Bladder cancer

You are here: 

Grading bladder cancer

To find out the grade of bladder cancer, the pathologist looks at a tissue sample from the bladder under a microscope. Doctors usually describe bladder tumours as high grade or low grade, but many pathologists still give bladder cancer a grade from 1 to 3 or 4. The lower the number, the lower the grade.

The grade is a description of the differentiation of the cancer cells. Differentiation is how the cancer cells look and behave compared to normal cells.

Low grade means that the cancer cells are well differentiated. They look and act much like normal cells. Lower grade cancer cells tend to be slow growing and are less likely to spread. Grade 1 is well differentiated and grade 2 is moderately well differentiated.

High grade means that the cancer cells are poorly differentiated, or undifferentiated. They look and act less normal, or more abnormal. Higher grade cancer cells tend to grow more quickly and are more likely to spread. Grade 3 is poorly differentiated and grade 4 is undifferentiated.

Knowing the grade gives your healthcare team an idea of how quickly the cancer may be growing and how likely it is to spread. This helps them plan your treatment. The grade can also help the healthcare team predict how you might respond to treatment.

Stories

Dr Shawn Li I’m extremely grateful to the Canadian Cancer Society for funding my research with an Innovation Grant.

Read more

Taking action against all cancers

Icon - question mark

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report found that of all newly diagnosed cancers in 2017, half are expected to be lung, colorectal, breast and prostate cancers. Learn what you can do to reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Cancer de la vessie

Vous êtes ici:

Classification histologique du cancer de la vessie

Pour établir le grade du cancer de la vessie, le pathologiste examine au microscope un peu de tissu prélevé dans la vessie. Les médecins décrivent habituellement le cancer de la vessie comme étant de haut grade ou de bas grade, mais de nombreux pathologistes donnent encore un grade de 1 à 3 ou 4 au cancer de la vessie. Plus le nombre est bas, plus le grade l’est aussi.

Le grade est la description de la différenciation des cellules cancéreuses. La différenciation est définie par l'apparence et le comportement des cellules cancéreuses qu'on compare à ceux des cellules normales.

Les cellules cancéreuses de bas grade sont bien différenciées. Leur apparence et leur comportement ressemblent beaucoup à ceux des cellules normales. Elles ont tendance à se développer lentement et risquent moins de se propager. Un cancer de grade 1 est bien différencié et un cancer de grade 2 est modérément différencié.

Les cellules cancéreuses de haut grade sont peu différenciées ou indifférenciées. Leur apparence et leur comportement sont moins normaux, ou plus anormaux. Elles ont tendance à se développer plus rapidement et sont plus susceptibles de se propager. Un cancer de grade 3 est peu différencié et un cancer de grade 4 est indifférencié.

Connaître le grade donne à votre équipe de soins une idée de la rapidité à laquelle le cancer peut se développer et de sa probabilité de propagation. Cela l’aide à planifier votre traitement. Le grade peut aussi aider l’équipe de soins à prévoir comment vous pourriez réagir au traitement.

Histoires

Nikki Ross Agir comme bénévole durant le Mois de la jonquille est une façon amusante d’afficher son soutien envers les personnes atteintes de cancer et les survivants.

Lisez l’histoire de Nikki

Financement d’essais cliniques qui sauvent des vies

Illustration d’instruments scientifiques

La Société canadienne du cancer subventionne des essais cliniques d’une importance vitale, qui permettent aux personnes atteintes de cancer d’avoir accès aux plus récents types de traitement.

Apprenez-en plus