Mesothelioma

You are here: 

What is mesothelioma?

Mesothelioma starts in cells of the mesothelium. A cancerous (malignant) tumour is a group of cancer cells that can grow into and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

The mesothelium is a membrane that covers and protects most of your internal organs. It is made up of 2 layers. The inner layer wraps around different organs, including the lungs, heart and stomach. The outer layer forms a sac around the inner layer. There is a small amount of fluid between the 2 layers so that the organs can move easily.

The mesothelium has different names, depending on where it is in the body. The mesothelium that protects and cushions the lungs is called the pleura. The inner layer that covers the lungs is called the visceral pleura. The outer layer that lines the inside wall of the chest is called the parietal pleura.

Diagram of the pleura of the lungs

The mesothelium that covers the abdominal organs and lines the walls of the abdomen and pelvis is called the peritoneum. The inner layer is called the visceral peritoneum. It covers and supports most of the internal abdominal organs. The outer layer is called the parietal peritoneum. It lines the walls of the abdomen and pelvis.

Diagram of the peritoneum

The mesothelium is made up of mesothelial cells. These cells sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous (benign) tumours, such as fibrous tumour of the pleura and multicystic mesothelioma. But in some cases, changes to the mesothelial cells can cause malignant mesothelioma.

Mesothelioma is a very rare type of cancer. It usually starts in the pleura, which is called pleural mesothelioma. This type of cancer makes up 70% to 80% of all mesotheliomas. Cancer can also start in the peritoneum, which is called peritoneal mesothelioma. This type of cancer makes up about 25% of all mesotheliomas.

Rarer types of mesothelioma can also develop. This includes pericardial mesothelioma, which starts in the membrane that surrounds the heart. Another rare type is mesothelioma of the tunica vaginalis testis, which starts in the outer lining of the testicle.

Stories

Paul Newcombe Volunteering during Daffodil Month is an incredibly rewarding experience, whether you have been touched by cancer or not.

Read Paul's story

Investing to reduce cancer burden

Icon - piggy bank

Last year CCS funded $40 million in cancer research, thanks to our donors. Discover how you can help reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Mésothéliome

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le mésothéliome?

Le mésothéliome prend naissance dans les cellules du mésothélium. Une tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) est un amas de cellules cancéreuses qui peut envahir et détruire les tissus qui l’entourent. Elle peut aussi se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Le mésothélium est une membrane qui recouvre et protège la plupart des organes internes. Il est formé de 2 couches. La couche interne enveloppe différents organes, dont les poumons, le cœur et l’estomac. La couche externe forme un sac qui entoure la couche interne. Il y a un peu de liquide entre les 2 couches, ce qui facilite le mouvement des organes.

Le mésothélium porte différents noms selon l’endroit du corps où il se situe. Le mésothélium qui forme un coussin protecteur autour des poumons s’appelle la plèvre. La couche interne, qui couvre les poumons, est appelée plèvre viscérale. La couche externe, qui tapisse la paroi intérieure du thorax, est appelée plèvre pariétale.

Schéma de la plèvre des poumons

Le mésothélium qui recouvre les organes abdominaux et qui tapisse les parois de l’abdomen et du bassin s’appelle le péritoine. La couche interne, qui enveloppe et soutient la plupart des organes abdominaux internes, porte le nom de péritoine viscéral. La couche externe, qui tapisse les parois de l’abdomen et du bassin, porte le nom de péritoine pariétal.

Schéma du péritoine

Le mésothélium est formé de cellules mésothéliales. Ces cellules subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent entraîner la formation de tumeurs non cancéreuses (bénignes), comme la tumeur fibreuse de la plèvre et le mésothéliome multikystique. Cependant, dans certains cas, les modifications dans les cellules mésothéliales peuvent engendrer un mésothéliome malin.

Le mésothéliome est un type de cancer très rare. Il apparaît habituellement dans la plèvre. Dans ce cas, il porte le nom de mésothéliome pleural. Ce type de cancer représente de 70 à 80 % de tous les cas de mésothéliome. Le mésothéliome peut aussi prendre naissance dans le péritoine; il est alors appelé mésothéliome péritonéal. Ce type de cancer représente environ 25 % de tous les cas de mésothéliome.

Des types rares de mésothéliome peuvent aussi se manifester. L’un d’eux est le mésothéliome péricardique, qui survient dans la membrane entourant le cœur (péricarde). Un autre type rare est le mésothéliome de la tunique vaginale, qui apparaît dans le revêtement externe des testicules.

Histoires

Le Dr Réjean Lapointe, chercheur Le Dr Réjean Lapointe est en train de concevoir un gel qui permet d’améliorer l’immunothérapie.

Plus de details

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus