Canadian Cancer Society logo

Bladder cancer

You are here: 

Diagnosis of bladder cancer

Diagnosing bladder cancer usually begins with a visit to your family doctor. Your doctor will ask you about any symptoms you have and may do a physical exam. Based on this information, your doctor may refer you to a specialist or order tests to check for bladder cancer or other health problems.

The process of diagnosis may seem long and frustrating. It’s normal to worry, but try to remember that other health conditions can cause similar symptoms as bladder cancer. It’s important for the healthcare team to rule out other reasons for a health problem before making a diagnosis of bladder cancer.

The following tests are commonly used to rule out or diagnose bladder cancer. Many of the same tests used to diagnose cancer are used to find out the stage, which is how far the cancer has progressed. Your doctor may also order other tests to check your general health and to help plan your treatment.

Health history and physical exam

Your health history is a record of your symptoms, risk factors and all the medical events and problems you have had in the past. In taking a health history, your doctor will ask questions about a personal history of:

  • smoking tobacco
  • occupational exposure to chemicals
  • chronic bladder irritation
  • radiation to the pelvis
  • chemotherapy

Your doctor may also ask about a family history of bladder cancer.

A physical exam allows your doctor to look for any signs of bladder cancer. During a physical exam, your doctor may:

  • do a bimanual pelvic exam
  • feel the abdomen for a lump and check if the liver is enlarged (swollen)
  • check for enlarged lymph nodes in the groin, abdomen and neck

During a bimanual pelvic exam, the doctor inserts gloved, lubricated fingers into the vagina (for women) or the rectum (for men) and places the other hand on the lower abdomen. By pressing on the abdomen and moving the fingers in the vagina or rectum, the doctor can feel a lump or thickened area on the bladder.

Find out more about physical exam.

Back to top


A cystoscopy uses an endoscope (a thin, tube-like instrument with a light and lens) to examine or treat the bladder and urethra. Doctors use a cystoscopy to look inside the urinary tract and closely examine the bladder. It allows doctors to see the size, location and growth pattern of any abnormalities in the bladder.

The doctor may remove small tumours or abnormal areas during a cystoscopy. (Tumours are removed through the urethra, so this is called a transurethral resection.) Biopsy and urine samples may also be taken during a cystoscopy.

A fluorescence cystoscopy uses a dye (called a porphyrin) and a special light to help make cancer cells easier to see. Porphyrins are a group of chemicals that glow when they are exposed to blue light. The doctor injects the porphyrin into the bladder and the cancer cells take it up. The doctor then uses a cystoscope to shine a blue light in the bladder. The cancer cells that took up the porphyrin glow in the blue light.

Find out more about cystoscopy.

Back to top


During a biopsy, the doctor removes tissues or cells from the body so they can be tested in a lab. The pathology report from the lab will confirm whether or not cancer cells are present in the sample.

The doctor may take a biopsy sample or remove small tumours during a cystoscopy. The doctor may also collect samples of normal-looking bladder tissue to check for very early cancer (called carcinoma in situ). The biopsy sample or tumour is examined under a microscope to look for bladder cancer and see how far the cancer cells have grown into the bladder wall (called the depth of invasion).

Find out more about biopsy.

Back to top

Intravenous pyelogram (IVP)

An IVP is also called an intravenous or excretory urogram. It is a series of x-rays of the urinary system, including the kidneys, ureters, bladder and urethra. A contrast medium (radiopaque iodine) is injected into a vein. The radiopaque iodine concentrates in the urine. X-rays are taken as the urine moves through the urinary system. The images can help doctors diagnose abnormalities in the bladder and the rest of the urinary system. An IVP isn’t used as commonly as a CT scan in diagnosing bladder cancer.

A retrograde pyelogram is like an IVP, but the dye is injected directly into the urinary system (instead of a vein) through a tube placed into the ureter using a cystoscopy. This procedure is sometimes used to find out what is causing a blockage, or obstruction, in the normal flow of urine. It can also help diagnose cancer in the inner lining of the ureter or kidney. It is used if someone cannot have the injected contrast medium used in an IVP because they are allergic to it or they have poor kidney function.

Find out more about intravenous pyelogram (IVP).

Back to top

Urine tests

Urine tests help doctors determine a person’s overall health and check for any problems. Different urine tests may be done if the doctor suspects bladder cancer.

Urinalysis is a routine urine test that describes the colour, appearance and contents of a urine sample. It also measures substances found in urine, such as electrolytes, hormones and waste products of metabolism. A urinalysis is done to find abnormalities in the urine. For example, blood in the urine means that there is bleeding somewhere in the urinary tract (kidneys, ureters, bladder or urethra). This may indicate an infection or cancer.

Find out more about urinalysis.

Urine culture is the process of growing micro-organisms (such as bacteria), cells or tissues in a specially prepared growth medium. A urine culture is done to find out if there are bacteria in the urine. (Urine in the bladder does not normally contain bacteria.) A urine sample is collected and kept in conditions where bacteria can grow. After 1–3 days, the sample is examined under a microscope to look for bacteria. A urine culture is done to rule out infection as the cause of urinary symptoms.

Back to top


Cytology is the study of cells.

Urine cytology looks at cells from the lining of the bladder, ureters and kidneys that are shed into the urine. The presence of abnormal cells means that there could be cancer somewhere in the urinary tract. Cells for cytology may be collected in a normal urine sample. The doctor may flush the bladder with saline (salt water) during a cystoscopy to collect cells (called bladder washings).

Fluorescence in situ hybridization (FISH) is a type of chromosome analysis, or cytogenetic test. It can be used to look for specific changes in chromosomes in bladder cells. FISH uses special dyes that attach only to specific parts of certain chromosomes. Some abnormalities that are too small to be found with standard chromosome analysis can be found using FISH. Urovysion assay is a FISH test that may be used to find chromosome abnormalities that are linked with cancer in bladder cells.

Back to top

Tumour marker tests

Tumour markers are substances (usually proteins) in the urine that may mean bladder cancer is present. Tumour marker tests are generally used to check your response to cancer treatment. They can also be used to diagnose bladder cancer.

The following tumour markers may be measured for bladder cancer.

Bladder tumour–associated antigen (BTA) is a protein that can be in the urine when bladder cancer is present.

Nuclear matrix proteins (NMP) are proteins released into the urine by bladder cancer cells. Urine tests to look for a nuclear matrix protein called NMP22 may be used to diagnose bladder cancer.

Mucin and carcinoembryonic antigen (CEA) is a substance that is sometimes present on bladder cancer cells. Tests such as ImmunoCyt/uCyt+ may be used to look for this substance on bladder cancer cells in the urine.

Find out more about tumour marker tests.

Back to top

Complete blood count (CBC)

A complete blood count (CBC) measures the number and quality of white blood cells, red blood cells and platelets. A CBC is done to:

  • check for anemia from long-term, or chronic, bleeding from the bladder
  • help rule out infection
  • provide a baseline for comparison with blood counts taken during and after treatment

Find out more about complete blood count (CBC).

Back to top

Blood chemistry tests

Blood chemistry tests measure certain chemicals in the blood. They show how well certain organs are functioning and can also be used to detect abnormalities. Kidney function is especially important in people being treated for bladder cancer. Blood chemistry tests are also used to find out if bladder cancer has spread to other organs.

Some blood chemistry values may be higher than normal if bladder cancer has spread, or metastasized, to certain organs. For example, liver function tests may be abnormal if bladder cancer has spread to the liver. Higher than normal levels of an enzyme called alkaline phosphatase in the blood may mean that bladder cancer has spread to the bone.

Find out more about blood chemistry tests.

Back to top

Chest x-ray

An x-ray uses small doses of radiation to make images of the body’s structures on film. A chest x-ray may be done to check if bladder cancer has spread to the lungs.

Find out more about x-ray.

Back to top

CT scan

A computed tomography (CT) scan uses special x-ray equipment to make 3-D and cross-sectional images of organs, tissues, bones and blood vessels inside the body. A computer turns the images into detailed pictures.

A CT scan of the abdomen and pelvis may be done to:

  • look at the bladder, ureters and kidneys
  • find a tumour and determine its size
  • check if cancer has spread to lymph nodes, the liver or other structures around the bladder

A CT-IVP is an intravenous pyelogram that uses a CT scan instead of x-rays. It is used to look specifically at the inner lining of the kidneys and ureters. A CT-IVP is often done instead of an IVP.

