Colorectal cancer

You are here: 

What is colorectal cancer?

Colorectal cancer starts in the cells of the colon or rectum. A cancerous (malignant) tumour is a group of cancer cells that can grow into nearby tissue and destroy it. The tumour can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

The colon and rectum are parts of the large intestine and the digestive system. The colon absorbs water and nutrients and passes waste (stool or poop) to the rectum. Colon and rectal cancers are grouped together as colorectal cancer because these organs are made of the same tissues and there isn’t a clear border between them.

Cells in the colon or rectum sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous tumours such as hyperplastic and inflammatory polyps.

Changes to cells of the colon and rectum can also cause precancerous conditions. This means that the abnormal cells are not yet cancer, but there is a chance that they may become cancer if they aren’t treated. The most common precancerous conditions of the colon and rectum are adenomas and hereditary colorectal syndromes.

But in some cases, changes to colon or rectal cells can cause colorectal cancer. Most often, colorectal cancer starts in gland cells that line the wall of the colon or rectum. These gland cells make mucus that helps stool move through the colon and rectum. This type of cancer is called adenocarcinoma of the colon or rectum.

Rare types of colorectal cancer can also develop. These include small cell carcinoma and squamous cell carcinoma.

Stories

Researcher Dr Michael Taylor Same brain tumour, different genetic profiles

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how 16 factors affect your cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life! Presented in partnership with Desjardins.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer colorectal

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer colorectal?

Le cancer colorectal est une tumeur maligne qui prend naissance dans les cellules du côlon ou du rectum. Le mot « maligne » signifie que la tumeur est cancéreuse et qu’elle peut se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Le côlon et le rectum font partie du gros intestin et de l’appareil digestif. Le côlon absorbe l’eau et les éléments nutritifs et achemine les résidus (selles, ou matières fécales) au rectum. Les cancers du côlon et du rectum sont regroupés dans la catégorie cancer colorectal puisque ces organes sont faits des mêmes tissus et qu’il n’y a pas de limite claire entre eux.

Les cellules du côlon ou du rectum subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent entraîner la formation de tumeurs bénignes, comme des polypes hyperplasiques ou inflammatoires, qui ne sont pas cancéreuses.

Des changements dans les cellules du côlon et du rectum peuvent aussi engendrer des états précancéreux. Cela veut dire que les cellules ne sont pas encore cancéreuses, mais que leur risque de devenir cancéreuses est plus élevé. Les états précancéreux du côlon et du rectum les plus courants sont les adénomes et les syndromes du cancer colorectal héréditaire.

Le cancer colorectal apparaît le plus souvent dans les cellules glandulaires qui tapissent la paroi du côlon ou du rectum. Ces cellules glandulaires produisent du mucus qui aide les selles à se déplacer dans le côlon et le rectum. Ce type de cancer est appelé adénocarcinome du côlon ou du rectum.

Des types rares de cancer colorectal peuvent aussi se manifester. Le carcinome à petites cellules et le carcinome épidermoïde en sont des exemples.

Schéma de l'appareil digestif

Schéma du gros intestin

Histoires

Dr Claude Perreault Mobiliser le système immunitaire pour combattre le cancer

Plus de details

Accès aux services offerts dans votre communauté

Illustration de maisons côte à côte

Le répertoire de services à la communauté de la Société canadienne du cancer aide les personnes atteintes de cancer et leurs familles à trouver les services et programmes disponibles dans leur communauté.

Apprenez-en plus