Canadian Cancer Society logo

Mesothelioma

You are here: 

What is mesothelioma?

Mesothelioma is a cancerous or malignant tumour that starts in cells of the mesothelium. Malignant means that it can spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body.

The mesothelium is a membrane that covers and protects most of your internal organs. It is made up of 2 layers. The inner layer wraps around different organs, including the lungs, heart and stomach. The outer layer forms a sac around the inner layer. There is a small amount of fluid between the 2 layers so that the organs can move easily.

The mesothelium has different names, depending on where it is in the body. The mesothelium that protects and cushions the lungs is called the pleura. The inner layer that covers the lungs is called the visceral pleura. The outer layer that lines the inside wall of the chest is called the parietal pleura.

Diagram of the location of the lungs

The mesothelium that covers the abdominal organs and lines the walls of the abdomen and pelvis is called the peritoneum. The inner layer is called the visceral peritoneum. It covers and supports most of the internal abdominal organs. The outer layer is called the parietal peritoneum. It lines the wall of the abdomen and pelvis.

Diagram of side view of abdominal and pelvic cavities

The mesothelium is made up of mesothelial cells. These cells sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous, or benign, tumours such as fibrous tumour of the pleura and multicystic mesothelioma. But in some cases, changes to the mesothelial cells can cause malignant mesothelioma.

Mesothelioma is a very rare type of cancer. It most often develops in the pleura, which is called pleural mesothelioma. This type of cancer makes up 70%–80% of all mesotheliomas. Cancer can also start in the peritoneum, which is called peritoneal mesothelioma. This type of cancer makes up about 25% of all mesotheliomas.

Rarer types of mesothelioma can also develop. These include pericardial mesothelioma, which starts in the membrane that surrounds the heart. Another rare type is mesothelioma of the tunica vaginalis testis, which starts in the outer lining of the testicle.

Stories

Mary Antonenko We all need our own personal support system, but no matter how good your own personal support system is, it’s not the same as connecting with other survivors.

Read Mary's story

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Mésothéliome

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le mésothéliome?

Le mésothéliome est une tumeur cancéreuse ou maligne qui prend naissance dans les cellules du mésothélium. Le mot « maligne » signifie que la tumeur peut se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Le mésothélium est une membrane qui couvre et protège la plupart de vos organes internes. Il est formé de 2 couches. La couche interne enveloppe les différents organes, dont les poumons, le cœur et l’estomac. La couche externe forme un genre de sac qui entoure la couche interne. Il y a une petite quantité de liquide entre les 2 couches, ce qui facilite le mouvement des organes.

Le mésothélium porte différents noms selon l’endroit du corps où il se situe. Le mésothélium qui forme un coussin protecteur autour des poumons s’appelle la plèvre. La couche interne, qui couvre les poumons, est appelée plèvre viscérale. La couche externe, qui tapisse la paroi intérieure du thorax, est appelée plèvre pariétale.

Schéma du thorax

Le mésothélium qui recouvre les organes abdominaux et tapisse les parois de l’abdomen et du bassin s’appelle le péritoine. La couche interne, qui enveloppe et soutient la plupart des organes abdominaux internes, porte le nom de péritoine viscéral. La couche externe, qui borde la paroi de l’abdomen et du bassin, porte le nom de péritoine pariétal.

Schéma d'une vue de côté des cavités abdominale et pelvienne

Le mésothélium est formé de cellules mésothéliales. Ces cellules subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent entraîner la formation de tumeurs non cancéreuses, ou bénignes, comme la tumeur fibreuse de la plèvre et le mésothéliome multikystique. Mais dans certains cas, des modifications dans les cellules mésothéliales peuvent engendrer un mésothéliome malin.

Le mésothéliome est un type très rare de cancer. Il se développe le plus souvent dans la plèvre et porte le nom de mésothéliome pleural. Ce type de cancer représente de 70 à 80 % de tous les mésothéliomes. Le cancer peut aussi se former dans le péritoine; il est  alors appelé mésothéliome péritonéal. Cette forme de cancer représente environ 25 % de tous les mésothéliomes.

Des types rares de mésothéliomes peuvent aussi se manifester. Ils comprennent entre autres le mésothéliome du péricarde, qui prend naissance dans la membrane entourant le cœur. Le mésothéliome de la tunique vaginale, qui se développe dans le revêtement externe du testicule, en est un autre exemple.

Histoires

Dre Christine Friedenreich Prévenir le cancer par l’activité physique

Plus de details

Devenez bénévole pour le Mois de la jonquille

une épinglette jonquille

Nous avons grandement besoin de bénévoles en avril. En donnant quelques heures de votre temps durant le Mois de la jonquille, vous aidez à sauver des vies et à soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer.

Apprenez-en plus