Find out more about CT scan.

Back to top


Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) uses powerful magnetic forces and radiofrequency waves to make cross-sectional images of organs, tissues, bones and blood vessels. A computer turns the images into 3-D pictures.

An MRI of the abdomen and pelvis may be done instead of a CT scan to:

  • look at the bladder, ureters and kidneys
  • find a tumour and determine its size
  • check if cancer has spread to lymph nodes, the liver or other structures around the bladder

Find out more about MRI.

Back to top


Ultrasound uses high-frequency sound waves to make images of structures in the body. It is used to:

  • determine the size of a bladder tumour
  • check if cancer has spread to other organs or structures

An ultrasound doesn’t show as much detail as a CT scan, so it isn’t as reliable as a CT scan. Ultrasound alone can’t give doctors enough information to fully assess bladder cancer. Also, many bladder tumours may not be found with an ultrasound or even with a CT scan.

Find out more about ultrasound.

Back to top

Bone scan

A bone scan uses bone-seeking radioactive materials (called radiopharmaceuticals) and a computer to create a picture of the bones. It may be done to check if bladder cancer has spread to the bones. It is usually only done if you have more advanced bladder cancer and bone pain.

Find out more about bone scan.

Back to top

Questions to ask your healthcare team

Find out more about diagnosis. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about diagnosis.


Dr Troy Harkness Finding new ways to treat drug-resistant cancers

Read more

A home away from home

Illustration of house

For cancer patients who must travel a great distance to get to treatment, Canadian Cancer Society lodges offer a welcoming place to stay.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de la vessie

Vous êtes ici:

Diagnostic du cancer de la vessie

Le processus diagnostique du cancer de la vessie débute habituellement par une visite à votre médecin de famille. Il vous questionnera sur les symptômes que vous éprouvez et vous fera un examen physique. En se basant sur ces informations, il est possible que votre médecin vous dirige vers un spécialiste ou vous prescrive des examens afin de vérifier la présence d’un cancer de la vessie ou d’autres problèmes de santé.

Le processus diagnostique peut sembler long et décourageant. C’est normal de s’inquiéter, mais essayez de ne pas oublier que d’autres affections médicales peuvent causer des symptômes semblables à ceux du cancer de la vessie. Il est important que l’équipe de soins élimine toute autre cause possible du problème de santé avant de poser un diagnostic de cancer de la vessie.

On a couramment recours aux tests qui suivent pour éliminer ou diagnostiquer le cancer de la vessie. Bien des tests permettant de poser le diagnostic de cancer sont également employés pour en déterminer le stade, c’est-à-dire jusqu'où la maladie a progressé. Votre médecin pourrait aussi vous faire passer d'autres examens afin de vérifier votre état général de santé et d’aider à planifier votre traitement.

 

Antécédents médicaux et examen physique

Vos antécédents médicaux consistent en un bilan de vos symptômes, de vos facteurs de risque et de tous les événements et troubles médicaux que vous auriez pu éprouver dans le passé. En notant vos antécédents médicaux, votre médecin vous posera des questions sur vos antécédents personnels de :

  • tabagisme;
  • exposition professionnelle à des produits chimiques;
  • irritation chronique de la vessie;
  • radiothérapie au bassin;
  • chimiothérapie.

Votre médecin peut aussi vous poser des questions sur vos antécédents familiaux de cancer de la vessie.

L'examen physique permet à votre médecin de rechercher tout signe de cancer de la vessie. Lors de l'examen physique, votre médecin peut :

  • faire un examen pelvien bimanuel (à deux mains);
  • palper votre abdomen pour savoir s’il n’y a pas de masse et vérifier si votre foie est enflé;
  • vérifier si les ganglions lymphatiques aux aines, à l’abdomen et au cou sont enflés.

Lors de l’examen pelvien bimanuel, le médecin insère des doigts de la main gantée et lubrifiée dans le vagin de la femme ou dans le rectum de l’homme et place l'autre main sur la partie inférieure de l'abdomen. En exerçant une pression sur l'abdomen et en déplaçant ses doigts dans le vagin ou le rectum, le médecin est en mesure de palper une masse ou l'épaississement d'une région de la vessie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’examen physique.

