Canadian Cancer Society logo

Nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer

You are here: 

If nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer spreads

Cancer cells can spread from the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses to other parts of the body. This spread is called metastasis.

Understanding how a type of cancer usually grows and spreads helps your healthcare team plan your treatment and future care. Doctors describe the spread of cancer in the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses based on the structures the tumour grows into and how or where the cancer spreads.

Local spread

Local spread is when cancer that started in one part of the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses grows into other parts of these structures. Local spread also includes cancer in the following nearby structures and tissues:

  • bones of the skull around the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses, including the maxilla, ethmoid, sphenoid, orbit (the group of bones making up the eye socket), base of the skull (part of the skull where the brain sits), hard palate and cheek bone (zygomatic bone)
  • soft tissues of the nose and face
  • cranial nerves
  • the nasopharynxnasopharynxThe upper part of the pharynx (throat) behind the nose and above the soft palate (the back, soft part of the roof of the mouth).
  • the outermost layer of the meningesmeningesThe membranes that cover and protect the brain and spinal cord. (called the dura mater)
  • the skin of the cheek
  • an eye
  • the brain

Lymphatic spread

Lymphatic spread is when cancer that started in the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses spreads to lymph nodes in the head and neck (called cervical lymph nodes). Cancer that spreads to these lymph nodes from the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses generally follows a predictable path. Cancer may spread to lymph nodes on the same side of the neck as the tumour, on the opposite side of the neck or on both sides of the neck.

Distant spread

Distant spread, or metastases, is uncommon with cancer that starts in the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses. It may occur when advanced tumours have spread to the lymph nodes. The chance of developing distant metastases increases with the number of lymph nodes that have cancer.

The most common distant sites where cancer that started in the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses spreads are the:

  • lungs (the most common place where this type of cancer spreads)
  • liver
  • the spine

Stories

Steve Manske Helping young people improve their health

Read more

A home away from home

Illustration of house

For cancer patients who must travel a great distance to get to treatment, Canadian Cancer Society lodges offer a welcoming place to stay.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Vous êtes ici:

Si le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux se propage

Des cellules cancéreuses peuvent se propager des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux à d’autres parties du corps. Cette propagation porte le nom de métastase.

Comprendre comment un type de cancer a l’habitude de croître et de se propager aide votre équipe de soins à planifier votre traitement et vos soins futurs. Pour décrire l’étendue du cancer dans les fosses nasales ou les sinus paranasaux, les médecins se fondent sur les structures qui ont été envahies par la tumeur ainsi que sur les emplacements où le cancer s’est propagé ou sur la façon par laquelle cette propagation s’est faite.

Envahissement local

On parle d’envahissement local lorsqu’un cancer qui a pris naissance dans une partie d’une fosse nasale ou d’un sinus paranasal envahit d’autres parties de ces structures. L’envahissement local décrit aussi la présence de cancer dans les structures et tissus voisins suivants :

  • os du crâne situés autour des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux, dont le maxillaire, l’os ethmoïde, l’os sphénoïde, les os de l’orbite, les os de la base du crâne (partie du crâne sur laquelle l’encéphale repose), les os du palais dur et l’os zygomatique
  • tissus mous du nez et de la face
  • nerfs crâniens
  • nasopharynxnasopharynxPartie supérieure du pharynx (gorge) située derrière le nez et au-dessus du palais mou (la partie arrière et molle du plafond de la bouche).
  • couche externe des méningesméningesChacune des membranes qui recouvrent et protègent l’encéphale et la moelle épinière. (appelée dure-mère)
  • peau de la joue
  • œil
  • cerveau

Dissémination lymphatique

On parle de dissémination lymphatique lorsqu’un cancer qui a pris naissance dans les fosses nasales ou les sinus paranasaux se propage aux ganglions lymphatiques de la tête et du cou (appelés ganglions lymphatiques cervicaux). Lorsque cela arrive, la dissémination du cancer suit généralement un trajet prévisible. Le cancer peut se propager aux ganglions lymphatiques situés du même côté du cou que la tumeur, du côté opposé ou les deux.

Propagation à distance

La propagation à distance (métastase) est rare dans le cas d’un cancer qui a pris naissance dans les fosses nasales ou les sinus paranasaux. Elle peut se produire quand une tumeur de stade avancé s’est propagée aux ganglions lymphatiques. Le risque d’avoir des métastases à distance augmente en fonction du nombre de ganglions atteints.

Les sites de métastases à distance les plus fréquents lorsqu’un cancer qui a pris naissance dans les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux se propage sont :

  • les poumons (site où ce type de cancer se propage le plus souvent)
  • le foie
  • la colonne vertébrale

Histoires

Marj and Chloe Poirier Si la Société n’avait pas été là, je ne sais pas comment nous aurions pu nous organiser.

Lisez l’histoire de Chloe

Création d’une stratégie nationale pour les proches aidants

Illustration d’aidants

La Société canadienne du cancer fait pression auprès du gouvernement fédéral afin qu’il adopte une stratégie nationale pour les aidants, de telle sorte que cet important groupe de personnes bénéficie d’un meilleur soutien financier.

Apprenez-en plus