Pituitary gland
tumours

You are here: 

What is a pituitary gland tumour?

Pituitary gland tumours start in cells of the pituitary gland. They are considered non-cancerous, or benign, at diagnosis. If a pituitary gland tumour grows into surrounding tissues or spreads (metastasizes) to other parts of the body, it is then considered cancerous, or malignant.

The pituitary gland is a small, oval-shaped gland inside your head at the base of your brain. It is part of your body’s endocrine system. The endocrine system is the group of glands and cells that make and release hormones into the blood. These hormones control many body functions, such as growth, reproduction, sleep, hunger and metabolism. The pituitary gland makes hormones that control the activity of most other endocrine glands in the body by telling them when to make and release different hormones.

Cells in the pituitary gland sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous tumours such as pituitary adenomas. More than 99% of pituitary gland tumours are non-cancerous, but they can still have serious effects. Some tumours can cause vision problems because of where they are in the brain. Most pituitary adenomas are functioning. This means that they make pituitary hormones. Functioning tumours can cause different problems depending on the hormones they release.

In rare cases, changes to cells in the pituitary gland can cause cancer. This type of cancer is called pituitary carcinoma.

Other types of cancer can spread to the pituitary gland, but this is not the same disease as cancer that starts in the pituitary gland. Cancer that starts in another part of the body and spreads to the pituitary gland is called pituitary gland metastasis. It is more common than cancer that starts in the pituitary gland. Breast and lung cancers are the most common cancers that spread to the pituitary gland.

Diagram of location of the pituitary

Stories

Steve Manske Helping young people improve their health

Read more

Taking action against all cancers

Icon - question mark

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report found that of all newly diagnosed cancers in 2017, half are expected to be lung, colorectal, breast and prostate cancers. Learn what you can do to reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Tumeurs de l’hypophyse

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce qu’une tumeur de l’hypophyse?

Les tumeurs de l’hypophyse prennent naissance dans les cellules de l’hypophyse. Au moment du diagnostic, elles sont considérées comme non cancéreuses, ou bénignes. Quand une tumeur de l’hypophyse se répand dans les tissus voisins ou se propage (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps, on estime qu’elle est cancéreuse, ou maligne.

L’hypophyse est une petite glande ovale située à l’intérieur de votre tête, à la base du cerveau. Elle fait partie du système endocrinien de votre corps. Le système endocrinien est un groupe de glandes et de cellules qui fabriquent et libèrent des hormones dans le sang. Ces hormones contrôlent de nombreuses fonctions du corps, dont la croissance, la reproduction, le sommeil, la faim et le métabolisme. L’hypophyse produit des hormones qui dirigent l’activité de la plupart des autres glandes endocrines du corps en leur indiquant quand fabriquer et libérer différentes hormones.

Les cellules de l’hypophyse subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent entraîner la formation de tumeurs non cancéreuses, comme les adénomes hypophysaires. Plus de 99 % des tumeurs de l’hypophyse sont non cancéreuses, mais elles peuvent cependant avoir des conséquences graves. Certaines tumeurs causent des troubles de la vue en raison de leur emplacement dans le cerveau. La plupart des adénomes hypophysaires sont fonctionnels, c’est-à-dire qu’ils fabriquent des hormones hypophysaires. Les tumeurs fonctionnelles engendrent différents troubles selon les hormones qu’elles libèrent.

Dans des cas rares, des modifications dans les cellules de l’hypophyse peuvent causer un cancer. On parle alors d’un carcinome de l’hypophyse.

D’autres formes de cancers peuvent se propager à l’hypophyse, mais il s’agit alors d’une maladie différente du cancer qui prend naissance dans l’hypophyse. Un cancer qui se développe dans une autre partie du corps et qui se propage à l’hypophyse est appelé métastase hypophysaire. Celle-ci est plus fréquente qu’un cancer qui débute dans l’hypophyse. Les cancers qui se propagent le plus couramment à l’hypophyse sont les cancers du sein et du poumon.

Schéma de l'emplacement de l'hypophyse

Histoires

Rebecca and James Hamm Nous trouvions très important que la collecte se fasse en l’honneur de mon oncle, car c’était un formidable moyen pour nous de lui manifester notre solidarité.

Lisez l’histoire de James et Rebecca

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus