You are here: 

Research in stem cell transplants

Stem cell transplant replaces a person’s blood-forming (hematopoietic) stem cells. It is used when stem cells or the bone marrow has been damaged by chemotherapy drugs, radiation therapy or disease (such as cancer). The new stem cells make healthy blood cells.

Stem cell transplants have changed in the past 20 years. Researchers are studying ways to make stem cell transplants safer and more effective.

Blood and bone marrow stem cell transplants

Most stem cell transplants use stem cells taken from the blood instead of the bone marrow. The reason is that more stem cells can be taken from blood circulating in the body (called peripheral blood) than from bone marrow. Also, it’s easier for donors to give peripheral blood stem cells than bone marrow. Another reason that peripheral blood stem cell transplants are more common is that the recipient’s blood cell count usually recovers faster than with a bone marrow transplant.

Back to top

Reduced-intensity allogeneic transplants

An allogeneic stem cell transplant takes blood or bone marrow from a donor (usually a first-degree relative) and gives it to a recipient. Researchers are studying a new, experimental procedure called a reduced-intensity allogeneic transplant. It is similar to an allogeneic transplant as it uses stem cells from a matched donor. This transplant uses lower doses of chemotherapy or radiation therapy that don’t completely destroy the recipient’s bone marrow so blood cell counts don’t drop as low as they do in standard stem cell transplants. For this reason, there is a lower risk of complications.

A reduced-intensity allogeneic transplant is also called:

  • mini-allotransplant
  • mini-transplant
  • non-myeloablative transplant
  • mixed chimerism transplant

Reduced-intensity allogeneic transplants tend to work better when cancer is present in small amounts or is growing slowly (low-grade). Researchers are looking at ways to improve outcomes with this treatment because reduced-intensity allogeneic transplants are linked with a higher risk of recurrence than standard stem cell transplants. They are also studying reduced-intensity allogeneic transplants for people who may not be able to tolerate a standard stem cell transplant, such as those with certain health conditions and older people.

Researchers are also looking at using reduced-intensity allogeneic transplants after an autologous transplant. An autologous stem cell transplant uses a person’s own blood or bone marrow. It is collected and then stored and later given back to the same person. Giving an autologous transplant before the reduced-intensity allogeneic transplant can help lower the amount of cancer in the body. A lower dose of chemotherapy given before the reduced-intensity allogeneic transplant may then still work well and allow a person to have the benefit of the graft-versus-leukemia or graft-versus-tumour effect of the allogeneic transplant.

Back to top

Cord blood transplants

Cord blood transplants are linked with a lower risk of graft-versus-host disease (GVHD). Cord blood transplants are most often used when the person doesn’t have a matched sibling and an unrelated donor can’t be found.

Stem cells can be removed from the blood of the placenta and the umbilical cord of a newborn. This cord blood can be banked and stored for the family’s own use later, or it can be donated to a blood bank. In Canada, there are a few cord blood banks or programs that collect and store cord blood.

Research using cord blood transplants includes studying how stem cells from cord blood can be appropriately used and who would be most suited for this procedure. The amount of blood taken from the umbilical cord is small (50–100 mL). This means there are a limited number of stem cells available for transplant (less than 10% of the number given in a typical stem cell transplant). For this reason, cord blood transplants are mostly studied in children and small adults. Researchers are also looking for ways to use cord blood in larger adults, such as by boosting the number of stem cells in cord blood before they are transplanted.

Researchers are also using cord blood from 2 newborns (dual cord blood transplant) and using cord blood in reduced-intensity allogeneic transplants (mini-transplants).

Back to top

Tandem transplants

A tandem transplant is also called a double autologous transplant. A tandem transplant means that 2 autologous transplants are given in a row. The recipient is given 2 courses of high-dose chemotherapy. Each dose is followed by a stem cell transplant.

Stem cells are collected before the first high-dose chemotherapy treatment. Half of the stem cells are used for each transplant. The 2 courses of chemotherapy are usually given within 6 months. The second course of chemotherapy will not be given until the person recovers from the first transplant.

Tandem transplants are used to treat some types of cancer but researchers are still trying to decide when it is best to give the transplant and who will benefit most from it. They are also studying tandem transplants to see if they can help lower the risk that the cancer will come back, or recur.

