Canadian Cancer Society logo

Esophageal cancer

You are here: 

Precancerous conditions of the esophagus

Barrett’s esophagus is the most common precancerous condition of the esophagus. In Barrett’s esophagus, the normal cells that line the esophagus are replaced by cells that are like the lining of the intestine or stomach. The process by which the normal cells change into abnormal cells is called intestinal metaplasiametaplasiaChanges in mature, specialized cells to a form that is abnormal for that tissue. Cells look normal under a microscope, but are not the type of cell usually found in the tissue.. Intestinal metaplasia usually occurs in the lower part of the esophagus near where the esophagus joins the stomach (called the gastroesophageal, or GE, junction).

People with Barrett’s esophagus may develop dysplasia, which means that the cells are different from normal cells in size, shape and organization within tissue. Dysplasia is described by how abnormal the cells look. In mild, or low-grade, dysplasia the abnormal cells look slightly different from normal cells. In severe, or high-grade, dysplasia the cells look very abnormal.

High-grade dysplasia has the greatest chance of becoming cancer. People with high-grade dysplasia have a higher risk of developing adenocarcinoma than those with metaplasia, low-grade dysplasia or normal esophagus. About 0.5% of people with Barrett’s esophagus develop adenocarcinoma of the esophagus.

Risk factors

Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) increases your risk for developing Barrett’s esophagus. GERD is a condition in which stomach acid backs up into the esophagus. When this happens over a long period of time, it is called chronic reflux. Chronic reflux can cause changes, or metaplasia, in the lining of the esophagus. Barrett’s esophagus can also occur in people who don’t have symptoms of GERD. Most people with chronic GERD symptoms don’t develop Barrett’s esophagus.

The following risk factors can also increase your chance of developing Barrett’s esophagus:

  • obesity
  • smoking
  • alcohol

Symptoms

Not all people who have Barrett’s esophagus have symptoms. The symptoms of Barrett’s esophagus include:

  • heartburn
  • acid reflux
  • indigestion
  • nausea and vomiting
  • difficulty swallowing
  • bringing up, or regurgitating, stomach acid

Diagnosis

If you have symptoms of Barrett’s esophagus or your doctor thinks you might have Barrett’s esophagus, you will be sent for tests. Tests used to diagnose Barrett’s esophagus include:

  • upper gastrointestinal (GI) endoscopy
  • biopsy

Endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) may be done if high-grade dysplasia is found with endoscopy and biopsy. Find out more about these tests and procedures.

Treatments

Barrett’s esophagus might not need to be treated right away. Doctors may use endoscopy along with biopsy to watch how Barrett’s esophagus progresses. Treatment would start when doctors see cancerous changes in the esophagus.

Treatments for Barrett’s esophagus include the following.

Drug therapy with proton pump inhibitors and H2 blockers can be used to treat the reflux and control how much acid the stomach makes.

Endoscopic mucosal resection (EMR) may be used to treat high-grade dysplasia in the esophagus. The doctor uses an endoscope to do EMR. It removes the inner layer, or mucosa, of the esophagus that contains the abnormal areas.

Radiofrequency ablation (RFA) may be used alone to treat abnormal areas in the esophagus, or it may be used after EMR to destroy any abnormal cells left behind. RFA uses a high-frequency electrical current to destroy cancer cells. A balloon connected to the end of an endoscope is inflated beside the area of the esophagus that will be treated. A high-frequency electrical current is given through the wall of the balloon. The balloon may be moved to treat other abnormal areas of the esophagus.

Photodynamic therapy (PDT) uses a drug that makes cells sensitive to light (called a photosensitizer). The doctor gives the drug, which is taken up by cancer cells. Then the doctor uses an endoscope to expose the cells to light. PDT may be used after EMR to destroy any abnormal cells left behind.

Electrocoagulation uses an electrical current to destroy abnormal cells. It may be used to destroy areas of metaplasia and dysplasia. It is done through an endoscope.

