Ovarian cancer

You are here: 

What is ovarian cancer?

Ovarian cancer starts in the cells of the ovary. A cancerous (malignant) tumour is a group of cells that can grow into and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body. Cancerous ovarian tumours are grouped by the type of cells that the cancer starts in.

Epithelial ovarian carcinoma starts in epithelial cells. It is the most common type of ovarian cancer. Serous carcinoma is the most common type of epithelial ovarian carcinoma.

Many serous ovarian carcinomas are now thought to come from cells from the nearby fallopian tube that have implanted on the surface of the ovary.

Tumours of borderline malignancy also start in the epithelial cells. They share some, but not all features of carcinomas under the microscope. They do not usually spread into nearby tissues or other parts of the body. Examples of tumours of borderline malignancy are serous tumours and mucinous tumours.

Stromal tumours start from stromal cells. Granulosa cell tumours are the most common type of stromal tumour that can be malignant.

Germ cell tumours start in germ cells. Mature cystic teratoma (dermoid cyst) is the most common type of ovarian tumour overall. It is usually non-cancerous. The most common type of cancerous germ cell tumour is dysgerminoma.

Primary peritoneal serous carcinoma can develop in the peritoneum, which is the membrane that lines the walls of the abdomen and pelvis. It is similar to epithelial ovarian cancer, but there is very little or no cancer in the ovary and it isn’t clear where the cancer started.

Changes to cells in the ovary don’t always lead to cancer. Changes to the cells may lead to non-cancerous conditions such as cysts. They can also lead to non-cancerous tumours such as an adenofibroma.

The ovaries

The ovaries are the organs in a woman’s reproductive system that produce eggs (ova). There are 2 of them, and they are deep in a woman’s pelvis, on both sides of the uterus (womb), close to the ends of the fallopian tubes.

Diagram of the female reproductive system

Structure

The ovaries are made up of 3 different types of cells:

Epithelial cells make up the outer layer covering the ovary (called the epithelium).

Germ cells are inside the ovary. They develop into eggs.

Stromal cells form the supportive or connective tissues of the ovary (called the stroma).

A thin layer of tissue called the capsule surrounds each ovary.

Digaram of the cross-section of the ovary

Function

The ovaries have 2 main functions. They make the female sex hormones and they produce mature eggs.

The female sex hormones are estrogen and progesterone. The ovaries are the main source of these hormones.

 

Estrogen is the main female sex hormone. It is responsible for the development of a woman’s breasts, body shape and reproductive organs.

Progesterone prepares the body for conception by causing the buildup of the uterine lining (endometrium) and regulates menstruation and pregnancy.

Each month during ovulation, an ovary releases a mature egg. The egg travels down the fallopian tube to the uterus. If it is fertilized by a sperm, the egg attaches itself (implants) to the lining of the uterus and begins to develop into a fetus. If the egg is not fertilized, it is shed from the body along with the lining of the uterus during menstruation.

During menopause, the ovaries stop releasing eggs and producing sex hormones.

epithelial cell

A specialized cell that makes up the epithelium (a layer of cells that makes up the surface of the skin, and lines cavities, glands and passages in the body). Some epithelial cells make mucus, hormones or other secretions.

The 4 types of epithelial cells are squamous cells, columnar cells, cuboidal cells and transitional cells.

Stories

Marie Whitehead Catch the cancer early. That’s the number one thing. It could save your life.

Read Marie's story

Investing to reduce cancer burden

Icon - piggy bank

Last year CCS funded $40 million in cancer research, thanks to our donors. Discover how you can help reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Cancer de l’ovaire

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer de l’ovaire?

Le cancer de l’ovaire prend naissance dans les cellules de l’ovaire. Une tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) est un amas de cellules qui peut envahir et détruire les tissus qui l’entourent. Elle peut aussi se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps. On classe les tumeurs cancéreuses de l’ovaire selon le type de cellules dans lequel le cancer apparaît.

Le carcinome épithélial de l’ovaire prend naissance dans les cellules épithéliales. C’est le type de cancer de l’ovaire le plus courant. Le carcinome séreux est le type le plus fréquent de carcinome épithélial de l’ovaire.

On croit maintenant que de nombreux carcinomes séreux de l’ovaire sont issus de cellules de la trompe de Fallope voisine qui se sont fixées sur la surface de l’ovaire atteint.

