Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

What is cancer?

Cancer is a disease that starts in our cells. Our bodies are made up of millions of cells, grouped together to form tissues and organs such as muscles and bones, the lungs and the liver. Genes inside each cell order it to grow, work, reproduce and die. Normally, our cells obey these orders and we remain healthy. But sometimes the instructions get mixed up, causing the cells to form lumps or tumours, or spread through the bloodstream and lymphatic system to other parts of the body.

Tumours can be either benign (non-cancerous) or malignant (cancerous). Benign tumour cells stay in one place in the body and are not usually life-threatening.

Malignant tumour cells are able to invade nearby tissues and spread to other parts of the body. Cancer cells that spread to other parts of the body are called metastases.

The first sign that a malignant tumour has spread (metastasized) is often swelling of nearby lymph nodes, but cancer can metastasize to almost any part of the body. It is important to find malignant tumours as early as possible.

Cancers are named after the part of the body where they start. For example, cancer that starts in the bladder but spreads to the lung is called bladder cancer with lung metastases.


Photo of Martin Alberto Dr Martin found that carbs and gut microbes can fuel colorectal cancer.

Read more

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer?

Le cancer est une maladie qui prend naissance dans nos cellules. Notre corps compte des millions de cellules, regroupées en tissus et en organes, dont les muscles et les os, les poumons et le foie. Chaque cellule contient des gènes qui régissent sa croissance, son fonctionnement, sa reproduction et sa mort. Normalement, nos cellules obéissent aux instructions qui leurs sont données et nous demeurons en bonne santé. Mais il arrive parfois que les instructions deviennent confuses et que les cellules se mettent à former des masses ou des tumeurs ou qu’elles se faufilent dans la circulation sanguine et le système lymphatique pour se propager à d’autres parties du corps.

Les tumeurs peuvent être bénignes (non cancéreuses) ou malignes (cancéreuses). Les cellules formant les tumeurs bénignes demeurent localisées dans une partie du corps et ne mettent généralement pas la vie en danger.

Les cellules à l’origine des tumeurs malignes ont la capacité d’envahir les tissus voisins et de se répandre ailleurs. Les cellules cancéreuses qui se propagent dans d’autres parties du corps  sont appelées métastases.

Le premier signe de cet envahissement est souvent l’enflure des ganglions lymphatiques situés près de la tumeur, mais les métastases peuvent atteindre pratiquement toutes les parties du corps. Il est important de trouver les tumeurs malignes le plus tôt possible.

Un cancer porte le nom de la partie du corps où il prend naissance. Un cancer qui débute dans la vessie et se propage ensuite aux poumons, par exemple, est appelé cancer de la vessie avec métastases aux poumons (métastases pulmonaires).

Histoires

Dr Jason Gilliland Le Dr Jason Gilliland fait la promotion de l’activité physique auprès des enfants.

Plus de details

Une célébration pour les survivants du cancer au Relais pour la vie

Illustration du Relais pour la vie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit une occasion en or de célébrer le courage des survivants du cancer dans la bataille contre la maladie. Lors des centaines d’événements du Relais pour la vie qui ont lieu d’un bout à l’autre du pays, des milliers de gens se réunissent pour effectuer le Tour des survivants.

Apprenez-en plus