Argon plasma coagulation uses argon gas and a high-frequency electrical current to destroy abnormal cells. It may be used to destroy areas of metaplasia and dysplasia. It is done through an endoscope.

Fundoplication involves wrapping and stitching the fundus (top of the stomach) around the lower esophagus. This surgery may be used to strengthen the lower esophageal sphincter to prevent heartburn.

Esophagectomy is surgery to remove all or part of the esophagus. It may be used to treat high-grade dysplasia in Barrett’s esophagus. It is done if there are large areas or many areas of dysplasia and you are healthy enough to have surgery.

Stories

David Rex I was staying in St. John’s all by my lonesome because my wife was too sick to travel with me. Daffodil Place was my lifeline.

Read David's story

Cancer information in over a hundred languages

Illustration of question mark

The Canadian Cancer Society’s Cancer Information Service (CIS) is Canada’s only national, bilingual, toll-free service that offers personalized comprehensive cancer information in over 100 languages.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de
l’œsophage

Vous êtes ici:

États précancéreux de l'œsophage

L'œsophage de Barrett est l’état précancéreux de l’œsophage le plus fréquent. Les cellules normales qui tapissent l'œsophage sont remplacées par des cellules qui ressemblent à celles du revêtement de l'intestin ou de l'estomac. Le processus par lequel les cellules normales se transforment en cellules anormales est appelé métaplasiemétaplasieTransformation de cellules matures et spécialisées en une forme qui est anormale pour le tissu observé. Les cellules paraissent normales au microscope, mais elles ne constituent pas le type de cellules normalement présentes dans ce tissu. intestinale. La métaplasie intestinale apparaît habituellement dans la partie inférieure de l'œsophage, près de l'endroit où il se joint à l'estomac (jonction œsophago-gastrique, ou OG).

Les personnes atteintes de l’œsophage de Barrett peuvent faire de la dysplasie, ce qui signifie que la taille, la forme et la disposition des cellules dans le tissu diffèrent de celles des cellules normales. On décrit les cellules dysplasiques en fonction de leur degré d'anomalie d’aspect. Dans le cas de la dysplasie légère, ou de bas grade, l’aspect des cellules anormales diffère un peu de celui des cellules normales. Dans le cas de la dysplasie sévère, ou de haut grade, les cellules semblent très anormales.

La dysplasie de haut grade engendre le plus grand risque d’évolution en cancer. Les personnes qui font de la dysplasie de haut grade risquent davantage d'être atteintes d'un adénocarcinome de l'œsophage que les personnes qui font de la métaplasie ou de la dysplasie de bas grade ou dont l’œsophage est normal. Environ 0,5 % des personnes atteintes de l’œsophage de Barrett auront un adénocarcinome de l’œsophage.

Facteurs de risque

Le reflux gastro-œsophagien pathologique (RGOP) fait augmenter votre risque d’avoir un œsophage de Barrett. Le RGOP est un trouble caractérisé par le retour d’acide gastrique dans l’œsophage. Quand cela se produit sur une longue période, on parle de reflux chronique. Le reflux chronique peut causer des changements (métaplasie) dans le revêtement de l’œsophage. L'œsophage de Barrett peut aussi se manifester chez des personnes qui n'éprouvent pas de symptômes du RGOP. La plupart des personnes qui ressentent des symptômes du RGOP chronique ne seront pas atteintes de l'œsophage de Barrett.

Les facteurs de risque qui suivent peuvent aussi accroître la probabilité que vous soyez un jour atteint de l'œsophage de Barrett :

  • obésité;
  • tabac;
  • alcool.

Symptômes

Ce ne sont pas toutes les personnes atteintes de l'œsophage de Barrett qui éprouvent des symptômes. Les symptômes de l’œsophage de Barrett sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • brûlures d'estomac;
  • reflux gastrique;
  • difficulté à digérer;
  • nausées et vomissements;
  • difficulté à avaler;
  • retour d’acide gastrique dans la bouche (régurgitation).