Retour au menu

Cystoscopie

Lors de la cystoscopie, on a recours à un endoscope (instrument mince semblable à un tube muni d’une lumière et d’une lentille) pour examiner ou traiter la vessie et l’urètre. Le médecin fait une cystoscopie pour regarder à l’intérieur des voies urinaires et examiner attentivement la vessie. Elle lui permet de connaître la taille, l’emplacement et le modèle de croissance de toute anomalie dans la vessie.

Il est possible que le médecin enlève une petite tumeur ou une région anormale lors de la cystoscopie. (On enlève la tumeur par l’urètre, alors on appelle cette chirurgie résection transurétrale). On peut aussi faire une biopsie et un prélèvement d’urine lors de la cystoscopie.

Lors de la cystoscopie en fluorescence, on utilise un colorant appelé porphyrine et une lumière spéciale pour aider à rendre les cellules cancéreuses plus faciles à observer. Les porphyrines forment un groupe de substances chimiques qui reluisent lorsqu'on les expose à la lumière bleue. Le médecin injecte la porphyrine dans la vessie et les cellules cancéreuses l’absorbent. Le médecin se sert ensuite du cystoscope pour émettre une lumière bleue dans la vessie. Les cellules cancéreuses qui ont absorbé la porphyrine brillent sous la lumière bleue.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la cystoscopie.

Retour au menu

Biopsie

Lors d’une biopsie, le médecin prélève du tissu ou des cellules du corps afin de les analyser en laboratoire. Le rapport de pathologie issu du laboratoire confirme ou non la présence de cellules cancéreuses dans l’échantillon.

Le médecin peut faire une biopsie ou enlever une petite tumeur lors de la cystoscopie. Il peut aussi prélever dans la vessie des échantillons de tissu qui semble normal afin de savoir s’il y a un cancer très précoce qu’on appelle carcinome in situ. L’échantillon ou la tumeur est examiné au microscope puisqu’on veut savoir si un cancer de la vessie est présent et jusqu’où les cellules cancéreuses ont envahi la paroi de la vessie, c’est-à-dire la profondeur de l’envahissement.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la biopsie.

Retour au menu

Urographie intraveineuse (UIV)

L’UIV est aussi appelée pyélographie intraveineuse ou urographie descendante. C’est une série de radiographies de l'appareil urinaire, qui comprend les reins, les uretères, la vessie et l’urètre. On injecte un produit de contraste (iode radio-opaque) dans une veine. L’iode radio-opaque se concentre dans l’urine. On prend des radiographies alors que l’urine circule dans l’appareil urinaire. Ces images peuvent aider le médecin à diagnostiquer des anomalies dans la vessie et le reste de l’appareil urinaire. On n’a pas aussi souvent recours à l’UIV qu’à la TDM pour diagnostiquer le cancer de la vessie.

La pyélographie ascendante ressemble à l’UIV, mais on injecte le colorant directement dans l’appareil urinaire plutôt que dans une veine par un tube inséré dans l’urètre lors de la cystoscopie. On a parfois recours à cette intervention pour savoir ce qui bloque l’écoulement normal d’urine. Elle peut aussi aider à diagnostiquer un cancer du revêtement interne de l’uretère ou du rein. On fait une pyélographie ascendante si une personne ne peut pas recevoir le produit de contraste administré lors de l’UIV parce qu’elle y est allergique ou que sa fonction rénale est faible.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’urographie intraveineuse (UIV).

Retour au menu

Tests d’urine

Les tests d’urine aident le médecin à connaître l’état de santé global d’une personne et la présence de problèmes. Il peut avoir recours à différents tests d’urine s’il pense que la personne est atteinte d’un cancer de la vessie.

