Coping when your child has cancer

You are here: 

Finances

Cancer can greatly affect a family’s finances. One or both parents may need to take unpaid time away from work, which can seriously affect your income. At the same time that family income goes down, spending goes up. You may have to spend more money on things like:

  • medicines that are not covered by provincial or private health insurance plans
  • travel (gas and parking) to doctor appointments, tests and treatment appointments
  • a place for your child and you to stay during treatments away from home
  • meals during travel or treatment
  • extra child care costs for siblings
  • help around the house or yard
  • extra phone calls
  • special medical equipment

Most centres have social workers specifically assigned to the oncology team. This person on your team can help you with tasks ranging from letting your employer know what is going on to how to access resources and financial help in your community.

Medications

Most cancer treatment given in the hospital is covered by provincial and territorial health plans but it can vary by province. Many children also take medicine outside the hospital, such as oral chemotherapy, antibiotics or medicines to control nausea or pain. You may be responsible for paying for those yourself. Some provinces and territories have special drug benefit plans that pay some or all of the cost of medicines your child needs at home. There are also certain drugs that may be covered through special programs through the drug companies or through your child’s doctor or the treatment centre. Ask your healthcare team about which drugs may or may not be covered.

Families may also have to pay for medical equipment or other therapies that are not covered by government health plans. It is a good idea to become familiar with what health coverage and health insurance benefits you have. If you need help paying for medicine that your child takes at home or if your child needs a drug, ask your doctor or social worker for help.

Travel

Travel is a big expense, especially if you must travel from a rural area to larger centres for treatment or tests. Some community organizations may offer help with travel. Some airlines may offer discounted flights. You may be able to submit some of these expenses for coverage to various programs but you must have money to pay for this right away and it can sometimes take a long time for you to be reimbursed.

Lodging

Many families live far from the main centres where children are treated for cancer. The treatment centre may have a Ronald McDonald House nearby that provides low-cost or free housing for children and their families. Treatment centres may also have other short-term housing available nearby or hotels near the treatment centre that offer reduced rates. Talk to your social worker about where to stay when your child is having treatment.

Finding help

Talk to a social worker at the cancer centre to find out about financial assistance programs and government benefits. They may also have some suggestions about organizations that help out with transportation, accommodation or drug coverage. Social workers can help you apply for financial assistance programs or government benefits.

Review all income programs that might be available to you. Read the rules about who qualifies for each program. Rules are usually based on things like income, assets (what you own and how much money you have saved) and a definition of disability.

Keep your receipts for medicine, travel, parking, meals and lodging in case you need them at a later date. Also keep track of key dates so that you can submit things on time. Some programs have strict deadlines for submitting.

Don’t forget about friends, relatives and other people in the community. It may be difficult to admit financial difficulties, but letting others know what is needed benefits everyone. The people around you want to help and would likely be more than willing to organize fundraisers to help you cover costs during this time. Church groups, school groups or other community organizations often get involved and help with raising money during times of serious illness.

You may see other families at the treatment centre or at a support group. Talk to other families to get ideas on financial support and ask where they found help.

Government programs that may provide financial help

The Government of Canada provides financial support to people who are sick themselves or who are caring for family members who are sick. Income security programs and benefit programs provide monthly payments over a short period of time for people who have to take time away from work to care for family members who are sick. Federal tax credits lower the amount of tax you have to pay each year. There are special forms to fill out when you file your income tax. Most provinces and territories also have special benefit programs to help parents of children who have physical or mental disabilities. The details for these programs change often. Ask a social worker to help you learn more.

Employment Insurance compassionate care benefits are paid to people who have to be away from work temporarily to care for a family member who is gravely ill with a significant risk of death. You must get a medical certificate from a doctor, psychologist or psychiatrist. The benefits last for a maximum of 26 weeks. The leave can be shared among caregivers.

The Child Disability Benefit gives a monthly allowance to families who care for a child under age 18 with “severe and prolonged impairment in physical or mental functions.” Some children who have cancer may qualify even if they are not permanently disabled. Others qualify if they become disabled because of their cancer or because of the cancer treatment. Eligibility for these programs may depend on the family’s income.

The Disability Tax Credit is available for parents who have a child with a “severe or prolonged mental or physical impairment.” A family that qualifies for the Disability Tax Credit may also be eligible for other benefits, such as the Child Disability Benefit and the Registered Disability Savings Plan.

The Family Caregiver Tax Credit is available for someone who is taking care of a sick family member.

The Medical Expense Tax Credit allows you to claim expenses for wigs, medications, medical equipment, tutoring and travel expenses including meals, accommodation and parking. It’s important to keep all your receipts for these expenses to claim them on your income tax. Talk to an accountant or the person who helps you file your taxes if you need more information.

