Lung cancer

You are here: 

Cancerous tumours of the lung

A cancerous tumour of the lung can grow into and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body. Cancerous tumours are also called malignant tumours.

There are 2 different types of lung cancer.

Small cell lung cancer

Small cell lung cancer is usually found in the main airways of the lung (bronchi) in the centre of the lungs. It is called small cell because the cancer cells look small when they are examined under a microscope. Even though the cells are small, they grow and spread very quickly to other parts of the body.

The main types of small cell lung cancer are small cell carcinoma and combined small cell carcinoma (mixed tumour with squamous or glandular cells).

Small cell lung cancer is the most aggressive type of lung cancer. In many cases it has already spread to other parts of the body when it is diagnosed. Small cell lung cancer is usually found in people who have smoked.

Non–small cell lung cancer

Non–small cell lung cancer is the most common type of cancerous tumour of the lung. About 80% to 85% of lung cancers are non–small cell lung cancer. Any lung cancer that is not a small cell lung cancer is considered to be a non–small cell lung cancer.

There are many different subtypes of non–small cell lung cancer that start in the different types of cells and tissues of the lung.

Adenocarcinoma

Adenocarcinoma is the most common type of non–small cell lung cancer. It starts in the lung cells that make mucus. Adenocarcinoma tumours are often found in the outer edges of the lungs.

While adenocarcinoma is usually found in people who smoke or used to smoke, it is the most common type found in people who never smoked. It is more often found in women and younger people.

There are many different subtypes of adenocarcinoma. They are given names based on what the cells look like when viewed with a microscope, the types of patterns that the cells are in, and whether or not the cells have mucus in them. Diagnosis, staging and treatment are similar for the different types of adenocarcinoma.

  • lepidic
  • acinar
  • papillary
  • micropapillary
  • solid
  • invasive mucinous (includes mixed mucinous, non-mucinous and colloid)
  • fetal
  • enteric
  • minimally invasive (includes non-mucinous and mucinous)
  • adenocarcinoma in situ (includes non-mucinous and mucinous)

Squamous cell carcinoma

Squamous cell carcinoma is the second most common type of non–small cell lung cancer. It starts in the flat cells that line the airways of the lungs (bronchi). Tumours are often found in the main airways of the lung. Squamous cell carcinoma is most often found in people who smoke or used to smoke.

There are different subtypes of squamous cell carcinoma:

  • keratinizing
  • non-keratinizing
  • basaloid
  • squamous cell carcinoma in situ

Superior sulcus (Pancoast) tumours

A superior sulcus tumour (Pancoast tumour) is found on the rounded upper part of the lung.  The tumour is named for its location in the lung. These tumours can be squamous cell carcinoma or adenocarcinoma. Because of where the cancer is growing, it is more likely to grow into the chest wall, rather than into the lung tissues. Superior sulcus tumours can grow into nerves, ribs and the bones of the spine.  

Large cell carcinoma

Large cell carcinoma was used to describe tumours with cells that looked very large when examined under a microscope. But a recent change in the way that lung cancer tumours are described means that this term is now only used for a very small number of lung cancer tumours.

Neuroendocrine lung tumours

Neuroendocrine tumours can start in the neuroendocrine cells in the lung. These cells receive messages (signals) from the nervous system and respond by making and releasing hormones, which are substances that control many body functions. Small cell lung cancer is the most common type of neuroendocrine lung tumour, but there are other types such as typical and atypical carcinoid tumours.

Find out more about neuroendocrine tumours of the lung.

Rare types of non–small cell lung tumours

The following are rare cancerous tumours of the lung:

  • adenosquamous carcinoma
  • sarcomatoid carcinoma
  • mucoepidermoid and adenoid cystic carcinomas
  • non-Hodgkin lymphoma
  • soft tissue sarcoma

Lung metastases

Lung metastases are cancerous tumours that have spread to the lung from another part of the body. The lung is one of the most common places where other cancers spread. Almost any kind of cancer can spread to the lung.

For example, breast cancer often spreads to the lung. This is called breast cancer with lung metastases. It would be treated like breast cancer, not like a cancer that started in the lung. 

Find out more about lung metastases.

mucus

A thick, slippery fluid made by glands in the mucous membranes. Mucus protects and lubricates the lining of some organs and body cavities, including the nose, mouth, lungs, vagina and gastrointestinal (GI) tract.

Stories

Woman at market in front of CCS poster This truly is a life-saving program, and we are so grateful to Husky Energy for making it happen.

Read more

What’s the lifetime risk of getting cancer?

Icon - 1 in 2

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report shows about half of Canadians are expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Cancer du poumon

Vous êtes ici:

Tumeurs cancéreuses du poumon

Une tumeur cancéreuse du poumon peut envahir les tissus voisins et les détruire. Elle peut également se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps. Les tumeurs cancéreuses sont aussi appelées tumeurs malignes.

Il existe 2 types différents de cancer du poumon.

Cancer du poumon à petites cellules

On observe habituellement le cancer du poumon à petites cellules dans les voies respiratoires principales du poumon appelées bronches, qui se trouvent au centre de chaque poumon. On dit qu’il est à petites cellules puisque les cellules cancéreuses semblent petites quand on les examine au microscope. Même si ces cellules sont petites, elles se développent et se propagent très rapidement à d’autres parties du corps.

Les types principaux de cancer du poumon à petites cellules sont le carcinome à petites cellules et le carcinome mixte à petites cellules (tumeur mixte formée entre autres de cellules squameuses ou glandulaires).