L'analyse d’urine est un test urinaire courant qui détermine la couleur, l'apparence et le contenu d'un prélèvement d'urine. Elle permet aussi de mesurer des substances présentes dans l’urine, comme les électrolytes, les hormones et les déchets du métabolisme. On fait une analyse d’urine pour y détecter des anomalies. Si on observe du sang dans l'urine, cela signifie qu'il y a un saignement quelque part dans les voies urinaires (reins, uretères, vessie ou urètre). Cela peut indiquer que la personne a une infection ou un cancer.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’analyse d’urine.

La culture d’urine est la technique qui consiste à faire croître des micro-organismes, comme des bactéries, des cellules ou des tissus dans un milieu préparé spécialement pour favoriser la croissance. On fait une culture d'urine pour savoir s'il y a des bactéries dans l'urine. (L'urine contenue dans la vessie ne renferme normalement pas de bactéries). Le prélèvement d'urine est effectué et conservé dans des conditions où les bactéries peuvent croître. Après 1 à 3 jours, on examine le prélèvement au microscope pour savoir s'il contient des bactéries. La culture d'urine sert à exclure l'infection comme cause des symptômes urinaires.

Retour au menu

Analyse cytologique

La cytologie est l’étude des cellules.

L'analyse cytologique de l'urine permet d'observer les cellules du revêtement de la vessie, des uretères et des reins libérées dans l'urine. La présence de cellules anormales signifie qu'il pourrait y avoir un cancer quelque part dans les voies urinaires. Pour l'analyse cytologique, il est possible de prendre des cellules dans un prélèvement normal d'urine. Le médecin peut rincer abondamment la vessie avec une solution saline (eau salée) lors de la cystoscopie pour prélever des cellules, ce qu’on appelle lavage vésical.

L’hybridation in situ en fluorescence (FISH) est un type d’analyse chromosomique, ou test cytogénétique. On peut y avoir recours pour chercher des changements spécifiques dans les chromosomes des cellules de la vessie. Lors de la FISH, on utilise des colorants particuliers qui se fixent seulement à des parties spécifiques de certains chromosomes. Des anomalies trop petites pour être observées par analyse standard des chromosomes peuvent être détectées par FISH. Le test Urovysion est une forme de FISH qui peut permettre de trouver des anomalies chromosomiques liées à la présence du cancer dans les cellules de la vessie.

Retour au menu

Tests de dosage des marqueurs tumoraux

Les marqueurs tumoraux sont des substances, habituellement des protéines, observées dans l’urine qui peuvent signifier la présence du cancer de la vessie. On a généralement recours aux tests de dosage des marqueurs tumoraux pour vérifier votre réaction au traitement du cancer. Ils peuvent aussi permettre de diagnostiquer le cancer de la vessie.

On peut mesurer les marqueurs tumoraux suivants dans le cas du cancer de la vessie.

L’antigène associé à la tumeur de la vessie (BTA) est une protéine qu’on peut détecter dans l’urine quand le cancer de la vessie est présent.

Les protéines de la matrice nucléaire (NMP) sont libérées dans l’urine par les cellules du cancer de la vessie. On peut avoir recours à des tests d’urine permettant de rechercher la protéine 22 de la matrice nucléaire (NMP22) afin de diagnostiquer un cancer de la vessie.

L’antigène carcino-embryonnaire (ACE) et mucine est une substance qu’on observe parfois dans les cellules du cancer de la vessie. Des tests tels qu’ImmunoCyt/uCyt+ peuvent permettre de rechercher cette substance sur les cellules cancéreuses présentes dans l’urine.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les tests de dosage des marqueurs tumoraux.

Retour au menu

Formule sanguine complète (FSC)

La formule sanguine complète (FSC) permet d'évaluer la quantité et la qualité des globules blancs, des globules rouges et des plaquettes. On y a recours pour :

  • vérifier la présence d'une anémie causée par un saignement prolongé, ou chronique, dans la vessie;
  • aider à exclure une infection;
  • obtenir des valeurs de référence auxquelles on pourra comparer les résultats de prochaines FSC effectuées pendant et après le traitement.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la formule sanguine complète (FSC).

Retour au menu

Analyses biochimiques sanguines

Lors d'une analyse biochimique sanguine, on mesure le taux de substances chimiques dans le sang. Elle permet d'évaluer la qualité de fonctionnement de certains organes et aussi de détecter des anomalies. La fonction rénale est particulièrement importante chez les personnes traitées pour un cancer de la vessie. On a aussi recours aux analyses biochimiques sanguines pour savoir si le cancer de la vessie s’est propagé à d’autres organes.