Most provincial governments also have benefit plans that help pay for the cost of transportation and accommodation while you are away from home. Talk to your social worker to see if you qualify for any of these programs.

For more information about benefits and income supports available through the provincial or federal government, go to CanadaBenefits.gc.ca. You can also contact your provincial or territorial Ministry of Health.

Private insurance and employment benefits that may offer help

Many people have private health insurance with their employers or through a private insurance company. These benefits may help to cover or replace your income if you have to take time off work to look after your child and pay for the cost of healthcare and medicine that is not covered by government. They include:

  • sick leave – some employers allow parents to take sick leave to care for children
  • vacation days
  • compassionate care leave – for parents who are caring for a child who is not expected to survive the illness
  • extra coverage for private rooms, ambulance, medications, medical devices, therapies and dental care

Find out what benefits you have. Read the extended benefits manual from your insurance provider. Talk to your supervisor or company’s human resources department. Be sure to ask:

  • what the insurance will pay for
  • what you need to pay for
  • how to get the coverage you need
  • if there are any waiting periods before coverage starts

Many private plans require you to pay a deductible. This can be very high for some cancer drugs. Some provinces have programs that will pay some of these deductibles, based on your income.

Community donations

There are lots of organizations, charities and businesses that provide financial support, services and donations to families of children with cancer. You may ask a friend or family member to help you with this. Your social worker may have ideas. Some places to approach include:

  • private businesses like gas stations, grocery stores or coffee shops to ask for gift cards
  • cancer organizations that offer services and support to people with cancer (some focus on children while others help people with a particular kind of cancer)
  • community organizations that provide services at low or no cost
  • family foundations or charities that offer financial support, grants for specific services and in-kind donations of items you might need

Fundraising

Fundraising can be done to help with expenses. Your friends or family members can help to carry out fundraising. Friends or family may offer to hold a fundraiser to help pay for your child’s cancer-related expenses. Fundraising can be done by hosting an event, creating an online donation page or by collecting donations in other ways. These efforts can be very helpful, but here are some things to consider about fundraisers:

  • How will the money be spent?
  • Who will decide how to spend the money?
  • How much does my child and my family have to be involved in the fundraiser?
  • Consider you and your child’s need for privacy and how much information you want to share.
  • Does the money raised have to be declared as income on my income tax return?
  • How will this income affect me if I am getting other government benefits?

Stories

Researcher Dr Michael Chaiton Dr Michael Chaiton is learning how many tries it takes to quit smoking.

Learn more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Faire face quand votre enfant a le cancer

Vous êtes ici:

Les finances

Le cancer peut grandement affecter les finances d'une famille. Il est possible que l’un des parents ou bien les deux doivent s'absenter du travail sans être rémunérés, ce qui risque vraiment de nuire à votre revenu. Alors que le revenu de la famille diminue, les dépenses, elles, augmentent. Vous pourriez devoir dépenser davantage pour les choses suivantes :

  • médicaments non couverts par le régime privé ou provincial d'assurance-maladie
  • déplacements (essence et stationnement) pour les rendez-vous médicaux, tests et traitements
  • hébergement pour vous et votre enfant si le centre de traitement est loin de la maison
  • repas lors des déplacements ou des traitements
  • frais supplémentaires de garde des frères et sœurs
  • aide à la maison, que ce soit à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur
  • appels téléphoniques supplémentaires
  • équipement médical spécial

Dans la plupart des centres de traitement, on trouve un travailleur social spécifiquement assigné à l’équipe d’oncologie. Cette personne peut vous aider à remplir différentes tâches dont faire savoir à votre employeur ce qui se passe et comment accéder aux ressources et à une aide financière dans votre collectivité.

Médicaments

La plupart des traitements du cancer administrés à l’hôpital sont couverts par le régime d’assurance-maladie de votre province ou territoire, mais cela peut varier selon la province. De nombreux enfants prennent également des médicaments par voie orale ailleurs qu’à l’hôpital, comme des agents chimiothérapeutiques, des antibiotiques ou des médicaments pour maîtriser les nausées ou la douleur. Vous pourriez devoir en assumer les frais. Certains territoires et provinces offrent des programmes de médicaments spéciaux qui remboursent le coût, en partie ou en totalité, des médicaments dont votre enfant a besoin à la maison. Des médicaments pourraient être couverts par des programmes spéciaux offerts par les entreprises pharmaceutiques ou le médecin ou bien le centre de traitement de votre enfant. Demandez à votre équipe de soins quels médicaments pourraient être couverts ou non.

Il est possible que les familles doivent payer l’équipement médical ou d’autres thérapies non couvertes par le régime d’assurance-maladie gouvernemental. Il serait bien de vous familiariser avec votre couverture de soins de santé et vos prestations d'assurance-maladie. Si vous avez besoin d’aide pour payer les médicaments que votre enfant prend à la maison ou si votre enfant a besoin d’un médicament, demandez l’aide de votre médecin ou de votre travailleur social.

