Brain and spinal tumours

You are here: 

What is a brain or spinal cord tumour?

A brain tumour starts in the cells of the brain. A spinal cord tumour starts in the cells of the spinal cord. Together, the brain and spinal cord form the central nervous system (CNS). The brain is the control centre of your body. It is a soft mass of nerve tissue protected by a bony covering called the skull. The spinal cord runs through the spine. It contains nerves that send information between the brain and the rest of the body.

Diagram of the central nervous system

Cells in the brain or spinal cord sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous (benign) conditions such as brain or spinal cord cysts. Cells in the brain and spinal cord can also change and form tumours. All brain and spinal cord tumours can cause severe or life-threatening symptoms.

Brain and spinal cord tumours are classified based on their grade. The grade of a tumour tells your healthcare team how quickly it is growing and how likely it is to spread.

Low-grade (non-cancerous) tumours grow slowly. They don’t usually grow into surrounding tissues or spread to other areas of the brain or spinal cord. Some low-grade tumours may develop into high-grade tumours.

High-grade (cancerous) tumours grow quickly. They can grow into nearby tissues and spread to other parts of the brain or spinal cord. Cancerous tumours that start in the brain and spinal cord rarely spread outside the CNS.

Types of brain and spinal cord tumours

Glioma is a general term for a group of tumours that start in glial cells that are the supportive cells of the brain or spinal cord. They are the most common type of primary brain tumours in adults and account for most of the cancerous (high-grade) tumours of the CNS. There are different types of gliomas, including astrocytoma, oligodendroglioma and ependymomas.

Brain and spinal cord tumours can also start in the cells of the meninges. The meninges are the membranes that cover the brain and spinal cord. These tumours are called meningiomas. Low-grade meningiomas are the most common type of non-cancerous brain and spinal cord tumour in adults.

There are many less common types of brain and spinal cord tumours including acoustic neuroma, craniopharyngioma, hemangioblastoma and primary central nervous system lymphoma.

Some types of brain and spinal cord tumours are more common in children and others are more common in adults. Find out more about brain and spinal cord tumours in children.

Brain metastasis

When a tumour starts in brain cells, it is called a primary brain tumour. Other types of cancer can spread to the brain, but this is not the same disease as a primary brain tumour. Cancer that starts in another part of the body and spreads to the brain is called brain metastasis or a secondary tumour. It is not treated in the same way as a primary brain tumour. Find out more about brain metastasis.

Stories

Photo of Pat Hartley It didn’t matter how much experience and knowledge I had about cancer. I was in shock.

Read Pat's story

Investing to reduce cancer burden

Icon - piggy bank

Last year CCS funded $40 million in cancer research, thanks to our donors. Discover how you can help reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce qu’une tumeur au cerveau ou à la moelle épinière?

La tumeur au cerveau prend naissance dans les cellules de l’encéphale, communément appelé cerveau puisqu’il occupe la majeure partie de l’encéphale. La tumeur à la moelle épinière prend naissance dans les cellules de la moelle épinière. Ensemble, l’encéphale et la moelle épinière forment le système nerveux central (SNC). L’encéphale est le centre de commande de votre corps. C’est une masse molle de tissus nerveux recouverte d’une enveloppe osseuse protectrice appelée crâne. La moelle épinière descend tout le long de la colonne vertébrale. Elle contient les nerfs qui assurent la transmission de l’information entre l’encéphale et le reste du corps.

Schéma du système nerveux central

Les cellules du cerveau ou de la moelle épinière subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des affections non cancéreuses (bénignes) comme des kystes au cerveau ou à la moelle épinière. Les cellules du cerveau ou de la moelle épinière ainsi modifiées peuvent aussi former des tumeurs. Toutes les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière peuvent engendrer des symptômes graves ou qui mettent la vie en danger.

Les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière sont classées selon leur grade. Le grade de la tumeur indique à votre équipe de soins sa vitesse de croissance et sa probabilité de propagation.

Les tumeurs de bas grade (non cancéreuses) se développent lentement. En général, elles n’envahissent pas les tissus voisins et ne se propagent pas à d’autres régions du cerveau ou de la moelle épinière. Certaines tumeurs de bas grade peuvent se transformer en tumeurs de haut grade.

Les tumeurs de haut grade (cancéreuses) se développent rapidement. Elles peuvent envahir les tissus voisins et se propager à d’autres parties du cerveau ou de la moelle épinière. Les tumeurs cancéreuses qui prennent naissance dans le cerveau ou la moelle épinière se propagent rarement hors du SNC.

Types de tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière

Le mot gliome est un terme général qui représente un groupe de tumeurs prenant naissance dans les cellules gliales, c’est-à-dire les cellules de soutien du cerveau et de la moelle épinière. Le gliome est le type le plus courant de tumeur primitive au cerveau chez l’adulte et il représente la plupart des tumeurs cancéreuses (haut grade) du SNC. Il existe différents types de gliome, dont l’astrocytome, l’oligodendrogliome et l’épendymome.

Les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière peuvent aussi prendre naissance dans les cellules des méninges. Les méninges sont les membranes qui enveloppent l’encéphale et la moelle épinière. Ces tumeurs sont appelées méningiomes. Le méningiome de bas grade est le type le plus courant de tumeur au cerveau et à la moelle épinière non cancéreuse de l’adulte.

Il existe bien d’autres types moins courants de tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière dont le neurinome acoustique, le craniopharyngiome, l’hémangioblastome et le lymphome primitif du système nerveux central.

Certains types de tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière sont plus courants chez l’enfant, et d’autres sont plus fréquents chez l’adulte. Apprenez-en davantage sur les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant.

Métastases cérébrales

Une tumeur qui prend naissance dans les cellules du cerveau porte le nom de tumeur primitive au cerveau, ou tumeur cérébrale primitive. D’autres types de cancer peuvent se propager au cerveau, mais il s’agit alors d’une maladie différente de la tumeur cérébrale primitive. Un cancer qui prend naissance dans une autre partie du corps et qui se propage au cerveau est appelé métastase cérébrale ou tumeur secondaire. On ne la traite pas de la même manière que la tumeur cérébrale primitive. Apprenez-en davantage sur les métastases cérébrales.

Histoires

Carol Leuken Prairie Women on Snowmobiles est une expérience qui vous transforme à jamais.

Plus de details

D’immenses progrès ont été accomplis

Icône – flèche

Pour certains cancers, comme ceux de la thyroïde et du testicule, les taux de survie dépassent 90 pour cent. Pour d’autres cancers, comme ceux du pancréas, du cerveau et de l’œsophage, les taux de survie demeurent très bas.

Apprenez-en plus