Lung cancer

You are here: 

Radiation therapy for non–small cell lung cancer

Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. Most people with non–small cell lung cancer have radiation therapy. Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the type and amount of radiation, and when and how it is given. You may also receive other treatments.

Radiation therapy is usually combined with chemotherapy to treat non–small cell lung cancer. This is called chemoradiation. The 2 treatments are given during the same time period.

Radiation therapy is given for different reasons. You may have chemoradiation or radiation therapy:

  • as the main treatment for non–small cell lung cancer that can’t be removed with surgery, or if you don’t want to have surgery
  • after surgery to lower the risk of the cancer coming back (recurring) (called adjuvant therapy)
  • to relieve pain or control the symptoms of advanced non–small cell lung cancer (called palliative therapy)

People with stage 1 or 2 non–small cell lung cancer that has been completely removed with surgery are not offered radiation therapy after surgery. This is because research has shown that it reduces survival instead of improving it.

The following types of radiation therapy are most commonly used to treat non–small cell lung cancer.

External beam radiation therapy

During external beam radiation therapy, a machine directs radiation through the skin to the tumour and some of the tissue around it. Modern radiation techniques have improved how well radiation therapy works as a treatment for non–small cell lung cancer.

Before radiation therapy is started, your treatment is planned carefully. The radiation healthcare team measures how your lungs move when you breathe and maps the shape of your internal organs. This helps the radiation team to plan the best way of giving you external beam radiation therapy. The goal is to aim the radiation at the tumour while lowering the amount of radiation to surrounding tissue.

External beam radiation therapy is usually given 5 days a week, for 5 to 7 weeks. If it is being used as palliative radiation therapy, it may not be given for as long.

There are several different ways to give external beam radiation therapy for non–small cell lung cancer.

3-D conformal radiation therapy (3-D CRT)

The most common form of external beam radiation therapy is 3-D CRT. A CT scan is used to guide the radiation beams to the tumour. The radiation beams are aimed from several different directions at the tumour. The radiation beams are all the same strength.

Intensity-modulated radiation therapy (IMRT)

IMRT is a much more targeted way of giving radiation therapy than 3-D CRT. The radiation beams are given in small beams that are shaped by a machine called a multi-leaf collimator. The strength of the beams is different across the treatment area so the tumour gets the most radiation and nearby tissue gets less. IMRT is often used if the treatment area includes important areas of the body such as the spinal cord.

Stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT)

SBRT is a way of giving radiation therapy from several different positions around the body. A CT scan is used to place tiny gold seeds or coils (called fiducials) into the tumour. These seeds are used as a guide to direct the radiation therapy to the tumour. The directed radiation beams all meet at a point in the tumour. This is a very accurate way of giving radiation because the tumour gets a high dose of radiation while the surrounding tissue gets lower doses. SBRT is sometimes called stereotactic ablative radiotherapy (SABR).

SBRT for non–small cell lung cancer is given over 7 to 10 days, which is much shorter than other ways of giving radiation therapy.

SBRT may be offered to people with lung cancer that hasn’t spread outside of the lung, when surgery can’t be done because of a person’s health, or to people who don’t want to have surgery.

Hypofractionated radiation therapy

With hypofractionated radiation therapy, fewer radiation treatments are given. This is done by giving either a short course of daily treatments or by giving fewer large doses (sometimes just a single treatment).

Hypofractionated radiation therapy may be offered to people with non–small cell lung cancer who are not able to have the high doses of radiation given during SBRT.

Brachytherapy

Brachytherapy is internal radiation therapy. It uses a radioactive material called a radioactive isotope. It is placed right into the tumour or very close to it. Radioactive materials can also be placed in the area from where the tumour was removed. The radiation kills the cancer cells over time.

Brachytherapy may be used to treat a non–small cell lung cancer tumour that is blocking the large airways of the lung. The doctor places the radioactive isotope into the airways during a bronchoscopy (endobronchial radiation therapy).

Brachytherapy may be used as a primary treatment for people who cannot have external beam radiation therapy because of poor lung function.

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for non–small cell lung cancer, but everyone’s experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have few or none at all.

