Breast cancer

You are here: 

What is breast cancer?

Breast cancer starts in the cells of the breast. A cancerous (malignant) tumour is a group of cancer cells that can grow into and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

Cells in the breast sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous (benign) breast conditions such as atypical hyperplasia and cysts. They can also lead to non-cancerous tumours such as intraductal papillomas.

But in some cases, changes to breast cells can cause breast cancer. Most often, breast cancer starts in cells that line the ducts, which are the tubes that carry milk from the glands to the nipple. This type of breast cancer is called ductal carcinoma. Cancer can also start in the cells of the lobules, which are the groups of glands that make milk. This type of cancer is called lobular carcinoma. Both ductal carcinoma and lobular carcinoma can be in situ, which means that the cancer is still where it started and has not grown into surrounding tissues. They can also be invasive, which means they have grown into surrounding tissues.

Less common types of breast cancer can also develop. These include inflammatory breast cancer, Paget disease of the breast and triple negative breast cancer. Rare types of breast cancer include non-Hodgkin lymphoma and soft tissue sarcoma.

Diagram of side view cross-section of the breast

Stories

Researcher Dr Jean Marshall Dr Jean Marshall is finding a promising new strategy to block breast cancer.

Learn more

Together we can reduce the burden of cancer

Icon - beaker

Last year, we only had the resources available to fund 40% of high-priority research projects. Imagine the impact we could have if we were able to fund 100%.

Learn more

Cancer du sein

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer du sein?

Le cancer du sein prend naissance dans les cellules du sein. La tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) est un groupe de cellules cancéreuses qui peuvent envahir et détruire le tissu voisin. Elle peut aussi se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Les cellules du sein subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des affections non cancéreuses (bénignes) du sein, comme l’hyperplasie atypique et des kystes. Ils peuvent aussi entraîner la formation de tumeurs non cancéreuses, dont les papillomes intracanalaires.

Dans certains cas, cependant, des modifications dans les cellules mammaires peuvent causer un cancer du sein. Le cancer du sein apparaît le plus souvent dans les cellules tapissant les canaux, qui sont des tubes qui transportent le lait des glandes au mamelon. Ce type de cancer du sein est appelé carcinome canalaire. Le cancer peut aussi se former dans les cellules des lobules, qui sont les groupes de glandes productrices de lait. Ce type de cancer porte le nom de carcinome lobulaire. Le carcinome canalaire et le carcinome lobulaire peuvent être in situ, c’est-à-dire que le cancer reste dans son emplacement d’origine et qu’il n’a pas envahi les tissus voisins. Ils peuvent également être infiltrants, ou invasifs, c’est-à-dire qu’ils ont envahi les tissus voisins.

Des types de cancer du sein moins fréquents peuvent aussi se manifester. Le cancer inflammatoire du sein, la maladie de Paget du sein et le cancer du sein triple négatif en sont des exemples. Des types rares de cancer du sein sont entre autres le lymphome non hodgkinien et le sarcome des tissus mous.

Schéma du sein

Histoires

Dre Camilla Zimmermann La Dre Camilla Zimmermann met en lumière la nécessité de modifier la perception négative des soins palliatifs.

Plus de details

Ensemble, nous pouvons réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – bécher

L’an dernier, avec les fonds dont nous disposions, nous avons réussi à financer seulement 40 pour cent des projets de recherche considérés comme de grandes priorités. Imaginez l’impact que nous pourrions avoir si nous étions capables d’en financer 100 pour cent.

Apprenez-en plus