Déplacements

Les déplacements sont une grosse dépense, en particulier si vous devez partir d’une région rurale vers un grand centre urbain pour des traitements ou des tests. Certains organismes communautaires peuvent offrir une aide aux déplacements. Des compagnies aériennes peuvent offrir des rabais sur leurs vols. Certaines de ces dépenses pourraient être couvertes par divers programmes, mais vous devez avoir l’argent pour les payer tout de suite et vous faire rembourser par la suite, ce qui risque de prendre un certain temps.

Hébergement

De nombreuses familles vivent loin des grands centres urbains où sont traités les enfants atteints de cancer. Il peut y avoir près du centre de traitement un manoir Ronald McDonald où les frais d’hébergement sont minimes ou inexistants pour les enfants malades et leur famille. Le centre de traitement pourrait aussi offrir un autre type d’hébergement à court terme tout près ou bien des hôtels à proximité pourraient proposer des tarifs réduits. Demandez à votre travailleur social où vous pourriez rester pendant le traitement de votre enfant.

Aide

Discutez avec un travailleur social du centre de traitement des programmes d’aide financière et des prestations du gouvernement disponibles. Il peut aussi vous suggérer d’autres organismes qui offrent une aide au transport, à l’hébergement ou à la couverture des médicaments. Le travailleur social peut vous aider à remplir une demande d’aide financière ou de prestations du gouvernement.

Considérez tous les programmes de revenus auxquels vous pourriez être admissible. Lisez les règlements sur l’admissibilité de chaque programme. Ils se basent habituellement sur des choses comme le revenu, les actifs (ce que vous possédez et combien d’argent vous avez épargné) et une définition de l’invalidité.

Conservez vos reçus pour les médicaments, les déplacements, le stationnement, les repas et l’hébergement au cas où vous en auriez besoin plus tard. N’oubliez pas les dates importantes afin de soumettre les choses à temps. Certains programmes ont des délais stricts.

N'oubliez pas vos amis, votre parenté et d'autres personnes qui font partie de votre collectivité. Il peut être difficile d'admettre que vous avez des difficultés financières, mais faire connaître vos besoins aux autres est avantageux pour tous. Les gens qui vous entourent veulent vous aider et seraient probablement prêts à organiser des activités de financement pour vous permettre de faire vos frais pendant cette période. Des groupes religieux ou scolaires ou d'autres organismes communautaires s'engagent souvent à recueillir de l'argent lorsque l'un des leurs est gravement malade.

Il est possible que vous rencontriez d’autres familles au centre de traitement ou dans un groupe de soutien. Discutez avec elles pour voir comment vous pourriez avoir du soutien financier et demandez-leur où elles ont trouvé de l’aide.

Programmes gouvernementaux pouvant fournir une aide financière

Le gouvernement du Canada offre un soutien financier aux personnes qui sont malades ou qui prennent soin de membres de leur famille qui le sont. Avec les programmes de la sécurité du revenu et les programmes de prestations, on verse des sommes mensuelles pendant une courte période aux personnes qui doivent s’absenter du travail pour prendre soin de membres de leur famille qui sont malades.  Les crédits d’impôt fédéral réduisent le montant de la taxe que vous devez payer chaque année. Vous devez alors remplir des formulaires spéciaux avec votre déclaration de revenus. La plupart des provinces et des territoires proposent également des programmes de prestations particuliers pour aider les parents d’enfants ayant des incapacités physiques ou mentales. Les détails de ces programmes changent souvent. Renseignez-vous auprès d’un travailleur social.

Les prestations d’assurance-emploi pour soignants sont versées aux personnes qui doivent s’absenter du travail temporairement pour prendre soin d’un membre de leur famille qui est gravement malade et qui risque fortement de mourir. Vous devez obtenir un certificat médical du médecin, du psychologue ou du psychiatre. Les prestations sont versées pendant tout au plus 26 semaines. Elles peuvent être partagées entre les soignants.

La Prestation pour enfants handicapés est versée chaque mois aux familles qui prennent soin d’un enfant âgé de moins de 18 ans qui est atteint d’une déficience grave et prolongée de ses fonctions mentales ou physiques. Certains enfants qui ont le cancer peuvent y être admissibles même s’ils ne sont pas handicapés de façon permanente. D’autres sont admissibles s’ils deviennent handicapés à cause du cancer ou de son traitement. L’admissibilité à ces programmes peut dépendre du revenu familial.

Le crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées est offert aux parents dont l’enfant est atteint d’une déficience mentale ou physique grave ou prolongée. La famille admissible au crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées pourrait aussi l’être à d’autres prestations, comme la Prestation pour enfants handicapés et le régime enregistré d’épargne-invalidité.

