You are here: 

Research in screening and finding cancer early

Cancers that are found early are usually easier to treat and cure. But most types of cancer don’t have screening tests. Breast, cervical, colorectal, lung – these types of cancer have safe and effective screening tests. But could we do more with these tests? How can screening programs be improved – are there better tests that could be developed or should some people have the tests more often? And just imagine how many more lives could be saved if there were screening tests for all types of cancer or a way to screen for several types of cancer at the same time.

Along with trying to figure out how to get more people to use the screening programs that we already have, researchers are trying to improve current tests, lessen any harm from screening and develop new ways to find cancer early. Researchers are also very interested in uncovering what individuals or groups of people are at higher risk of developing cancer so that those people can be tested at an earlier age, tested more often or tested with different tests to find cancer early.

The following are some tests and procedures that researchers are studying to screen for cancer and find cancer early. It often takes many years of studying new tests to learn if they are effective.

Imaging

Researchers continue to try to find out if the imaging tests that we currently use to help diagnose cancer and plan treatment can find cancer early, especially in people who have a higher than average risk of developing cancer. These imaging tests include:

  • x-ray
  • ultrasound
  • CT scan (computed tomography)
  • MRI (magnetic resonance imaging)
  • PET scan (positron emission tomography)

Breast tomosynthesis

Researchers are also trying to develop new imaging techniques based on current imaging tests. Breast tomosynthesis is an imaging test similar to mammography. It uses an x-ray machine that moves around the breast and takes pictures. The pictures can be stacked together to make a 3D image of the breast to help doctors find breast cancer. Researchers are trying to find out if breast tomosynthesis is better than mammography for breast cancer screening. Some research has shown that breast tomosynthesis has a lower rate of false positives and may help find smaller breast cancers more easily. A false positive means that the tests shows there is cancer but there isn’t. False-positives lead to unnecessary testing and can cause a lot of worry for the person being tested. Breast tomosynthesis may be especially useful in women with dense breasts where small cancers can be hard to find with regular mammography.

Virtual endoscopy

An endoscope is a thin, tube-like instrument with a light and lens. An endoscopy is a procedure that uses an endoscope to let a doctor see inside the body. A virtual endoscopy is an imaging test that uses a CT scan to create images of the inside of an organ. A computer makes a 3D picture of the organ using several CT scan images. Doctors can use the 3D view to look at the lining of an organ much like they would during a regular endoscopy, but without having to insert an endoscope. A virtual endoscopy is more comfortable than a regular endoscopy since the doctor doesn’t have to insert an endoscope into the body.

There are some disadvantages with virtual endoscopy. The procedure exposes you to radiation, it doesn’t always find abnormal areas that are very small and the doctor can’t take a biopsy if they see an abnormal area. This means that if an abnormal area is found, you will need to have another test, such as a regular endoscopy as well as a biopsy if it’s needed.

Specialized endoscopies are named for the organ or structure they examine or treat. Researchers are studying virtual colonoscopy to look for signs of cancer in the colon and rectum. They are also studying virtual bronchoscopy to look at the lungs, trachea (windpipe) and bronchi (the 2 tubes that branch from the trachea) in people who have a high risk of lung cancer.

Capsule endoscopy

Researchers are studying capsule endoscopy as a screening test for cancers of the digestive tract. Capsule endoscopy is more comfortable than a regular endoscopy and it doesn’t expose you to radiation like virtual endoscopy.

Capsule endoscopy is done by swallowing a pill (called a capsule). The capsule is about the size of a vitamin and has a light and camera. It takes about 8 hours for the capsule to travel through the body. It leaves the body with stool during a bowel movement. As it moves through the digestive tract, the camera takes thousands of pictures which are sent to a device that you wear on your body. The doctor can download the pictures from the device onto a computer to look for abnormal areas like ulcers or polyps.

Your bowels need to be as empty as possible for capsule endoscopy. So one disadvantage of preparing for this test compared to preparing for a standard endoscopy is that you may need to take more laxatives closer to the time of the test. Also, a capsule endoscopy tends to find fewer abnormal areas than a standard endoscopy.

Scientists are studying capsule endoscopy as a screening test for small intestine cancer and colorectal cancer. But further research is needed to try to improve this technique so that it is better at finding abnormal areas.

Tumour marker tests

Biomarkers are substances that occur naturally in the cells, tissue or fluids of your body. Some biomarkers are found in abnormal amounts in people with cancer and people who have precancerous conditions. Researchers are studying different biomarkers to see which are helpful at finding cancer or predicting prognosis and response to treatment in people with cancer. When biomarkers are used to find or understand more about cancer, they are also called tumour markers.

