Multiple myeloma

You are here: 

Consolidation therapy for multiple myeloma

Consolidation therapy for multiple myeloma is given after a stem cell transplant. It’s a short course of chemotherapy that helps make the previous chemotherapy treatment and stem cell transplant work better. Consolidation therapy also helps to keep the multiple myeloma in remission for longer.

Consolidation therapy for people with multiple myeloma who have had a stem cell transplant is most often the VRD regimen. The VRD regimen uses bortezomib (Velcade), lenalidomide (Revlimid) and dexamethasone (Decadron, Dexasone).

Stories

Dr Shawn Li I’m extremely grateful to the Canadian Cancer Society for funding my research with an Innovation Grant.

Read more

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Myélome multiple

Vous êtes ici:

Traitement de consolidation du myélome multiple

On administre un traitement de consolidation pour le myélome multiple après une greffe de cellules souches. Le traitement de consolidation est une chimiothérapie de courte durée qui aide la chimiothérapie antérieure et la greffe de cellules souches à être plus efficaces. Le traitement de consolidation aide aussi à maintenir la rémission du myélome multiple plus longtemps.

Chez les personnes atteintes d’un myélome multiple qui ont reçu une greffe de cellules souches, le traitement de consolidation consiste le plus souvent à administrer le protocole VRD. Le protocole VRD comporte l’administration de bortézomib (Velcade), de lénalidomide (Revlimid) et de dexaméthasone (Decadron, Dexasone).

Histoires

Catherine Coulson Peu à peu, j’ai pris conscience que moi aussi, je pouvais faire partie des survivants.

Plus de détails

Faire face au fardeau financier du cancer

Illustration de pièces de monnaie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit de précieux renseignements sur les programmes gouvernementaux en matière de revenu, l’aide financière et les autres ressources à la disposition des familles qui essaient de boucler leur budget en cette période difficile.

Apprenez-en plus