During radiation therapy, the healthcare team protects healthy cells in the treatment area as much as possible. But damage to healthy cells can happen and may cause side effects. If you develop side effects, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after radiation therapy. Sometimes late side effects develop months or years after radiation therapy. Most side effects go away on their own or can be treated, but some side effects may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of radiation therapy will depend mainly on the size of the area being treated, the specific area or organs being treated, the total dose of radiation, the treatment schedule and whether or not radiation therapy is being given with chemotherapy. Some common side effects of radiation therapy used for non–small cell lung cancer are:

Tell your healthcare team if you have these side effects or others you think might be from radiation therapy. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

Questions to ask about radiation therapy

Find out more about radiation therapy and side effects of radiation therapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about radiation therapy.

Stories

Morgan Smith Even though we are high school students, we were able to raise so much money for the Canadian Cancer Society. It just goes to show what can happen when a small group of people come together for a great cause.

Read Morgan's story

Cancer affects all Canadians

Icon - 1 in 2

Nearly 1 in 2 Canadians is expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Cancer du poumon

Vous êtes ici:

Radiothérapie pour le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules

En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. La plupart des personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules reçoivent une radiothérapie. Votre équipe de soins prendra en considération vos besoins personnels pour choisir le type de radiothérapie, la dose à administrer, la façon de le faire et l’horaire à suivre. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir d’autres traitements.

On associe habituellement la radiothérapie à la chimiothérapie pour traiter le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules. C’est ce qu’on appelle une chimioradiothérapie. On administre ces 2 traitements pendant la même période.

On administre la radiothérapie pour différentes raisons. Vous pouvez recevoir une chimioradiothérapie ou une radiothérapie :

  • comme traitement principal du cancer du poumon non à petites cellules qu’on ne peut pas enlever par chirurgie ou si vous ne voulez pas de chirurgie;
  • après la chirurgie, afin de réduire le risque de réapparition (récidive) du cancer (traitement adjuvant);
  • pour soulager la douleur ou contrôler les symptômes d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules qui est avancé (traitement palliatif).

On ne propose pas de radiothérapie après une chirurgie d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 1 ou 2 qu’on a enlevé complètement puisque la recherche a démontré que cela réduit la survie plutôt que l’allonger.

On a le plus souvent recours aux types suivants de radiothérapie pour traiter le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules.

Radiothérapie externe

Lors de la radiothérapie externe, un appareil émet des radiations à travers la peau jusqu’à la tumeur et une partie du tissu qui l’entoure. Les techniques de radiothérapie modernes ont permis d’améliorer l’efficacité de la radiothérapie comme traitement du cancer du poumon non à petites cellules.

Avant qu’on commence à vous administrer la radiothérapie, votre traitement sera soigneusement planifié. L’équipe de radiothérapie évalue comment vos poumons bougent quand vous respirez et elle cartographie la forme de vos organes internes. Cela aide à planifier la meilleure façon de vous administrer la radiothérapie externe. Le but est de diriger la radiation vers la tumeur tout en diminuant la quantité émise vers le tissu voisin.

On administre habituellement la radiothérapie externe 5 jours par semaine, pendant 5 à 7 semaines. Si la radiothérapie est palliative, elle pourrait ne pas durer aussi longtemps.

On peut administrer la radiothérapie externe de plusieurs façons différentes pour traiter le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules.

Radiothérapie conformationnelle tridimensionnelle (RC 3D)

La forme la plus courante de radiothérapie externe est la radiothérapie conformationnelle tridimensionnelle (RC 3D). On a recours à la tomodensitométrie pour diriger les faisceaux de radiation vers la tumeur. Les faisceaux proviennent de plusieurs directions différentes et ils ont tous la même intensité.

Radiothérapie conformationnelle avec modulation d'intensité (RCMI)

La RCMI permet d’administrer la radiation d’une façon beaucoup plus ciblée que la RC 3D. Les faisceaux de radiation sont petits et sont modelés par un appareil appelé collimateur multilames. L’intensité des faisceaux diffère dans toute la zone de traitement afin que la tumeur reçoive la plus grande partie de la radiation et que le tissu voisin en reçoive moins. On a souvent recours à la RCMI quand la zone de traitement comprend d’importantes régions du corps comme la moelle épinière.

