation)
  • La capacité potentielle du projet à s'attaquer à un problème important ou à un obstacle majeur au progrès dans le domaine ciblé.
  • La capacité potentielle du projet à améliorer ou à appliquer un concept théorique, une approche, une méthodologie ou un outil à caractère novateur.
  • Le degré d'originalité, d'exclusivité et de créativité du projet et son pouvoir de transformation, dans le contexte de l’état actuel du domaine.
  • Les gains potentiels pour la recherche par rapport à tout risque perçu.
  • Le degré auquel le projet propose de nouveaux paradigmes ou remet en question les paradigmes existants.
Stratégie de recherche
  • L'intérêt scientifique et une justification convaincante prenant en compte l'examen critique et l'analyse des données préliminaires ou de la documentation publiée, selon le cas.
  • L'indication des limites potentielles de la stratégie de recherche proposée et des diverses approches envisagées pour les aborder.
  • Le caractère approprié de la durée du projet et l'ampleur du soutien demandés.
Chercheurs
  • Les qualifications et l'expertise pertinentes du ou des chercheurs.
Environnement
  • La qualité de l’environnement de recherche dans lequel les travaux seront effectués.
Pertinence par rapport au domaine de la recherche sur le cancer
  • L'impact potentiel sur la prévention du cancer et/ou la lutte contre le cancer.
  • Le degré auquel la recherche proposée pourrait ultimement répondre aux priorités de la mission de la Société, qui est de réduire l'incidence du cancer, la mortalité due au cancer et d'améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens qui vivent avec le cancer et qui y survivent.

Multiples demandes ou sources de financement

Il ne doit y avoir aucun chevauchement (0 %) avec des demandes en instance ou retenues, y compris celles qui en sont à l’étape de l’inscription, du résumé ou de la Lettre de préavis du processus de soumission auprès de tout organisme à compter de la date d'échéance de ce concours. La Subvention pour l'innovation doit comprendre 100 % d’objectifs uniques pour être conforme à cette politique (un chevauchement conceptuel est permis, mais doit être expliqué par le candidat). Les demandes en double ne seront pas acceptées.

Nous rappelons aux candidats de consulter la section admissibilité, exigences et obligations pour en savoir plus sur la présentation de rapports scientifiques et financiers, sur les remerciements aux bailleurs de fonds, sur les politiques de libre accès de la Société canadienne du cancer et sur le financement relatif au tabac. 

Description du partenaire

Créée en 1962 pour financer les causes de bienfaisance à Vancouver, la Fondation Lotte & John Hecht Memorial a depuis élargi son mandat afin d’y ajouter l’étude et le soutien des thérapies complémentaires et parallèles, en particulier dans le traitement du cancer. Pour son appui à la recherche sur la santé, la Fondation est partenaire de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) depuis 2012 et aide à financer des projets de recherche dans le cadre du programme de Subventions pour l’innovation de la SCC.




Dernière modification le: 25 juillet 2019