Some tumour markers are specific to one type of cancer, while others are related to more than one type of cancer. They also help predict which cancers are more or less likely to spread.

Researchers are trying to find out if tumour markers in tissue or cells removed from the body, such as blood, urine, stool, saliva, sputum (mucus that is coughed up from the lungs), exhaled breath, semen and vaginal secretions, can help find cancer early. Researchers are also testing combinations of tumour markers, called panels, to see if any of the combinations are better than using one tumour marker to screen for cancer.

Tumour marker tests allow doctors to understand cancer better and learn how it is likely to behave or respond to treatment in each person. Tumour markers and tumour marker tests are part of the growing field of personalized or precision medicine.

As we discover new tumour markers and learn more about the role our genes play in developing cancer, researchers can use this information to develop better screening tests that look for changes before any other signs or symptoms of cancer start to develop. Knowing this information also helps identify those people who have a higher than average risk of developing cancer and who would therefore benefit the most from screening.

Liquid biopsy

A liquid biopsy tests the blood or other body fluid for cancer. It looks for cancer cells, pieces of tumour DNA (called circulating tumour DNA) and other substances released by the tumour. The test can be done on a sample of blood removed during a blood test. Most research using a liquid biopsy is looking at using this technique instead of a standard biopsy to diagnose cancer or look for cancer that has come back after treatment.

It is possible that a liquid biopsy will someday be used to help find cancer early. But there are many challenges to overcome because people who don’t have symptoms of cancer are unlikely to have high amounts of cancer in the blood. So a test that is sensitive enough to find the smallest amounts of cancer in the blood or other body fluids needs to be developed. The test should also be specific to detecting cancer and no other health conditions to help lower the chance of a misdiagnosis.

Find out more about personalized medicine and tumour marker tests.

Genes and gene-based tests

Gene-based tests find differences between normal genes and genes that are changed, or mutated, in cancer cells. Genes are pieces of DNA that tell each cell in your body how to behave. Doctors sometimes look at single genes or many genes together to see if there are changes. Genes that are changed or mutated are a type of tumour marker that doctors can test for. There are many genetic changes or mutations that researchers have linked to cancer. This includes the mutations in the BRCA1 and BRCA2 genes linked to breast cancer and mutations in the EGFR gene linked to non–small cell lung cancer. And recent research shows that children and young adults who develop cancer have a higher rate of having a gene mutation linked to cancer than adults with cancer.

Microarray analysis is a type of gene-based test that allows researchers to look at many genes together to see which ones are turned on and which ones are turned off. Analyzing many genes at the same time to see which are turned on and which are turned off is called gene expression profiling or multigene panel testing.

Using tumour markers, genes and gene-based tests to try to find cancer early is a part of the growing field called personalized or precision medicine. Find out more about personalized medicine.

HPV test

Human papillomavirus (HPV) is a group of more than 100 different types of related viruses. Some 14 types of HPV can cause abnormal changes to cells in the cervix, mouth (oral cavity), throat (pharynx), vagina, vulva, penis and anus. These abnormal changes can become precancerous conditions and cancer. An HPV test is a procedure that removes a small sample of cells and tests them for the DNA or RNA of high-risk types of HPV.

The HPV test is most often used as a screening test to find individuals at high risk for cervical cancer and precancerous conditions in the cervix. But the HPV test is not yet used as a part of all cervical cancer screening programs in Canada. Researchers are still trying to find out the best way to use the HPV test as part of cervical cancer screening.

Researchers are also trying to find out how to use the HPV test to find other types of cancer linked to HPV. Finding high-risk types of HPV can help doctors identify people who are most likely to develop precancerous conditions linked to HPV. These people can have follow-up tests to watch for signs of a precancerous condition and then have treatment for it before cancer develops.

Find out more about the HPV test.

mammography

A procedure used to x-ray the breast.

Doctors use mammography to look for tumours or cysts (sacs that are usually filled with fluid or semi-solid material) in the breasts.

Different types of mammography include screening mammography and diagnostic mammography.

The x-ray image produced is called a mammogram.

digestive system

The group of organs that work together to take in food and liquid, break them down, absorb nutrients and pass waste from the body.

The digestive system includes the organs of the gastrointestinal (GI) tract, or digestive tract. The organs of the GI tract are the mouth, pharynx (throat), esophagus, stomach, small intestine and large intestine. The digestive system also includes other organs of digestion, which are the teeth, tongue, salivary glands, liver, pancreas and gallbladder.

precancerous

Having the potential to develop into cancer.

A precancerous condition can (or is likely to) become cancerous (malignant).