Certaines valeurs d'une analyse biochimique sanguine peuvent être plus élevées que la normale si le cancer de la vessie s’est propagé à certains organes (cancer métastatique). Les résultats de tests de la fonction hépatique, par exemple, peuvent être anormaux si le cancer de la vessie s’est propagé au foie. Si le taux d’une enzyme appelée phosphatase alcaline est plus élevé que la normale, cela peut signifier que le cancer de la vessie s’est propagé aux os.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les analyses biochimiques sanguines.

Retour au menu

Radiographie pulmonaire

Lors d'une radiographie, on emploie des radiations de faible dose pour produire des images des structures du corps sur film. On peut faire une radiographie pulmonaire pour savoir si le cancer de la vessie s'est propagé aux poumons.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiographie.

Retour au menu

Tomodensitométrie (TDM)

Lors d'une tomodensitométrie (TDM), on emploie des appareils radiographiques particuliers afin de produire des images à 3 dimensions et en coupes des organes, tissus, os et vaisseaux sanguins du corps. Un ordinateur assemble les clichés en images détaillées.

On peut faire une TDM de l’abdomen et du bassin pour :

  • observer la vessie, les uretères et les reins;
  • trouver une tumeur et déterminer sa taille;
  • savoir si le cancer s'est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques, au foie et à d’autres structures qui entourent la vessie.

L’uro-TDM, ou urographie tomodensitométrique, est une urographie intraveineuse assistée par tomodensitométrie plutôt que par radiographie. Elle permet d’observer spécifiquement le revêtement interne des reins et des uretères. On a plus souvent recours à l’uro-TDM qu’à l’UIV.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la tomodensitométrie (TDM).

Retour au menu

Imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM)

En imagerie par résonance magnétique, on a recours à de puissantes forces magnétiques et à des ondes radio-électriques pour produire des images en coupes des organes, tissus, os et vaisseaux sanguins du corps. Un ordinateur assemble les images en clichés à 3 dimensions.

On peut faire une IRM de l’abdomen et du bassin au lieu d'une TDM pour :

  • observer la vessie, les uretères et les reins;
  • trouver une tumeur et déterminer sa taille;
  • savoir si le cancer s'est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques, au foie et à d’autres structures qui entourent la vessie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’IRM.

Retour au menu

Échographie

Lors d'une échographie, on a recours à des ondes sonores de haute fréquence pour produire des images des structures du corps. L'échographie permet de :

  • déterminer la taille de la tumeur à la vessie;
  • savoir si le cancer s’est propagé à d’autres organes ou structures.

L’échographie ne révèle pas autant de détails que la TDM, alors elle n’est pas aussi fiable qu’elle. Faire seulement une échographie ne donne pas au médecin suffisamment de renseignements pour évaluer pleinement le cancer de la vessie. Il arrive aussi qu’on ne détecte pas de nombreuses tumeurs de la vessie par échographie et même par TDM.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’échographie.

Retour au menu

Scintigraphie osseuse

Lors d'une scintigraphie osseuse, on emploie des matières radioactives qui se fixent sur les os (produits radiopharmaceutiques) et un ordinateur pour créer une image des os. On peut y avoir recours pour savoir si le cancer s'est propagé aux os. On fait habituellement une scintigraphie osseuse seulement si le cancer de la vessie est avancé et si la douleur osseuse est présente.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la scintigraphie osseuse.

Retour au menu

Questions à poser à votre équipe de soins

Apprenez-en davantage sur le diagnostic. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur le diagnostic à votre équipe de soins.

Histoires

Dr Marc Therrien Le Dr Marc Therrien s’emploie à bloquer une protéine impliquée dans le développement du cancer.

Plus de details

Défense des intérêts des personnes atteintes de cancer

Illustration d’un mégaphone

Nos employés et bénévoles rencontrent les élus des divers paliers de gouvernement (municipal, provincial et fédéral) pour les convaincre de faire de la lutte contre le cancer une de leurs priorités.

Apprenez-en plus