A A A


What is ovarian cancer?

Ovarian cancer is a malignant tumour that starts in cells of the ovary. Malignant means that it can spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body.

 

The ovaries are part of a woman’s reproductive system. They are 2 small, oval-shaped organs. They are on either side of the uterus, or womb, close to the end of the Fallopian tubes. The ovaries make and release eggs. They also make the female hormones estrogen and progesterone.

 

The ovaries are made up of different types of cells. Epithelial cells make up the outer layer of the ovary, which is called the epithelium. Stromal cells make up the connective tissue that holds an ovary together. Germ cells are reproductive cells. In women, they are egg cells.

 

Cells in an ovary sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous, or benign, conditions such as cysts. They can also lead to non-cancerous tumours. For example, changes to epithelial cells can lead to serous adenoma or mucinous adenoma, which are non-cancerous tumours. Changes to stromal cells can lead to non-cancerous tumours such as thecoma or fibroma. Changes to germ cells can lead to non-cancerous germ cell tumours.

 

Sometimes changes to epithelial cells in one or both ovaries can cause tumours of borderline malignancy. This means that the tumours look like cancer, but they haven’t grown into nearby tissues. Examples of tumours of borderline malignancy include serous tumours or mucinous tumours.

 

In some cases, changes to ovary cells can cause ovarian cancer. There are 3 main types of ovarian cancer. Each type of cancer starts in a different type of cell found in the ovaries.

  • Epithelial tumours start in epithelial cells. Cancerous tumours that start from epithelial cells are called epithelial ovarian carcinomas. Serous carcinoma is the most common type of epithelial ovarian carcinoma.
  • Stromal tumours start from stromal cells. Granulosa cell tumours are the most common type of stromal tumour.
  • Germ cell tumours are cancerous tumours that start in germ cells. These tumours are rare. Examples of germ cell tumours include dysgerminoma and yolk sac tumour.

 

Another rare type of ovarian cancer that can also develop is called extra-ovarian primary peritoneal carcinoma. These tumours can develop in the peritoneum, which is the membrane that lines the walls of the abdomen and pelvis. It is similar to epithelial ovarian carcinoma, but there is very little or no cancer in the ovary and it isn’t clear where the cancer started.

 

Diagram of the female reproductive system

 

We’re here to help. Tell us what you’re looking for, and an information specialist will email or call you.

500

Name:

Email address:

Phone number:

Postal code:

We can give information about cancer care and support services in Canada only. To find a cancer organization in your country, visit Union for International Cancer Control or International Cancer Information Service Group.

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de l’ovaire

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer de l'ovaire?

Le cancer de l’ovaire est une tumeur maligne qui prend naissance dans les cellules de l’ovaire. Le mot « maligne » signifie que les cellules peuvent se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Les ovaires font partie de l’appareil reproducteur féminin. Ce sont 2 petits organes ovales situés de chaque côté de l’utérus, ou matrice, près de l’extrémité des trompes de Fallope. Les ovaires fabriquent et libèrent des œufs (ovules). Ils produisent également des hormones femelles, soit les œstrogènes et la progestérone.

Les ovaires se composent de différents types de cellules. Des cellules épithéliales qui forment la couche externe de l’ovaire appelée épithélium. Des cellules stromales formant le tissu conjonctif qui maintient les composantes de l’ovaire ensemble. Des cellules germinales, soit les ovules chez la femme, qui sont les cellules reproductrices.

Les cellules de l’ovaire subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des affections non cancéreuses, ou bénignes, comme des kystes. Ils peuvent aussi entraîner la formation de tumeurs non cancéreuses. Des modifications dans les cellules épithéliales, par exemple, peuvent causer un adénome séreux ou un adénome mucineux, qui sont des tumeurs bénignes. Des cellules stromales modifiées peuvent à leur tour mener à des tumeurs non cancéreuses, comme le thécome ou le fibrome. Enfin, des changements dans les cellules germinales peuvent engendrer des tumeurs germinales non cancéreuses.

Des modifications dans les cellules épithéliales de l’un ou des deux ovaires causent parfois des tumeurs à la limite de la malignité. Cela veut dire que les tumeurs ressemblent à des tumeurs cancéreuses, mais qu’elles ne se sont pas propagées aux tissus voisins. Les tumeurs mucineuses ou les tumeurs séreuses en sont des exemples.

Dans certains cas, les cellules ovariennes modifiées peuvent se transformer en cancer de l’ovaire. Il existe 3 principaux types de cancers de l’ovaire, chacun d’eux prenant naissance dans un type de cellule différent de l’ovaire.

  • Les tumeurs épithéliales qui apparaissent dans les cellules épithéliales sont appelées carcinomes épithéliaux de l’ovaire. Le carcinome séreux est le type le plus courant de carcinome épithélial de l’ovaire.
  • Les tumeurs stromales se développent dans les cellules stromales. Les tumeurs de la granulosa sont le type le plus courant de tumeur stromale.
  • Les tumeurs germinales sont des tumeurs cancéreuses rares qui se forment dans les cellules germinales. Le dysgerminome et la tumeur vitelline en sont des exemples.

Un autre type rare de cancer de l’ovaire qui peut aussi se manifester est le carcinome péritonéal primitif extra-ovarien. Cette tumeur peut se développer dans le péritoine, la membrane qui tapisse les parois de l’abdomen et du bassin. Il ressemble au carcinome épithélial de l’ovaire, sauf qu’il y a très peu ou pas du tout de cancer dans l’ovaire et on ne sait pas vraiment où le cancer a pris naissance.

Schéma de l'appareil reproducteur féminin

Histoires

Dr Barbara Triggs Raine Des rongeurs qui nous fournissent des armes contre le cancer

Plus de details

Défense des intérêts des personnes atteintes de cancer

Illustration d’un mégaphone

Nos employés et bénévoles rencontrent les élus des divers paliers de gouvernement (municipal, provincial et fédéral) pour les convaincre de faire de la lutte contre le cancer une de leurs priorités.

Apprenez-en plus