Back to top

New ways of preparing for and managing transplants

Research is trying to find the best ways to prepare a person for conditioning treatment and transplant. Studies are researching:

  • different growth or colony-stimulating factors to activate stem cell production and speed up bone marrow recovery
  • improved conditioning procedures such as different chemotherapy drugs and targeted therapy drugs, or using radioimmunotherapy (a treatment that uses a monoclonal antibody attached to a radioactive substance to deliver radiation to cancer cells)
  • better ways to prevent and treat potential side effects of stem cell transplants such as infection, sore mouth (mucositis) and GVHD
  • better ways to “clean” (purge) stem cells to remove any remaining cancer cells before they are given back to the person in an autologous stem cell transplant
  • how to improve treatments that are given after a stem cell transplant (called maintenance therapy) to help prevent relapse

Back to top

Using mismatched donors

A donor’s stem cells need to match the recipient’s as closely as possible to improve the chance of a successful stem cell transplant and to lower the risk of complications. Human leukocyte antigen (HLA) typing makes sure that the donor and recipient are closely matched. At least 6–10 specific antigens need to match. A person has the best chance of finding a match from one of their relatives, with the greatest likelihood for a match being a blood-related sibling.

Researchers are studying transplants between partially matched relatives because the chance of finding a complete match is quite low.

Find out more about HLA typing.

Back to top

Stem cell transplants for different types of cancer

Researchers are studying the effectiveness of stem cell transplants for cancers that are not normally treated with stem cell transplants. These cancers include:

  • breast cancer
  • kidney cancer
  • ovarian cancer
  • lung cancer
  • colon cancer
  • metastatic cancer

Back to top

Encouraging non-Caucasians to donate stem cells

A person who gets a stem cell transplant has the best chance of finding a donor match if the donor is from the same ethnic background. Currently, most stem cells are donated by Caucasians. Some organizations are encouraging non-Caucasians to participate in donor programs so that people with different ethnic backgrounds have a better chance of finding a good match.

Back to top

graft-versus-tumour

The response of immune cells in transplanted blood or bone marrow against the cancer cells present in the recipient.

graft-versus-host disease (GVHD)

A condition that might happen after a stem cell transplant. Healthy stem cells from a donor (called the graft) attack a recipient’s (receiver’s) cells (called the host). The graft cells see the host cells as foreign and start to destroy them. Symptoms include jaundice, rash or blisters on the skin, dry mouth or dry eyes.

monoclonal antibody

A substance that can find and bind to a particular target molecule (antigen) on a cancer cell.

Monoclonal antibodies can interfere with a cell’s function or can be used to carry drugs, toxins or radioactive material directly to a tumour.

Stories

Rosemary Pedlar After seeing a Canadian Cancer Society call for volunteers in a newspaper, Rosemary knew that this was her opportunity to get started.

Read Rosemary's story

What’s the lifetime risk of getting cancer?

Icon - 1 in 2

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report shows about half of Canadians are expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:

Recherche sur la greffe de cellules souches

La greffe de cellules souches permet de remplacer les cellules souches qui forment le sang (hématopoïétiques) d’une personne. On y a recours quand les cellules souches ou la moelle osseuse ont été endommagées par des agents chimiothérapeutiques, la radiothérapie ou une maladie comme le cancer. Les nouvelles cellules souches fabriquent des cellules sanguines saines.

La greffe de cellules souches a subi des changements au cours des 20 dernières années. Les chercheurs étudient des méthodes pour en accroître la sécurité d'emploi et l'efficacité.

Greffe de cellules souches du sang et de la moelle osseuse

On réalise maintenant la plupart des greffes de cellules souches au moyen de cellules souches prélevées dans le sang plutôt que dans la moelle osseuse. Cela s’explique par le fait qu’on peut prélever des cellules souches en plus grande quantité dans le sang circulant dans le corps, appelé sang périphérique, que dans la moelle osseuse. Il est aussi plus facile pour un donneur de donner des cellules souches provenant du sang périphérique que de la moelle osseuse. Une autre raison pour laquelle on a plus souvent recours aux greffes de cellules souches du sang périphérique est que le taux de cellules sanguines du receveur se rétablit habituellement plus vite qu’avec une greffe de moelle osseuse.

Retour au menu

Allogreffe d’intensité réduite

Lors d’une allogreffe de cellules souches, on prélève du sang ou de la moelle osseuse chez un donneur (habituellement un parent au premier degré) pour l’administrer à un receveur. Les chercheurs étudient une nouvelle intervention expérimentale appelée allogreffe d’intensité réduite. Elle ressemble à l’allogreffe car elle est réalisée avec les cellules souches d’un donneur compatible. Lors de ce type de greffe, on a recours à de plus faibles doses de chimiothérapie qui ne détruisent pas complètement la moelle osseuse du receveur. Ainsi, le nombre de cellules sanguines ne baisse pas aussi fortement qu’avec une greffe de cellules souches standard et de ce fait, diminue le risque de complications.

