Lung cancer

You are here: 

Prognosis and survival for lung cancer

If you have lung cancer, you may have questions about your prognosis. A prognosis is the doctor’s best estimate of how cancer will affect someone and how it will respond to treatment. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with your medical history, the type and stage and other features of your cancer, the treatments chosen and the response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

A prognostic factor is an aspect of the cancer or a characteristic of the person (such as their overall health) that the doctor will consider when making a prognosis. A predictive factor influences how a cancer will respond to a certain treatment. Prognostic and predictive factors are often discussed together. They both play a part in deciding on a treatment plan and a prognosis.

The following are prognostic and predictive factors for lung cancer.

Stage

The stage of lung cancer is the most important prognostic factor. Early stages of lung cancer have a better prognosis than later stages.

  • Non–small cell lung cancer stages 0 or 1 generally have a more favourable prognosis than stages 2, 3 or 4.
  • Limited stage small cell lung cancers have a much better prognosis than extensive stage cancers.

Number and type of metastases

People who have only one metastasis from lung cancer have a more favourable prognosis than those who have multiple metastatic tumours. A single metastasis to the brain may have a more favourable prognosis than multiple metastases in another part of the body.

  • Non–small cell lung cancer that has spread to the adrenal glands has a more favourable prognosis than cancer that has spread to the brain or liver.
  • Small cell lung cancer that has spread to the brain has a less favourable prognosis than cancer that has spread only to the bones or mediastinum.

Weight loss

People who have lost more than 5% of their body weight before treatment starts have a less favourable prognosis than people who haven’t lost much weight.

Performance status

Performance status measures how well a person can do their daily activities and everyday tasks. People with a higher performance status score have a better prognosis than people who have a lower performance status score.

Sex

Women with lung cancer have a slightly better prognosis than men who are diagnosed with the same cancer.

Lung problems

People who have lung problems have a less favourable prognosis. Lung problems can include the following:

  • collapsed lung
  • lung infection (pneumonia)
  • buildup of fluid around the lung (pleural effusion)

Molecular markers

During diagnosis, several tests are done on the lung cancer tissue to see if there are certain changes (mutations) to the genes of the cancer cells. These markers can predict how well a non–small cell lung cancer may respond to specific treatments.

  • Epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR)–positive tumours have too many EGFR receptors. These cancers will respond to drugs that block the receptors.
  • Anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) is a gene that is mutated in a very small number of non–small cell lung cancers. ALK-positive tumours respond to drugs that block the signals from the ALK mutation.
  • BRAF is a gene that controls cell signals and growth. BRAF V600 mutations are found in a very small number of non–small cell lung cancers. BRAF V600 positive tumours respond to drugs that stop the signals from the BRAF V600 mutation.

Karnofsky performance status scale

A standard measure of a person’s ability to perform ordinary tasks and carry out daily activities.

The Karnofsky performance status scale is used to assess a person’s prognosis, to monitor changes in a person’s ability to function or decide if a person is suitable for a clinical trial. The person’s performance status is given a score out of 100. The higher the score, the better able a person is to carry out daily activities.

Also called Karnofsky performance scale or Karnofsky scale.

Stories

Dr Mani Larijani Studying a cancer-causing protein in 3-D

Read more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Cancer du poumon

Vous êtes ici:

Pronostic et survie pour le cancer du poumon

Si vous êtes atteint d’un cancer du poumon, vous vous posez peut-être des questions sur votre pronostic. Un pronostic est l’acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera une personne et comment il réagira au traitement. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien vos antécédents médicaux, le type de cancer dont vous êtes atteint, le stade et d’autres caractéristiques de la maladie, les traitements choisis et la réaction au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Un facteur pronostique est un aspect du cancer ou une caractéristique de la personne (comme son état de santé global) que le médecin prend en considération lorsqu'il fait un pronostic. Un facteur prédictif influence la façon dont le cancer répond à un certain traitement. On aborde souvent les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs ensemble et ils jouent tous les deux un rôle dans le choix du plan de traitement et dans l'établissement du pronostic.