Diagnostic

Si vous éprouvez des symptômes de l’œsophage de Barrett ou si votre médecin pense que vous pourriez être atteint de l’œsophage de Barrett, vous passerez des examens. Les tests qui permettent de diagnostiquer l’œsophage de Barrett sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • endoscopie digestive haute;
  • biopsie.

On peut faire une échoendoscopie (EE) si on observe une dysplasie de haut grade lors de l’endoscopie digestive haute et de la biopsie. Apprenez-en davantage sur ces tests et interventions.

Traitements

Il est possible qu’on n’ait pas besoin de traiter immédiatement l’œsophage de Barrett. Le médecin peut associer l’endoscopie digestive haute à la biopsie pour surveiller comment l’œsophage de Barrett évolue. Le traitement commencerait quand le médecin observerait des changements cancéreux dans l’œsophage.

Les traitements de l’œsophage de Barrett comprennent ceux qui suivent.

Le traitement médicamenteux à base d’inhibiteurs de la pompe à protons et d’anti-H2 permettent de traiter le reflux et de contrôler la quantité d’acide produite par l’estomac.

La résection muqueuse endoscopique (REM) peut permettre de traiter une dysplasie de l’œsophage de haut grade. Le médecin se sert d’un endoscope pour faire la REM. Il enlève la couche interne, soit la muqueuse, de l’œsophage qui contient les régions anormales.

L’ablation par radiofréquence (ARF) peut être employée seule pour traiter les régions anormales de l’œsophage ou bien on peut y avoir recours après une REM pour détruire les cellules anormales qui restent. On émet un courant électrique de haute fréquence pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On gonfle un ballonnet fixé à l'extrémité d'un endoscope à côté de la région de l'œsophage qu'on traitera. Le courant électrique de haute fréquence est émis à travers la paroi du ballonnet. On peut déplacer le ballonnet dans une autre région anormale de l’œsophage qu’on doit traiter.

La thérapie photodynamique (TPD) a recours à un médicament pour rendre les cellules sensibles à la lumière, soit un photosensibilisant. Le médecin administre le médicament, qui est absorbé par les cellules cancéreuses. Il se sert ensuite d’un endoscope pour exposer les cellules à la lumière. On peut avoir recours à la TPD après une REM pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses qui restent.

L’électrocoagulation a recours à un courant électrique pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. Elle peut permettre de détruire les régions affectées par la métaplasie et la dysplasie. On se sert d'un endoscope.

La coagulation au plasma argon a recours au gaz appelé argon et à un courant électrique de haute fréquence pour détruire les cellules anormales. Elle peut permettre de détruire les régions affectées par la métaplasie et la dysplasie. On se sert d'un endoscope.

La fundoplication permet d’envelopper le dessus de l'estomac (fundus) autour de la partie inférieure de l'œsophage où on le fixe avec des points de suture. On peut faire cette chirurgie pour renforcer le sphincter œsophagien inférieur afin de prévenir les brûlures d'estomac.

L’œsophagectomie est une chirurgie lors de laquelle on enlève l’œsophage en partie ou en totalité. Elle peut permettre de traiter la dysplasie de haut grade en présence de l’œsophage de Barrett. On y a recours s’il y a de grandes régions ou de nombreuses régions atteintes par la dysplasie ou si vous êtes en assez bonne santé pour subir une chirurgie.

Histoires

Carrie Walker Boyd Faire du bénévolat pour la Société canadienne du cancer m’a permis de constater le travail colossal qu’elle fait pour les personnes aux prises avec le cancer.

Lisez l’histoire de Carrie

De l’aide pour les fumeurs qui veulent cesser de fumer

Illustration du symbole d’interdiction de fumer

Il est normal d’avoir besoin d’aide pour cesser de fumer. La Société canadienne du cancer est là pour soutenir les fumeurs qui sont prêts à arrêter et même ceux qui ne le sont pas.

Apprenez-en plus