Radiothérapie stéréotaxique corporelle (RSC)

La RSC est une façon d’administrer la radiothérapie de plusieurs positions différentes autour du corps. On a recours à la tomodensitométrie pour mettre de minuscules grains ou spirales (repères) en or dans la tumeur. Ces grains servent de guide pour diriger la radiation vers la tumeur. Les faisceaux de radiation dirigés se rejoignent tous au même endroit dans la tumeur. C’est une façon très précise d’administrer la radiothérapie puisque la tumeur reçoit une forte dose de radiation alors que le tissu tout autour en reçoit une faible dose. La RSC est parfois appelée radiothérapie stéréotaxique d’ablation (SABR).

Pour le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules, on administre la RSC pendant 7 à 10 jours, ce qui est beaucoup plus court que dans le cas des autres modes d’administration de la radiothérapie.

On peut proposer la RSC aux personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon qui ne s’est pas propagé hors du poumon, si on ne peut pas pratiquer de chirurgie à cause de problèmes de santé, ou aux personnes qui ne veulent pas subir d’opération.

Radiothérapie hypofractionnée

Dans le cas de la radiothérapie hypofractionnée, on administre moins de séances de radiothérapie : soit que la série de traitements quotidiens est plus courte, soit que les doses administrées sont plus fortes et moins nombreuses (parfois seulement une seule séance).

On peut proposer la radiothérapie hypofractionnée aux personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules qui sont incapables de recevoir les fortes doses administrées par RSC.

Curiethérapie

La curiethérapie est une radiothérapie interne. On se sert d’une substance radioactive appelée radio-isotope. On la place directement dans la tumeur ou très près. On peut aussi mettre les substances radioactives dans la région où se trouvait la tumeur avant qu’on l’enlève. La radiation détruit les cellules cancéreuses au fil du temps.

On peut avoir recours à la curiethérapie pour traiter un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules qui bloque les grosses voies respiratoires du poumon. Le médecin met le radio-isotope dans les voies respiratoires lors d’une bronchoscopie (radiothérapie endobronchique).

On peut avoir recours à la curiethérapie comme traitement principal d’une personne qui ne peut pas recevoir de radiothérapie externe parce que sa fonction respiratoire est faible.

Effets secondaires

Peu importe le traitement du cancer du poumon non à petites cellules, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu ou pas du tout.

Lors des séances de radiothérapie, l’équipe de soins protège le plus possible les cellules saines qui se trouvent dans la zone de traitement. Mais il est possible que les cellules saines soient endommagées et qu’elles provoquent ainsi des effets secondaires. Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent le faire n’importe quand pendant la radiothérapie, tout de suite après ou quelques jours voire quelques semaines plus tard. Il arrive que des effets secondaires apparaissent des mois ou des années à la suite de la radiothérapie (effets tardifs). La plupart disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires de la radiothérapie dépendent surtout de la taille de la région traitée, de la région ou des organes spécifiques traités, de la dose totale, du mode d’administration et de l’association de la radiothérapie à la chimiothérapie. Voici certains effets secondaires fréquents de la radiothérapie pour le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules :

Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez ces effets secondaires ou d’autres que vous croyez liés à la radiothérapie. Plus vite vous leur mentionnez tout problème, plus rapidement ils pourront vous dire comment aider à les soulager.

Questions à poser sur la radiothérapie

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie et les effets secondaires de la radiothérapie. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur la radiothérapie à votre équipe de soins.

Histoires

Morgan Smith Même si nous sommes des élèves du secondaire, nous avons été capables de recueillir un bon montant pour la Société canadienne du cancer. Cela montre ce qu’un petit groupe de personnes est capable de faire en unissant ses efforts pour une bonne cause.

Lisez l’histoire de Morgan

Réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – main avec signe de dollar flottant au-dessus d’elle

Les Canadiens peuvent aider la SCC à financer les meilleurs projets de recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer en étant donateurs ou bénévoles.

Apprenez-en plus