Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

Help prevent cancer and be an advocate

Together we can make Canada a healthy place to live. By sharing life-saving prevention messages with our local communities. By telling lawmakers why increased cancer research funding is important to us. Working together, we can create social and political change that will help control cancer in Canada.

To help move the fight forward, there are a number of ways you can help spread the word and take action.

Promote healthy living and risk reduction messages by distributing materials and making presentations to groups and organizations in your community. Work with local media to communicate prevention-related messages through public service announcements and other materials. Write letters to different levels of government, encourage communication with local politicians to help influence healthy policy development and participate in public forums.

Visit to learn what we’re doing about cancer prevention, or click here to check out opportunities to be involved in cancer prevention initiatives. 



Heather Moyes I encourage every woman – regardless of how young or how old – to be aware of their body

Read Heather's story

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Aidez à prévenir le cancer et à défendre l’intérêt public

Ensemble, nous pouvons faire du Canada un endroit où vivre sainement. Cela peut se faire en faisant circuler dans les communautés locales des messages de prévention qui peuvent sauver des vies, ou encore en expliquant aux législateurs en quoi le financement de la recherche sur le cancer est si important pour nous. En unissant nos efforts, nous pouvons amener des changements sociaux et politiques qui aideront à vaincre le cancer au Canada.

Il existe d’innombrables façons de passer le mot et d’agir afin de faire avancer la lutte contre le cancer.

Vous pouvez par exemple aider à promouvoir nos messages sur les saines habitudes de vie et la réduction des risques en distribuant de la documentation et en faisant des présentations à divers groupes et organisations dans votre milieu. Vous pouvez collaborer avec les médias locaux afin de diffuser des messages liés à la prévention sous forme de communiqués d’intérêt public ou par d’autres moyens. Vous pouvez aussi écrire à des représentants de différents paliers de gouvernement, encourager le dialogue avec les élus locaux en vue d’élaborer des politiques favorables à la santé et participer à des forums publics.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Marie Whitehead Déceler le cancer le plus tôt possible. C’est ce qui compte avant tout. Cela pourrait vous sauver la vie.

Lisez l’histoire de Marie

Achetez une épinglette jonquille

une épinglette jonquille

La jonquille symbolise la force et le courage déployés pour lutter contre le cancer. Procurez-vous une épinglette jonquille et portez-la en avril en signe de solidarité envers les Canadiens touchés par le cancer.

Apprenez-en plus