Les tumeurs à la limite de la malignité apparaissent aussi dans les cellules épithéliales. Lorsqu’on les observe au microscope, elles possèdent certaines caractéristiques du carcinome, mais pas toutes. Elles ne se propagent habituellement pas aux tissus voisins ni à d’autres parties du corps. Parmi les tumeurs à la limite de la malignité, on compte les tumeurs séreuses et les tumeurs mucineuses.

Les tumeurs stromales prennent naissance dans les cellules stromales. Parmi les tumeurs stromales pouvant être malignes, les tumeurs de la granulosa représentent le type le plus courant.

Les tumeurs germinales apparaissent dans les cellules germinales. Parmi toutes les tumeurs de l’ovaire, le tératome cystique mature (kyste dermoïde) est le type le plus fréquent. En général, il n’est pas cancéreux. Le type de tumeur germinale cancéreuse le plus courant est le dysgerminome.

Le carcinome séreux péritonéal primitif peut se manifester dans le péritoine, la membrane qui tapisse les parois de l’abdomen et du bassin. Il est semblable au cancer épithélial de l’ovaire, mais on trouve très peu ou pas de cancer dans l’ovaire et on ne sait pas avec certitude où le cancer a pris naissance.

Les changements pouvant survenir dans les cellules de l’ovaire n’engendrent pas toujours un cancer. Ils peuvent provoquer des affections non cancéreuses comme des kystes ou des tumeurs non cancéreuses comme l’adénofibrome.

Les ovaires

Les ovaires sont les organes de l’appareil reproducteur féminin qui produisent les ovules. On en compte deux, enfouis profondément dans le bassin de la femme, de chaque côté de l’utérus, près de l’extrémité des trompes de Fallope.

Schéma de l’appareil reproducteur féminin

Structure

Les ovaires sont composés de trois différents types de cellules :

Les cellules épithéliales forment la couche externe (appelée épithélium) qui recouvre l’ovaire.

Les cellules germinales se trouvent à l’intérieur de l’ovaire et elles se transforment en ovules.

Les cellules stromales constituent le tissu conjonctif (appelé stroma) qui soutient l’ovaire.

Chaque ovaire est entouré d’une mince couche de tissu appelée capsule.

Schéma d’une coupe transversale d’un ovaire

Fonction

Les ovaires ont deux principales fonctions. Ils synthétisent les hormones sexuelles femelles et produisent des ovules matures.

Les hormones sexuelles femelles sont l’œstrogène et la progestérone. Les ovaires en sont la source la plus importante.

 

L’œstrogène est la principale hormone sexuelle femelle. Celle-ci est responsable de la croissance des seins et des organes reproducteurs des femmes de même que de la forme de leur corps.

La progestérone prépare le corps à la conception en provoquant l’épaississement du revêtement de l’utérus (appelé endomètre). Elle régule aussi les menstruations et la grossesse.

Chaque mois, lors de l’ovulation, un ovaire libère un ovule mature. Celui-ci emprunte ensuite une trompe de Fallope pour se rendre à l’utérus. Si l’ovule est fécondé par un spermatozoïde, il se fixe au revêtement de l’utérus (implantation) et commence à se développer pour former un fœtus. S’il n’est pas fécondé, il est expulsé du corps avec le revêtement de l’utérus (menstruations).

À la ménopause, les ovaires cessent de libérer des ovules et de produire des hormones sexuelles.

cellule épithéliale

Cellules spécialisées qui composent l’épithélium (couche de cellules formant la surface de la peau et tapissant des cavités, des glandes et des voies de passage). Certaines cellules épithéliales produisent du mucus, des hormones ou d'autres sécrétions.

Les 4 types de cellules épithéliales sont les cellules squameuses, les cellules cylindriques, les cellules cubiques et les cellules transitionnelles.

Histoires

Paul Newcombe Être bénévole durant le Mois de la jonquille est une expérience incroyablement gratifiante, qu’on ait été touché ou non par le cancer.

Lisez l’histoire de Paul

D’immenses progrès ont été accomplis

Icône – flèche

Pour certains cancers, comme ceux de la thyroïde et du testicule, les taux de survie dépassent 90 pour cent. Pour d’autres cancers, comme ceux du pancréas, du cerveau et de l’œsophage, les taux de survie demeurent très bas.

Apprenez-en plus