Le crédit d’impôt pour aidants familiaux est offert aux personnes qui prennent soin d’un membre de la famille qui est malade.

Le crédit d’impôt pour frais médicaux vous permet de réclamer des dépenses effectuées pour des perruques, des médicaments, de l’équipement médical, du tutorat et des frais de déplacement dont les repas, l’hébergement et le stationnement. Il est important de conserver tous vos reçus si vous voulez réclamer ces montants dans votre déclaration de revenus. Renseignez-vous auprès de votre comptable ou de la personne qui s’occupe de vos déclarations de revenus si vous avez besoin de plus d’information.

La plupart des gouvernements provinciaux offrent également des régimes de prestations qui aident à défrayer les frais de déplacement et d’hébergement quand vous êtes loin de la maison. Demandez à votre travailleur social si vous êtes admissible à l’un de ces programmes.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les prestations et le soutien du revenu offerts par votre gouvernement provincial ou fédéral, allez à CanadaBenefits.gc.ca. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le ministère de la Santé de votre province ou territoire.

Assurance privée et avantages sociaux pouvant vous aider

De nombreuses personnes détiennent une assurance-maladie privée par le biais de leur employeur ou d’une compagnie d’assurances privées. Ces avantages peuvent aider à couvrir ou à remplacer votre revenu si vous devez vous absenter du travail pour prendre soin de votre enfant et payer ses soins médicaux et ses médicaments non couverts par le gouvernement. Ce sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • congé de maladie – certains employeurs permettent aux parents de prendre un congé de maladie pour prendre soin de leur enfant
  • jours de vacances
  • congé de soignant – pour les parents qui prennent soin d’un enfant qui ne devrait pas survivre à la maladie
  • couverture supplémentaire pour les chambres privées, l’ambulance, les médicaments, les dispositifs médicaux, les thérapies et les soins dentaires

Renseignez-vous pour savoir quels sont vos avantages. Lisez le guide des garanties complémentaires de votre fournisseur d’assurance. Discutez avec votre superviseur ou un employé du service des ressources humaines de votre entreprise. N’oubliez pas de demander :

  • ce que l'assureur paie;
  • ce que vous devez payer;
  • comment obtenir la couverture à laquelle vous avez droit;
  • s'il y a un délai d'attente avant que la couverture entre en vigueur.

De nombreux régimes privés exigent le paiement d’une franchise. Elle peut être très élevée pour certains médicaments anticancéreux. Dans certaines provinces, il existe des programmes qui paient une partie de cette franchise, selon votre revenu.

Dons de la collectivité

Beaucoup d’organisations, d’organismes de bienfaisance et d’entreprises  offrent un soutien financier, des services et des dons aux familles dont un enfant est atteint de cancer. Vous pourriez demander à l’un de vos amis ou à un membre de votre famille de vous aider à faire des demandes. Votre travailleur social pourrait avoir des idées. Vous pourriez entre autres vous adresser à ces endroits :

  • entreprises privées comme les stations-service, épiceries ou cafés pour demander des cartes-cadeaux
  • organismes de lutte contre le cancer qui offrent des services et du soutien aux personnes atteintes de cancer (certaines sont dédiées aux enfants alors que d’autres aident les gens atteints d’un type particulier de cancer)
  • organismes communautaires qui offrent des services gratuits ou à prix abordable
  • fondations familiales ou organismes de bienfaisance qui offrent du soutien financier, des bourses ou des services spécifiques et des dons d’articles dont vous pourriez avoir besoin

Collecte de fonds

On peut faire une collecte de fonds pour aider à payer vos dépenses. Vos amis ou les membres de votre famille peuvent participer à la collecte pour aider à payer les dépenses liées au cancer de votre enfant par exemple. Vous pouvez tenir un événement, créer une page en ligne ou collecter les dons d’autres façons. Tous ces efforts peuvent être très utiles, mais voici certaines choses qu’il faut considérer pour les collectes de fonds :

  • Comment l’argent sera-t-il dépensé?
  • Qui décidera comment l’argent sera dépensé?
  • Jusqu’à quel point mon enfant et ma famille doivent-ils participer à la collecte de fonds?
  • Quel est notre besoin d’intimité et quelles informations voulons-nous partager?
  • L’argent recueilli doit-il être déclaré comme un revenu dans ma déclaration de revenus?
  • Comment ce revenu m’affectera-t-il si je reçois des prestations du gouvernement?

Histoires

Dr Daniel De Carvalho Déjouer les cellules souches cancéreuses pour stopper leur croissance

Plus de details

Quel est le risque à vie d’avoir le cancer?

Icône - 1 sur 2

Selon le plus récent rapport Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer, environ la moitié des Canadiens pourraient recevoir un diagnostic de cancer au cours de leur vie.

Apprenez-en plus