L’allogreffe d’intensité réduite est aussi appelée :

  • mini-allogreffe
  • mini-greffe
  • greffe non myéloablative
  • greffe engendrant un chimérisme mixte

L’allogreffe d’intensité réduite tend à être plus efficace quand le cancer est présent en petite quantité ou se développe lentement (de bas grade). Les chercheurs tentent de trouver des moyens d’améliorer les résultats de ce traitement car l’allogreffe d’intensité réduite est associée à un plus grand risque de récidive que la greffe de cellules souches standard. Ils étudient aussi l’allogreffe d’intensité réduite auprès de personnes qui ne pourraient tolérer une greffe standard, comme celles qui ont certaines affections médicales et qui sont plus âgées.

Les chercheurs se penchent aussi sur le recours à l’allogreffe d’intensité réduite après une autogreffe. Celle-ci est réalisée avec le sang ou la moelle osseuse de la personne même. Les cellules sont recueillies et entreposées pour être redonnées plus tard à la même personne. L’administration d’une autogreffe avant une allogreffe d’intensité réduite a pour but d’aider à réduire la quantité de cancer dans le corps. Une chimiothérapie à plus faible dose donnée avant l’allogreffe d’intensité réduite pourrait encore être efficace et permettre à la personne de bénéficier de l’effet du greffon contre la leucémie ou du greffon contre la tumeur engendré par l’allogreffe.

Retour au menu

Greffe de sang de cordon

La greffe du sang de cordon est liée à un plus faible risque de réaction du greffon contre l’hôte (GVH). On a le plus souvent recours à la greffe de sang de cordon quand la personne n’a pas un frère ou une sœur compatible et si on ne peut trouver un donneur non apparenté.

On peut obtenir des cellules souches du sang du placenta et du cordon ombilical d’un nouveau-né. Ce sang de cordon est ensuite mis en banque et entreposé pour usage futur par la famille ou il peut être donné à une banque de sang. Au Canada, il existe quelques banques ou programmes de sang de cordon qui font la collecte et l’entreposage de sang de cordon.

Les recherches effectuées à l’aide de greffes de sang de cordon tentent entre autres de déterminer comment on peut utiliser adéquatement ces cellules souches et quelles personnes seraient les plus aptes à subir ce genre de greffe. On ne peut prélever qu’une faible quantité de sang (de 50 à 100 ml) du cordon ombilical. Cela veut donc dire que le nombre de cellules souches disponibles pour une greffe est limité, soit moins de 10 % du nombre donné lors d’une greffe de cellules souches typique. C’est pourquoi les greffes de sang de cordon sont surtout étudiées chez les enfants et les adultes de petite taille. Les chercheurs tentent également de trouver des façons d’utiliser le sang de cordon chez les adultes de plus grande taille, notamment en augmentant le nombre de cellules souches dans le sang de cordon avant qu’elles ne soient greffées.

Les chercheurs ont aussi recours au sang de cordon provenant de 2 nouveau-nés et emploient également le sang de cordon pour les allogreffes d’intensité réduite (mini-greffes).

Retour au menu

Greffes en tandem

Lors d’une greffe en tandem, qui est aussi appelée double autogreffe, on réalise habituellement 2 autogreffes de suite. On administre 2 cycles de chimiothérapie à forte dose au receveur, chacun d’eux étant suivi d’une greffe de cellules souches.

On fait la collecte de cellules souches avant le premier traitement de chimiothérapie à forte dose. On utilise la moitié des cellules souches pour chaque greffe. Les 2 cycles de chimiothérapie sont habituellement administrés au cours d’une période de 6 mois. Le deuxième cycle est donné seulement lorsque la personne s’est rétablie de la première greffe.

On a recours aux greffes en tandem pour traiter certains types de cancers, mais les chercheurs tentent encore de déterminer quel est le meilleur moment pour faire la greffe et pour qui elle sera le plus bénéfique. Ils étudient également les greffes en tandem pour savoir si elles peuvent aider à réduire le risque de réapparition, ou récidive, du cancer.