Le cancer du poumon à petites cellules est le type le plus agressif de cancer du poumon. Dans de nombreux cas, il s’est déjà propagé à d’autres parties du corps au moment où il est diagnostiqué. On observe habituellement le cancer du poumon à petites cellules chez les personnes qui ont fumé.

Cancer du poumon non à petites cellules

Le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules est le type le plus courant de tumeur pulmonaire cancéreuse. De 80 à 85 % des cancers du poumon sont des cancers du poumon non à petites cellules. On considère que tout cancer du poumon qui n’est pas un cancer du poumon à petites cellules est un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules.

Il existe de nombreux sous-types différents de cancer du poumon non à petites cellules qui prennent naissance dans les divers types de cellules et de tissus du poumon.

Adénocarcinome

L’adénocarcinome est le type le plus courant de cancer du poumon non à petites cellules. Il prend naissance dans les cellules pulmonaires qui fabriquent le mucus. On observe souvent ce type de tumeur dans les bords externes des poumons.

Bien qu’on détecte habituellement l’adénocarcinome chez des personnes qui fument ou qui fumaient, c’est le type de cancer du poumon qui affecte le plus fréquemment les personnes qui n’ont jamais fumé. L’adénocarcinome atteint le plus souvent les femmes et les jeunes gens.

Il existe de nombreux sous-types différents d’adénocarcinome. On les nomme en fonction de l’apparence des cellules observées au microscope, des différents aspects pris par les cellules ainsi que de la présence de mucus dans les cellules. Le diagnostic, la stadification et le traitement des différents types d’adénocarcinome sont semblables :

  • lépidique
  • acineux
  • papillaire
  • micropapillaire
  • solide
  • mucineux invasif (dont le mixte mucineux, le non mucineux et le colloïde)
  • fœtal
  • entérique
  • minimalement invasif (dont le non mucineux et le mucineux)
  • in situ (dont le non mucineux et le mucineux)

Carcinome épidermoïde

Le carcinome épidermoïde est le deuxième type le plus courant de cancer du poumon non à petites cellules. Il prend naissance dans les cellules plates qui tapissent les voies respiratoires des poumons (bronches). On détecte souvent cette tumeur dans les principales voies respiratoires des poumons. Le carcinome épidermoïde affecte le plus fréquemment les personnes qui fument ou qui fumaient.

Il existe différents sous-types de carcinome épidermoïde :

  • kératinisant
  • non kératinisant
  • basaloïde
  • in situ

Tumeur de l’apex pulmonaire (tumeur de Pancoast)

On détecte la tumeur de l’apex pulmonaire (tumeur de Pancoast) dans la partie supérieure arrondie du poumon. On la nomme ainsi à cause de l’endroit où elle se trouve dans le poumon. Cette tumeur peut être un carcinome épidermoïde ou un adénocarcinome. Vu l’emplacement où elle grossit, elle est plus susceptible de se développer dans la paroi thoracique plutôt que dans les tissus du poumon. La tumeur de l’apex pulmonaire peut envahir les nerfs, les côtes et les os de la colonne vertébrale.

Carcinome à grandes cellules

Le terme carcinome à grandes cellules servait à décrire les tumeurs composées de cellules qui semblaient très grosses quand on les examinait au microscope. Mais en raison d’un changement récemment effectué à la description des tumeurs cancéreuses du poumon, ce terme n’est maintenant utilisé que pour un très petit nombre de tumeurs cancéreuses du poumon.

Tumeurs neuroendocrines du poumon

Les tumeurs neuroendocrines peuvent prendre naissance dans les cellules neuroendocrines du poumon. Ces cellules reçoivent des messages (signaux) du système nerveux et y répondent en fabriquant et en libérant des hormones, qui sont des substances contrôlant de nombreuses fonctions du corps. Le cancer du poumon à petites cellules est le type le plus courant de tumeur neuroendocrine du poumon, mais il en existe d’autres types comme la tumeur carcinoïde typique et la tumeur carcinoïde atypique.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les tumeurs neuroendocrines du poumon.

Types rares de tumeurs du poumon non à petites cellules

Les tumeurs cancéreuses du poumon qui suivent sont rares :

  • carcinome adénosquameux
  • carcinome sarcomatoïde
  • carcinome mucoépidermoïde et carcinome adénoïde kystique
  • lymphome non hodgkinien
  • sarcome des tissus mous

Métastases pulmonaires

Les métastases pulmonaires sont des tumeurs cancéreuses qui se sont propagées au poumon à partir d’une autre partie du corps. Le poumon est l’un des emplacements où les autres cancers se propagent le plus souvent. Presque tous les types de cancer peuvent se propager aux poumons.

Voici un exemple. Le cancer du sein se propage souvent aux poumons. C’est ce qu’on appelle un cancer du sein avec métastases pulmonaires. On le traite comme un cancer du sein et non comme un cancer qui a pris naissance dans un poumon.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les métastases pulmonaires.

mucus

Liquide épais et glissant fabriqué par les glandes présentes dans les muqueuses. Le mucus protège et lubrifie le revêtement de certains organes et cavités du corps, dont le nez, la bouche, les poumons, le vagin et le tube digestif.

Histoires

Dr Lillian Sung Améliorer les soins de soutien pour les enfants atteints de cancer

Plus de details

D’immenses progrès ont été accomplis

Icône – flèche

Pour certains cancers, comme ceux de la thyroïde et du testicule, les taux de survie dépassent 90 pour cent. Pour d’autres cancers, comme ceux du pancréas, du cerveau et de l’œsophage, les taux de survie demeurent très bas.

Apprenez-en plus