Also called premalignant.

deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA)

The molecules inside the cell that program genetic information. DNA determines the structure, function and behaviour of a cell.

RNA

See ribonucleic acid (RNA).

Stories

Canadian Cancer Trials Group researcher Dr Christopher O’Callaghan The Canadian Cancer Trials Group is improving glioblastoma survival in the elderly.

Learn more

Cancer affects all Canadians

Icon - 1 in 2

Nearly 1 in 2 Canadians is expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:

Recherche sur le dépistage et la détection précoce

Un cancer que l’on détecte tôt est habituellement plus facile à traiter et à guérir. Mais pour la plupart des types de cancer, il n’y a pas de tests de dépistage. Pour le cancer du sein, le cancer du col de l’utérus et le cancer colorectal, il existe des tests de dépistage sûrs et efficaces; mais pourrions-nous faire plus avec ces tests? Comment améliorer les programmes de dépistage – existe-t-il de meilleurs tests quelque part ou certaines personnes devraient-elles passer des tests plus souvent? Imaginez un instant combien de vies en plus pourraient être sauvées s’il existait des tests de dépistage pour tous les types de cancer ou une façon de dépister plusieurs types de cancer en même temps.

En plus d’essayer de trouver des façons d’amener plus de personnes à prendre part aux programmes de dépistage qui existent déjà, les chercheurs tentent d’améliorer les tests actuels, d’atténuer tout effet nuisible engendré par le dépistage et de mettre au point de nouvelles méthodes de dépistage du cancer à un stade précoce. Les chercheurs sont aussi très intéressés à découvrir quels individus ou groupes de personnes présentent des risques élevés de cancer de sorte que ces personnes puissent passer des tests à un plus jeune âge, en passer plus souvent ou subir des tests différents pour détecter le cancer à ses débuts.

Les chercheurs évaluent certains tests et interventions, dont ceux qui suivent, pour le dépistage et la détection du cancer à un stade précoce.

Imagerie

Les chercheurs tentent toujours de savoir si les examens d’imagerie que nous utilisons actuellement pour aider à diagnostiquer le cancer et à planifier le traitement peuvent permettre de trouver le cancer à ses débuts, en particulier chez les personnes dont le risque d’être atteintes de cette maladie est plus élevé que la moyenne. Ces examens d’imagerie sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • Radiographie
  • Échographie
  • Tomodensitométrie (TDM)
  • Imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM)
  • Tomographie par émission de positrons (TEP)

Apprenez-en davantage sur les examens d’imagerie.

Tomosynthèse du sein

Les chercheurs essaient aussi de mettre au point de nouvelles techniques d'imagerie fondées sur les examens d'imagerie actuels. La tomosynthèse du sein est un examen d’imagerie semblable à la mammographie. On a recours à un appareil de radiographie qui se déplace autour du sein et qui prend des clichés. Les clichés peuvent être superposés pour créer une image du sein en 3D afin d’aider les médecins à détecter le cancer du sein. Des chercheurs tentent de savoir si la tomosynthèse du sein est meilleure que la mammographie pour le dépistage du cancer du sein. Certaines recherches ont montré que la tomosynthèse du sein présente un plus faible taux de faux positifs. Un faux positif signifie que le test révèle la présence d'un cancer alors que ce n'est pas le cas. Un faux positif entraîne des examens non nécessaires et peut engendrer beaucoup d’inquiétude chez la personne qui a subi le test.

Endoscopie virtuelle

L’endoscope est un instrument mince semblable à un tube muni d’une source lumineuse et d’une lentille. L’endoscopie est une intervention au cours de laquelle le médecin utilise un endoscope pour regarder à l’intérieur du corps. L'endoscopie virtuelle est un examen d'imagerie au cours duquel on a recours à la tomodensitométrie (TDM) pour créer des images de l'intérieur d'un organe. Un ordinateur assemble plusieurs clichés de TDM pour créer une image tridimensionnelle (3D) de l'organe. Les médecins peuvent ainsi observer en 3D le revêtement d'un organe, comme ils le feraient lors d'une endoscopie habituelle, mais sans avoir à y insérer un endoscope. L'endoscopie virtuelle est plus confortable à passer qu'une endoscopie habituelle puisque le médecin n’a pas besoin d’insérer un endoscope dans le corps.

L’endoscopie virtuelle présente certains désavantages. L’intervention vous expose à la radiation, elle ne permet pas toujours de détecter les régions anormales qui sont très petites, et le médecin ne peut effectuer de biopsie s’il observe une région anormale. Cela signifie que si une région anormale est détectée, vous devez passer un autre test comme une endoscopie habituelle ainsi qu’une biopsie au besoin.

Les endoscopies spécialisées sont nommées en fonction de l’organe ou de la structure à examiner ou à traiter. Des chercheurs étudient la coloscopie virtuelle comme moyen de rechercher des signes de cancer au colon et au rectum. Ils évaluent aussi la bronchoscopie virtuelle comme moyen d’examiner les poumons, la trachée et les bronches (les deux embranchements en forme de tubes de la trachée) chez les personnes dont le risque de cancer du poumon est élevé.

Endoscopie par capsule

Des chercheurs s'intéressent à l’endoscopie par capsule comme test de dépistage des cancers du tube digestif. L’endoscopie par capsule est plus confortable à passer qu’une endoscopie habituelle et elle ne vous expose pas à la radiation, tout comme l’endoscopie virtuelle.

L’endoscopie par capsule se fait en avalant une pilule, qu’on appelle capsule. La capsule est environ de la taille d’un supplément de vitamine et contient une source lumineuse et une caméra. Environ 8 heures sont nécessaires à la capsule pour circuler dans tout le corps. Elle est expulsée du corps avec les selles lors de la défécation. En se déplaçant dans le tube digestif, la caméra prend des milliers de clichés qui sont envoyés vers un dispositif que vous portez sur votre corps. Le médecin peut ensuite transférer les images du dispositif vers un ordinateur afin de voir s'il y a des régions anormales, comme des ulcères ou des polypes.

Vos intestins doivent être aussi vides que possible pour l’endoscopie par capsule. Par conséquent, l’un des désavantages de la préparation à ce test en comparaison à la préparation à une endoscopie standard est que vous pourriez devoir prendre plus de laxatifs à mesure que vous vous rapprochez du moment de passer le test. De plus, l’endoscopie par capsule a tendance à détecter un plus petit nombre de régions anormales que l'endoscopie standard.

Des scientifiques s'intéressent à l’endoscopie par capsule comme test de dépistage du cancer de l’intestin grêle et du cancer colorectal. On doit par contre effectuer d'autres recherches afin de rendre la technique plus efficace pour la détection des régions anormales.

Dosage des marqueurs tumoraux

Les biomarqueurs sont des substances présentes naturellement dans les cellules, les tissus ou les liquides de votre corps. On trouve certains biomarqueurs en quantités anormales chez les personnes atteintes de cancer. Des chercheurs évaluent différents biomarqueurs pour voir lesquels sont utiles pour détecter le cancer, ou pour établir un pronostic et prédire une réaction au traitement chez les personnes atteintes de cancer. Lorsque les biomarqueurs sont utilisés pour détecter ou comprendre davantage le cancer, on les appelle aussi marqueurs tumoraux.

Certains marqueurs tumoraux sont spécifiques à un seul type de cancer, alors que d’autres sont associés à plus d’un type de cancer. Ils peuvent aussi aider les médecins à prédire quels cancers sont les plus ou les moins susceptibles de se propager.

Des chercheurs tentent de savoir si les marqueurs tumoraux présents dans les tissus ou les cellules prélevés dans le corps, comme le sang, l’urine, les selles, la salive, les expectorations (mucus rejeté par les poumons lors de la toux), l’air expiré, le sperme et les sécrétions vaginales peuvent permettre de détecter le cancer à ses débuts. Des chercheurs évaluent aussi des associations de marqueurs tumoraux, appelées profils, pour savoir s’il y en a qui sont plus efficaces qu’un seul marqueur pour dépister le cancer.

Le dosage des marqueurs tumoraux permet aux médecins de mieux comprendre le cancer et de savoir quel sera son comportement ou sa réaction au traitement probable pour chaque personne. Les marqueurs tumoraux et le dosage des marqueurs tumoraux font partie du domaine en croissance que représente la médecine personnalisée, ou de précision, qui repose sur les renseignements de la personne.

À mesure que nous découvrons de nouveaux marqueurs tumoraux et que nous en apprenons davantage sur le rôle de nos gènes dans l’apparition du cancer, les chercheurs peuvent utiliser ces renseignements pour mettre au point de meilleurs tests de dépistage qui permettent de rechercher tout changement avant que d’autres signes ou symptômes du cancer commencent à se manifester. Connaître cette information aide aussi à identifier les personnes qui présentent des risques plus élevés que la moyenne d’être atteintes du cancer et qui pourraient le plus bénéficier du dépistage.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la médecine personnalisée et le dosage des marqueurs tumoraux.