Retour au menu

Méthodes innovatrices de préparation à la greffe et de prise en charge

Les chercheurs tentent de trouver les meilleures façons de préparer la personne au conditionnement (traitement préparatoire) et à la greffe. Les études portent sur les aspects suivants :

  • différents facteurs de croissance ou de stimulation des colonies pour activer la production de cellules souches et accélérer le rétablissement de la moelle osseuse
  • méthodes améliorées de traitement préparatoire, comme différents agents chimiothérapeutiques et médicaments ciblés, ou le recours à la radioimmunothérapie (un traitement qui emploie des anticorps monoclonaux liés à une substance radioactive pour acheminer la radiation aux cellules cancéreuses)
  • meilleures méthodes pour prévenir et traiter les effets secondaires possibles d’une greffe de cellules souches, dont l’infection, la douleur dans la bouche (mucosite) et la GVH
  • meilleures façons de « nettoyer » (purger) les cellules souches afin d'en éliminer toute cellule cancéreuse résiduelle avant de les redonner à la personne lors d’une autogreffe de cellules souches
  • moyens pour améliorer les traitements administrés après la greffe (appelés traitements d’entretien) dans le but de prévenir une rechute

Retour au menu

Recours à des donneurs non compatibles

Pour améliorer les chances de réussite d’une greffe et pour réduire les complications, il faut que les cellules souches du donneur soient le plus compatibles possible avec celles du receveur. Le typage de l’antigène leucocytaire humain (HLA) permet de s’assurer que la compatibilité entre le donneur et le receveur est la plus grande possible. Au moins 6 à 10 antigènes spécifiques doivent être compatibles. La plus grande probabilité de trouver un donneur compatible pour une personne est auprès des membres de sa famille, en particulier une sœur ou un frère apparenté.

Les chercheurs se penchent sur les greffes réalisées entre les membres partiellement compatibles d’une famille car la chance de trouver un donneur parfaitement compatible est plutôt faible.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le typage HLA.

Retour au menu

Greffes de cellules souches pour différents types de cancers

Les chercheurs tentent de connaître l'efficacité de la greffe de cellules souches pour les cancers qu’on ne traite pas normalement par ce type de greffe. Ces cancers comportent ceux qui suivent :

  • le cancer du sein
  • le cancer du rein
  • le cancer de l'ovaire
  • le cancer du poumon
  • le cancer colorectal
  • le cancer métastatique

Retour au menu

Encourager les personnes qui ne sont pas de race blanche à donner des cellules souches

Une personne qui reçoit une greffe de cellules souches a de meilleures chances de trouver un donneur compatible parmi des gens de la même origine ethnique. La plupart des cellules souches sont actuellement données par des Blancs. Certains organismes encouragent ceux qui ne sont pas de race blanche à participer à des programmes de donneurs de façon à ce que les personnes d’origine ethnique différente aient une meilleure chance de trouver un donneur compatible.

Retour au menu

effet du greffon contre la tumeur

Réaction des cellules immunitaires présentes dans les cellules du sang ou de la moelle osseuse greffées (greffon) contre les cellules cancéreuses présentes dans le corps du receveur.

réaction du greffon contre l’hôte (GVH)

Trouble qui peut apparaître après une greffe de cellules souches. Les cellules souches saines du donneur, qu’on appelle greffon, attaquent les cellules du receveur, appelé hôte. Les cellules du greffon considèrent les cellules de l’hôte comme des étrangères et commencent à les détruire. Les symptômes incluent la jaunisse, une éruption cutanée ou des ampoules sur la peau ainsi que la sécheresse de la bouche ou des yeux.

anticorps monoclonal

Substance qui a la capacité de reconnaître une molécule cible particulière (antigène) d’une cellule cancéreuse et de s’y fixer.

Les anticorps monoclonaux peuvent nuire à la fonction cellulaire ou peuvent servir à transporter des médicaments, des toxines ou des matières radioactives directement vers une tumeur.

Histoires

Stephanie Hermsen Grâce au financement de la Société canadienne du cancer, on a fait des pas de géant dans la recherche sur le rétinoblastome, et Liam n’aura pas à vivre ce que moi, j’ai vécu.

Lisez l’histoire de Stephanie

Investir pour réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – tirelire

L’an dernier, la SCC a financé la recherche sur le cancer à hauteur de 40 millions de dollars, grâce à nos donateurs. Découvrez comment vous pouvez aider à réduire le fardeau du cancer.

Apprenez-en plus