Canadian Cancer Society logo

Brain and spinal tumours

You are here: 

Active surveillance for brain and spinal cord cancer

Active surveillance may be a treatment option for some types of low-grade brain or spinal cord tumours. Active surveillance means the healthcare team watches the tumour closely. Treatment is given if there are any signs that the tumour is growing or there is an increased risk that the tumour will progress.

Active surveillance is not known to have negative effects or to reduce long-term survival. It can be preferable to wait until symptoms appear and then start treatments at that time. This approach spares the person with a brain or spinal cord tumour unnecessary side effects related to treatment for the longest time possible.

Stories

Dr Daniel De Carvalho Tricking cancer stem cells to stop growing

Read more

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière

Vous êtes ici:

Surveillance active du cancer du cerveau et de la moelle épinière

La surveillance active peut être une option de traitement pour certains types de cancer du cerveau ou de la moelle épinière qui sont de bas grade. La surveillance active consiste pour l’équipe soignante à observer attentivement la tumeur. On administre un traitement si on observe des signes d’évolution de la tumeur ou si le risque d’évolution de la tumeur augmente.

La surveillance active n’est pas reconnue pour causer des effets négatifs ni pour réduire la survie à long terme. Il peut être préférable d’attendre que des symptômes apparaissent avant d’entamer le traitement. Cette approche empêche la personne atteinte d’une tumeur au cerveau ou à la moelle épinière d’éprouver inutilement les effets secondaires du traitement le plus longtemps possible.

Histoires

Le Dr David Malkin, chercheur Le Dr David Malkin contribue à accroître la survie des patients grâce au dépistage.

Plus de details

Une meilleure qualité de vie grâce à un essai clinique

Illustration d’éprouvettes

Lors d’un essai clinique dirigé par le Groupe d’essais cliniques de l’INCC pour la Société, on a découvert que les hommes atteints d’un cancer de la prostate qui reçoivent un traitement hormonal intermittent vivent aussi longtemps que ceux dont le traitement est ininterrompu.

Apprenez-en plus