Les éléments suivants sont les facteurs pronostiques ou prédictifs du cancer du poumon.

Stade

Le stade est le plus important facteur pronostique du cancer du poumon. Les stades précoces engendrent un meilleur pronostic que les stades avancés.

  • Les stades 0 et 1 du cancer du poumon non à petites cellules engendrent généralement un pronostic plus favorable que les stades 2, 3 ou 4.
  • Le cancer du poumon à petites cellules de stade limité engendre un bien meilleur pronostic qu’un cancer de stade étendu.

Nombre et types de métastases

Les personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon qui n’ont qu’une seule métastase ont un pronostic plus favorable que celles qui ont de multiples tumeurs métastatiques. Une métastase unique au cerveau peut engendrer un pronostic plus favorable que de multiples métastases dans une autre partie du corps.

  • Un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules qui s’est propagé aux glandes surrénales engendre un pronostic plus favorable qu’un cancer qui s’est propagé au cerveau ou au foie.
  • Un cancer du poumon à petites cellules qui s’est propagé au cerveau engendre un pronostic moins favorable qu’un cancer qui s’est propagé seulement aux os ou au médiastin.

Perte de poids

Une personne qui a perdu plus de 5 % de son poids corporel avant le traitement a un pronostic moins favorable qu’une personne qui n’a pas perdu beaucoup de poids.

Indice fonctionnel

L’indice fonctionnel est la mesure de la capacité d’une personne à effectuer ses activités quotidiennes et ses tâches courantes. Les personnes dont l’indice fonctionnel est élevé ont un meilleur pronostic que celle dont l’indice est faible.

Sexe

La femme atteinte d’un cancer du poumon a un pronostic un peu plus encourageant qu’un homme atteint de la même maladie.

Troubles pulmonaires

Une personne qui éprouve des troubles pulmonaires a un pronostic moins favorable. Les troubles pulmonaires peuvent être ceux-ci :

  • affaissement d’un poumon
  • infection pulmonaire (pneumonie)
  • accumulation de liquide autour du poumon (épanchement pleural)

Marqueurs moléculaires

Lors du processus diagnostique, on fait plusieurs analyses sur le tissu pulmonaire cancéreux afin de savoir si les gènes des cellules cancéreuses présentent certains changements (mutations). Ces marqueurs peuvent permettre de prévoir jusqu’à quel point un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules pourrait réagir à des traitements spécifiques.

  • La tumeur positive aux récepteurs du facteur de croissance épidermique (R-EGF) comporte trop de récepteurs R-EGF. Ce cancer réagira aux médicaments qui bloquent ces récepteurs.
  • La kinase du lymphome anaplasique (ALK) est un gène qui est muté dans un très faible nombre de cancers du poumon non à petites cellules. La tumeur ALK positive réagit aux médicaments qui bloquent les signaux transmis par la mutation ALK.

échelle de l’indice fonctionnel de Karnofsky

Mesure normalisée de la capacité d’une personne à effectuer des tâches courantes et à poursuivre ses activités quotidiennes.

L’échelle de l’indice fonctionnel de Karnofsky est utilisée pour évaluer le pronostic d’une personne, pour détecter des changements dans sa capacité de fonctionner ou pour déterminer si elle peut participer à un essai clinique. L’indice fonctionnel d’une personne est coté selon un certain nombre sur cent. Plus la cote est élevée, plus la personne est capable de mener ses activités quotidiennes.

L’échelle de l’indice fonctionnel de Karnofsky est aussi appelée échelle de l’indice de Karnofsky ou échelle de Karnofsky.

Histoires

Le Dr Stuart Peacock, chercheur, Canadian Centre for Applied Research in Cancer Control Une étude menée au Canadian Centre for Applied Research in Cancer Control a donné lieu à une nouvelle norme d’analyse pour la leucémie.

Plus de details

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus