A A A


What is cervical cancer?

Cervical cancer is a malignant tumour that starts in the cells of the cervix. Malignant means that it can spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body.

 

The cervix is part of a woman’s reproductive system. It contains the narrow that connects the uterus, or womb, to the vagina.

 

Cells in the cervix sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous, or benign, tumours such as polyps, cysts or fibroids.

 

Changes to cells of the cervix can also cause precancerous conditions. This means that these cells are not yet cancer, but there is a chance that these abnormal cells might become cancerous if not treated. Most women with precancerous changes of the cervix are successfully treated and don’t develop cancer.

 

Most doctors describe abnormal changes to squamous cells in the cervix using the term squamous intraepithelial lesion (SIL). Some doctors use the terms cervical intraepithelial neoplasia (CIN) and cervical dysplasia, which are older ways of classifying changes in the cervix.

 

The most common type of cervical cancer starts in flat, thin cells called squamous cells. These cells cover the lining of the outer surface of the cervix (called the ectocervix). This type of cancer is called squamous cell carcinoma of the cervix. Cancer can also start in other cells that line the inside of the cervix (called the endocervix). These are called glandular cells, which make mucus. These cells line the passageway that connects the uterus to the vagina. This type of cancer is called adenocarcinoma of the cervix.

 

There are other rare types of cervical cancer. These include adenosquamous carcinoma, glassy cell carcinoma and mucoepidermoid carcinoma.

 

Diagram of the female reproductive system

 

References

We’re here to help. Tell us what you’re looking for, and an information specialist will email or call you.

500

Name:

Email address:

Phone number:

Postal code:

We can give information about cancer care and support services in Canada only. To find a cancer organization in your country, visit Union for International Cancer Control or International Cancer Information Service Group.

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer du col de l’utérus

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer du col de l'utérus?

Le cancer du col de l’utérus est une tumeur maligne qui prend naissance dans les cellules du col de l’utérus. Le mot « maligne » signifie que la tumeur peut se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Le col de l’utérus fait partie de l’appareil reproducteur féminin. C’est la partie inférieure étroite de l’utérus aussi appelé matrice. Il s’agit du passage reliant l’utérus au vagin.

Les cellules du col de l’utérus subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer la formation de tumeurs non cancéreuses, ou bénignes, comme des polypes, des kystes et des fibromes.

Des modifications dans les cellules du col de l’utérus peuvent aussi causer un état précancéreux. Cela signifie que ces cellules anormales ne sont pas encore cancéreuses, mais qu’elles risquent de le devenir si elles ne sont pas traitées. La plupart des femmes dont le col de l’utérus présente des changements précancéreux sont traitées avec succès et ne développent pas le cancer.

La plupart des médecins décrivent les changements anormaux subis par les cellules malpighiennes par le terme lésion malpighienne intra-épithéliale (SIL). Certains médecins utilisent les termes néoplasie intra-épithéliale cervicale (CIN) ou dysplasie cervicale, qui sont d’anciennes expressions employées pour classer les changements du col de l’utérus.

Le type le plus courant de cancer du col de l’utérus prend naissance dans les cellules plates et minces appelées cellules malpighiennes. Ces cellules recouvrent le revêtement de la surface externe du col, soit l’exocol. Cette forme de cancer porte le nom de carcinome épidermoïde du col de l’utérus. Le cancer peut également prendre naissance dans d’autres cellules qui tapissent l’intérieur du col de l’utérus, soit l’endocol. Ce sont les cellules glandulaires, qui fabriquent du mucus. Ces cellules tapissent le passage qui relie l’utérus au vagin. Ce type de cancer est appelé adénocarcinome du col de l’utérus.

Il existe d’autres types rares de cancer du col de l’utérus. Le carcinome adénosquameux, le carcinome à cellules vitreuses et le carcinome mucoépidermoïde en sont des exemples.

Schéma de l'appareil reproducteur féminin

Histoires

Dr Shawn Li Je suis infiniment reconnaissant envers la Société canadienne du cancer pour son soutien à ma recherche par une Subvention pour l’innovation.

Plus de détails

Information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues

Illustration d’un point d’interrogation

Le Service d’information sur le cancer (SIC) de la Société canadienne du cancer est le seul service téléphonique national, bilingue et sans frais au Canada à offrir de l’information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues.

Apprenez-en plus