Childhood brain and spinal tumours

You are here: 

Prognosis and survival for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours

You may have questions about prognosis for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours. A prognosis is the doctor’s best estimate of how cancer will affect a child and how it will respond to treatment. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with a child’s medical history, the type, stage and characteristics of the cancer, the treatments chosen and the response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statisticsto arrive at a prognosis.

A prognostic factor is an aspect of the cancer or a characteristic of the child that the doctor will consider when making a prognosis. A predictive factor influences how a cancer will respond to a certain treatment. Prognostic and predictive factors are often discussed together. They both play a part in deciding on a treatment plan and a prognosis.

The following are prognostic and predictive factors for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours.

Type of tumour

The type of brain or spinal cord tumour is an important prognostic factor. Some tumour types have a more favourable prognosis than others.

Grade of the tumour

Low-grade, slow-growing tumours usually have a more favourable prognosis than high-grade tumours.

Location of the tumour

The location of the tumour is an important prognostic factor because it determines whether the tumour can be completely removed with surgery. Easily accessible tumours have a more favourable prognosis. Tumours in the cerebrum and cerebellum tend to have a better outcome than those in the brain stem, ventricles or midbrain. But other factors, such as the grade of the tumour, will affect the prognosis of tumours in the cerebrum and cerebellum.

Size of the tumour

Small tumours have a better prognosis than large tumours.

Surgical removal

Tumours that can be completely removed with surgery (are resectable) have a more favourable prognosis than tumours that can’t be removed with surgery (are unresectable).

Tumour spread

If a tumour spreads to other areas of the central nervous system (CNS), the prognosis is less favourable.

Age of the child at diagnosis

Children over the age of 3 tend to have a more favourable prognosis than children under the age of 3. This may be because children over the age of 3 can be given radiation. Many types of childhood brain and spinal cord tumours are sensitive to the effects of radiation, so if the child is old enough to receive radiation, it could improve the prognosis. In addition, the types of tumours that often develop in children under 3 years old may be more aggressive.

For some types of tumours, such as brain stem glioma, children under 3 years old may have a better prognosis.

Genetic changes or conditions

Certain genetic changes or conditions may affect your child’s prognosis, depending on the type of brain or spinal cord tumour. Children diagnosed with some types of brain or spinal cord tumours who have neurofibromatosis may have a better prognosis.

Stories

Lusomé Founder and CEO Lara Smith Seeing my sister Erin – a young mother – struggle with the emotional blow and then the physical toll of cancer treatment made me want to do something to help women feel confident.

Read Lara's story

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

Vous êtes ici:

Pronostic et survie pour les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

Si votre enfant est atteint d’une tumeur au cerveau ou à la moelle épinière, vous vous posez peut-être des questions sur son pronostic. Un pronostic est l’acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera un enfant et comment il réagira au traitement. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien les antécédents médicaux de l’enfant, le type de cancer dont il est atteint, le stade et les caractéristiques de la maladie, les traitements choisis et la réaction au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Un facteur pronostique est un aspect du cancer ou une caractéristique de l’enfant que le médecin prend en considération lorsqu'il fait un pronostic. Un facteur prédictif influence la façon dont le cancer répond à un certain traitement. On aborde souvent les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs ensemble et ils jouent tous les deux un rôle dans le choix du plan de traitement et dans l'établissement du pronostic.

Les éléments suivants sont les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs des tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant.

Type de tumeur

Le type de tumeur au cerveau ou à la moelle épinière est un facteur pronostique important. Certains types de tumeurs engendrent un pronostic plus favorable que d’autres.

Grade de la tumeur

La tumeur de bas grade qui se développe lentement engendre habituellement un pronostic plus favorable que la tumeur de haut grade.

Emplacement de la tumeur

L’emplacement de la tumeur est un facteur pronostique important puisqu’il détermine si on peut enlever complètement la tumeur par chirurgie. La tumeur facilement accessible engendre un pronostic plus favorable. Les tumeurs au cerveau et au cervelet ont tendance à engendrer un meilleur pronostic que celles qui se trouvent dans le tronc cérébral, les ventricules ou le mésencéphale. Mais d’autres facteurs, comme le grade de la tumeur, affectent le pronostic  des tumeurs au cerveau et au cervelet.

Taille de la tumeur

Une petite tumeur engendre un meilleur pronostic qu’une grosse tumeur.

Ablation chirurgicale

Une tumeur qu’on peut complètement enlever par chirurgie (résécable) engendre un pronostic plus favorable qu’une tumeur qu’on ne peut pas enlever par chirurgie (non résécable).

Propagation de la tumeur

Si la tumeur se propage à d’autres régions du système nerveux central (SNC), le pronostic est moins favorable.

Âge de l’enfant lors du diagnostic

Les enfants âgés de plus de 3 ans ont tendance à avoir un pronostic plus favorable que les enfants âgés de moins de 3 ans, peut-être parce qu’on peut leur administrer une radiothérapie. De nombreux types de tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant sont sensibles aux effets de la radiation, alors si l’enfant est suffisamment âgé pour recevoir une radiothérapie, cela pourrait améliorer son pronostic. De plus, les types de tumeurs qui apparaissent souvent chez les enfants âgés de moins de 3 ans peuvent être plus agressifs.

Pour certains types de tumeurs, comme le gliome du tronc cérébral, les enfants âgés de moins de 3 ans pourraient avoir un meilleur pronostic.

Changements ou troubles génétiques

Certains changements ou troubles génétiques risquent d’affecter le pronostic de votre enfant, selon le type de tumeur au cerveau ou à la moelle épinière dont il est atteint. Les enfants ayant reçu un diagnostic de certains types de tumeurs au cerveau ou à la moelle épinière qui sont atteints de neurofibromatose pourraient avoir un meilleur pronostic.

Histoires

Norma Kehoe Nous devons soutenir la recherche menée sur toutes les causes de cancer afin de sauver des vies.

Lisez l'histoire de Norma

Faire avancer la lutte contre le cancer

Icône – flèche

Le taux de survie au cancer après cinq ans a augmenté, passant de 25 pour cent dans les années 1940 à 60 pour cent aujourd’hui.

Apprenez-en plus