Gènes et tests fondés sur les gènes

Les tests fondés sur les gènes détectent les différences entre les gènes normaux et les gènes qui ont été modifiés, ou mutés, dans les cellules cancéreuses. Les gènes sont des segments d’ADN qui indiquent à chacune des cellules de votre corps comment se comporter. Les médecins examinent parfois des gènes seuls ou plusieurs gènes ensemble pour voir s’il y a des changements. Les gènes qui ont changé ou muté constituent un type de marqueur tumoral que les médecins peuvent analyser. Il y a de nombreux changements ou mutations génétiques que les chercheurs ont reliés au cancer. Cela inclut les mutations des gènes BRCA1 et BRCA2 liés au cancer du sein et les mutations au gène R-EGF liées au cancer du poumon non à petites cellules.

L’analyse des microréseaux est un type de test fondé sur les gènes qui permet aux chercheurs d’observer de nombreux gènes simultanément afin de savoir lesquels sont actifs et lesquels ne le sont pas. Analyser de nombreux gènes à la fois afin de savoir lesquels sont actifs et lesquels ne le sont pas est appelé profil d’expression génétique.

Utiliser les marqueurs tumoraux, les gènes et les tests fondés sur les gènes pour essayer de détecter le cancer à un stade précoce fait partie du domaine en croissance appelé médecine personnalisée, ou de précision. Apprenez-en davantage sur la médecine personnalisée.

Test de dépistage du VPH

Le virus du papillome humain (VPH) forme un groupe de plus de 100 types différents de virus apparentés. Certains types de VPH peuvent causer des changements anormaux aux cellules du col de l’utérus, de la bouche (cavité buccale), de la gorge (pharynx), du vagin, de la vulve, du pénis et de l’anus. Ces changements anormaux peuvent devenir des états précancéreux et un cancer. Le test de dépistage du VPH est une intervention au cours de laquelle on prélève une petite quantité de cellules qu’on analyse pour savoir si elles contiennent l’ADN des types de VPH à risque élevé.

On a le plus souvent recours au test de dépistage du VPH pour identifier les personnes qui présentent un risque élevé d’être atteintes du cancer du col de l'utérus et d’états précancéreux au col de l’utérus. Mais le test de dépistage du VPH ne fait pas partie de tous les programmes de dépistage du cancer du col de l’utérus au Canada. Les chercheurs tentent toujours de trouver la meilleure façon d’utiliser le test de dépistage VPH comme moyen de dépistage du cancer du col de l’utérus.

Les chercheurs essaient aussi de savoir comment utiliser le test de dépistage du VPH pour détecter d’autres types de cancer liés au VPH. La détection des types de VPH à risque élevé peut aider les médecins à identifier les patients qui sont les plus susceptibles d’être atteints d’un état précancéreux lié au VPH. Ces patients peuvent passer des tests de suivi pour surveiller tout signe d’état précancéreux. Lorsqu’on détecte un état précancéreux et qu’on le traite, cela peut aider à prévenir l’apparition d’un cancer.

Apprenez- en davantage sur le test de dépistage du VPH.

mammographie

Intervention visant à obtenir une image radiologique du sein.

Les médecins ont recours à la mammographie pour détecter des tumeurs ou des kystes (genre de sac habituellement rempli d'une substance liquide ou semi-solide) aux seins.

Les différents types de mammographie incluent la mammographie de dépistage et la mammographie diagnostique.

L’image radiologique ainsi obtenue est appelée cliché mammaire.

appareil digestif

Groupe d’organes qui fonctionnent ensemble pour permettre l’ingestion et la décomposition des aliments et des liquides, l’assimilation des éléments nutritifs et l’évacuation des déchets du corps.

L’appareil digestif comprend les organes du tube digestif. Ce sont la bouche, le pharynx (gorge), l’œsophage, l’estomac, l’intestin grêle et le gros intestin. L’appareil digestif comprend aussi d’autres organes de la digestion qui sont les dents, la langue, les glandes salivaires, le foie, le pancréas et la vésicule biliaire.

acide désoxyribonucléique (ADN)

Molécules à l’intérieur de la cellule qui ont la capacité de programmer l’information génétique. L’ADN détermine la structure, la fonction et le comportement d’une cellule.

Histoires

Tuli Chowdhury J’encourage tout le monde à faire du bénévolat pour la Société canadienne du cancer, et en particulier les jeunes, de poursuivre l’adolescente.

Lisez l’histoire de Tuli

D’immenses progrès ont été accomplis

Icône – flèche

Pour certains cancers, comme ceux de la thyroïde et du testicule, les taux de survie dépassent 90 pour cent. Pour d’autres cancers, comme ceux du pancréas, du cerveau et de l’œsophage, les taux de survie demeurent très bas.

Apprenez-en plus