Canadian Cancer Society logo

Salivary gland

You are here: 

If salivary gland cancer spreads

Cancer cells can spread from the salivary gland to other parts of the body and develop into a new tumour. The new tumour is called a metastasis or secondary tumour. If more than one tumour develops in another part of the body, they are called metastases.

Understanding how a type of cancer usually grows and spreads helps your healthcare team plan your treatment and future care. If salivary gland cancer spreads, it is most likely to spread to the following:

  • lymph nodes in the neck (the most common place where salivary gland cancer spreads)
  • into and along the nerves in the face and neck (perineural invasion)
  • soft tissues in the face and neck, including nerves and blood vessels
  • lungs
  • brain
  • bones


photo of Mathieu At the end of the day, Mathieu gave me a big hug and left with a smile on his face.

Read Mathieu's story

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Cancer des glandes salivaires

Vous êtes ici:

Si le cancer des glandes salivaires se propage

Des cellules cancéreuses peuvent se propager d’une glande salivaire jusqu’à d’autres parties du corps et former une nouvelle tumeur. Cette nouvelle tumeur est appelée métastase ou tumeur secondaire. Si plus d’une tumeur se forme dans une autre partie du corps, on parle de métastases au pluriel.

Comprendre comment un type de cancer a l’habitude de croître et de se propager aide votre équipe de soins à planifier votre traitement et vos soins futurs. Si le cancer des glandes salivaires se propage, il est plus susceptible de le faire dans les structures suivantes :

  • ganglions lymphatiques du cou (emplacement où le cancer des glandes salivaires se propage le plus souvent)
  • nerfs du visage et du cou, ou le long de ces nerfs (envahissement périneural)
  • tissus mous du visage et du cou, y compris les nerfs et les vaisseaux sanguins
  • poumons
  • cerveau
  • os

Histoires

Researchers Dr Steve Manske and Dr Leia Minaker Les Drs Steve Manske et Leia Minaker s’appuient sur les résultats de la recherche sur le tabac pour poser des gestes concrets.

Plus de details

Réconfort et sollicitude des bénévoles

Illustration de bénévoles

Dans les centres régionaux de cancer, les maisons d’hébergement et les hôpitaux communautaires, des milliers de bénévoles de la Société canadienne du cancer apportent leur soutien aux personnes qui reçoivent des traitements.

Apprenez-en plus