Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 


Chemotherapy (sometimes called chemo) uses drugs to destroy cancer cells. Some chemotherapy drugs are given on their own. But more often, several chemotherapy drugs are given together. Chemotherapy may also be given together with other drug treatments, such as biological therapy.

Today, there are many different kinds of chemotherapy and combinations of chemotherapy drugs used to treat over 200 different types of cancer. The drugs you get for chemotherapy may be different from the drugs someone else gets. Even if you get the same drugs as someone else, your body may react to them differently. So the way you feel during treatment may be very different from how others feel.

Chemotherapy for children

Both children and their families may have questions and concerns about how chemotherapy is given. Parents and caregivers may also need help coping when a child receives chemotherapy. Sometimes getting chemotherapy can cause children and their families physical or psychological distress. Being prepared and knowing what to expect can reduce anxiety for both children and parents. Parents can prepare children for and help them cope with chemotherapy by explaining what will happen in a way that the child will understand.


Paul Newcombe Volunteering during Daffodil Month is an incredibly rewarding experience, whether you have been touched by cancer or not.

Read Paul's story

A home away from home

Illustration of house

For cancer patients who must travel a great distance to get to treatment, Canadian Cancer Society lodges offer a welcoming place to stay.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:

Chimiothérapie

En chimiothérapie, parfois appelée chimio, on a recours à des médicaments, ou agents, pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. Certains agents chimiothérapeutiques sont utilisés seuls. Mais il arrive plus souvent qu’on en administre plusieurs ensemble. On peut aussi administrer la chimiothérapie en même temps que d’autres traitements médicamenteux, comme la thérapie biologique.

De nos jours, beaucoup de sortes différentes d’agents chimiothérapeutiques et d’associations d’agents chimiothérapeutiques sont utilisées pour traiter plus de 200 types différents de cancer. Les agents chimiothérapeutiques qu’on vous administre peuvent différer de ceux qu’une autre personne reçoit. Même si vous recevez les mêmes médicaments qu’une autre personne, votre corps peut y réagir différemment. C’est pourquoi ce que vous éprouvez en cours de traitement peut être très différent de ce qu’éprouvent les autres.

Chimiothérapie chez l’enfant

Un enfant et sa famille peuvent avoir des questions et des préoccupations sur la façon dont la chimiothérapie sera administrée. Les parents et les personnes qui prennent soin de l’enfant (aidants) pourraient aussi avoir besoin d’aide pour faire face à la situation. Il arrive que l’administration d’une chimiothérapie cause une souffrance physique ou de la détresse psychologique à l'enfant et à sa famille. Être préparé et savoir ce qui se passera peut aider à atténuer l’anxiété de l’enfant et de ses parents. Les parents peuvent préparer leur enfant à la chimiothérapie et l’aider à y faire face en lui expliquant ce qui se passera de manière à ce qu’il comprenne.

Histoires

Dr Ming-Sound Tsao Nous comprenons mieux les rouages du cancer du poumon, et cela fait toute une différence.

Lisez l’histoire de Dr Ming-Sound Tsao

Défense des intérêts des personnes atteintes de cancer

Illustration d’un mégaphone

Nos employés et bénévoles rencontrent les élus des divers paliers de gouvernement (municipal, provincial et fédéral) pour les convaincre de faire de la lutte contre le cancer une de leurs priorités.

Apprenez-en plus