Parathyroid cancer

You are here: 

Supportive care for parathyroid cancer

Supportive care helps people meet the physical, practical, emotional and spiritual challenges of parathyroid cancer. It is an important part of cancer care. There are programs and services available to help meet the needs and improve the quality of life of people living with cancer and their loved ones, especially after treatment has ended.

Recovering from parathyroid cancer and adjusting to life after treatment is different for each person, depending on the stage of the cancer, the organs and tissues removed during surgery, the type of treatments and many other factors. The end of cancer treatment may bring mixed emotions. Even though treatment has ended, there may be other issues to deal with, such as coping with long-term side effects. A person who has been treated for parathyroid cancer may have concerns about the following.

Vocal cord paralysis

Vocal cord paralysis is when the vocal cord muscles can’t move. It can happen with surgery for parathyroid cancer when the main nerve to the larynx (recurrent laryngeal nerve) is damaged or removed.

Vocal cord paralysis can cause problems with speaking, breathing and swallowing. Signs and symptoms of vocal cord paralysis include:

  • hoarseness
  • breathy voice
  • high-pitched sounds during breathing (stridor)
  • difficulty breathing
  • coughing or choking when swallowing food or drink

Treatment for vocal cord paralysis often includes voice therapy to help improve your voice and cope with any changes in your voice. Speech therapists (speech-language pathologists) assess and treat voice and speech problems. They work closely with surgeons and oncologists to make sure you get the help you need.

Sometimes vocal cord paralysis is treated with surgery. Certain surgeries may be done to improve the function of the vocal cords and the airway. An injection of a substance into a paralyzed vocal cord can also be used to help the vocal cords work better.

Questions to ask about supportive care

To make decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about supportive care.

vocal cord

One of 2 small bands of muscle in the larynx (voice box) that vibrate to produce the voice.

Stories

Dr Guy Sauvageau Progress in leukemias

Read more

Reduce your risk

Icon - figure running

The most recent Canadian Cancer Statistics report shows cancer is the leading cause of death in Canada. Learn how you can reduce your risk.

Learn more

Cancer de la parathyroïde

Vous êtes ici:

Soins de soutien pour le cancer de la parathyroïde

Les soins de soutien aident à surmonter les obstacles physiques, pratiques, émotifs et spirituels engendrés par le cancer de la parathyroïde. Ils représentent une composante importante des soins apportés aux personnes atteintes de cette maladie. Des programmes et des services permettent de répondre aux besoins et d’améliorer la qualité de vie de ces personnes et de leurs proches, en particulier une fois que le traitement est terminé.

Le rétablissement d’un cancer de la parathyroïde et l’adaptation à la vie après le traitement diffèrent d’une personne à l’autre. Ils varient selon le stade du cancer, les organes ou les tissus enlevés par chirurgie, le type de traitement administré et bien d’autres facteurs. La fin du traitement d’un cancer peut susciter des émotions partagées. Même si le traitement est terminé, il pourrait y avoir d’autres questions à régler, comme l’adaptation aux effets secondaires à long terme. Une personne qui a été traitée pour un cancer de la parathyroïde peut se préoccuper des aspects suivants.

Paralysie des cordes vocales

La paralysie des cordes vocales signifie que les muscles des cordes vocales ne peuvent plus bouger. Cela peut survenir après une chirurgie du cancer de la parathyroïde si le nerf principal du larynx (appelé nerf laryngé récurrent) est endommagé ou enlevé.

La paralysie des cordes vocales peut entraîner de la difficulté à parler, à respirer et à avaler. Ses signes et symptômes incluent :

  • voix enrouée
  • voix voilée
  • bruits aigus accompagnant la respiration (stridor)
  • difficulté à respirer
  • toux ou étouffement au moment d’avaler de la nourriture ou des liquides

Le traitement de la paralysie des cordes vocales comprend souvent des consultations en orthophonie visant à améliorer la voix et à faciliter l’adaptation à tout changement de la voix. L’orthophoniste évalue et traite les troubles de la voix et de la parole. Il travaille en étroite collaboration avec les chirurgiens et les oncologues afin de s’assurer que vous recevez l’aide dont vous avez besoin.

La paralysie des cordes vocales est parfois traitée par chirurgie. Certaines opérations sont pratiquées pour améliorer le fonctionnement des cordes vocales et des voies respiratoires. On peut aussi injecter une substance dans les cordes vocales paralysées afin de les aider à mieux fonctionner.

Questions à poser sur les soins de soutien

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur les soins de soutien à votre équipe de soins.

corde vocale

Une des 2 petites bandes musculaires situées dans le larynx qui, par leur vibration, produisent la voix.

Histoires

Dr Guy Sauvageau Progrès au chapitre de certaines leucémies

Plus de details

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus