You are here: 

Research in cancer prevention

We already know a lot about how to prevent cancer. If we, as a society, put everything we know into practice through healthy lifestyle choices and policies that protect the public, we could prevent almost half of all cancers. But we still need to learn more about how the disease develops and how we can stop it before it starts.

It can take years of studying large groups of people to understand what factors prevent or lower our risk of developing cancer. Researchers often find it useful to study groups of people who have a higher than average risk of developing certain types of cancer to find the best ways to try to prevent it. Their risk may be high because they have a precancerous condition or family history of cancer or because they smoke. Researchers are also trying to find out how to prevent cancer from coming back in people who have been treated for the disease.

Research in cancer prevention includes the following areas.

Environment and workplace

Any substance that is known to cause cancer is called a carcinogen. Research has identified a number of carcinogens that you may be exposed to at work, at home or in the environment, such as asbestos, arsenic and radon. More research is looking at other possible carcinogens to help us understand what is and isn’t linked to cancer. This helps us avoid exposure to possible carcinogens in the environment, at home or at work by limiting their use or using them safely.

Diet

Research has shown that a diet high in vegetables and fruit may help prevent cancer. Research has also shown that a diet high in red meat or processed meat increases the risk of colorectal cancer. The exact relationship between what you eat and cancer needs more study, but there is scientific proof that some food groups, individual foods and specific substances in foods can lower the risk of developing cancer.

Physical activity

The exact relationship between physical activity and cancer needs more study, but there is scientific evidence linking being active with a lower risk of developing cancer. We still need to learn more about what types of physical activity are best for reducing cancer risk.

Sedentary behaviour

Sedentary behaviour refers to activities that need very little physical movement and don’t use much energy, such as sitting at a desk or lying down for long periods of time. Sedentary behaviour is different from not getting enough physical activity.

Research shows there is a link between sitting too much and a higher risk of cancer. But more study is needed to understand how sedentary behaviour is linked to specific cancers and to find helpful ways to move more and sit less.

Vaccines and biologicals to prevent cancer

Researchers continue to study vaccines that may help prevent cancer. We already know from research that human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccines help protect against cervical cancer and other cancers linked to HPV including vaginal, vulvar, anal, oral and oropharyngeal cancers. Researchers are trying to make HPV vaccines that help protect against more types of HPV. They are also studying how vaccinating against other viruses, such as hepatitis B, or treating others, such as hepatitis C, could also help prevent cancer.

They are also trying to develop vaccines that protect against colorectal cancer in people with Lynch syndrome and vaccines to protect against breast cancer in women who carry the BRCA gene mutation. Vaccines are also being developed to help prevent pancreatic cancer and lung cancer by targeting specific gene mutations linked to these cancers.

Chemoprevention

Taking certain drugs, vitamins or other substances may help prevent cancer from developing or prevent it from coming back. This area of study is called chemoprevention. Chemoprevention is being studied in people with an average risk of cancer, but researchers mostly focus on how to prevent cancer in people who have a higher than average risk of developing the disease.

Vitamin D

Many studies show a link between vitamin D and cancer risk. There is growing scientific evidence that vitamin D may lower the risk of some types of cancer. The evidence that vitamin D lowers cancer risk is strongest for colorectal cancer, but we need more research to know for sure.

Other vitamins and supplements

Researchers are trying to find out if taking certain vitamins or supplements can help prevent cancer. They include the following:

  • vitamin A (including retinoids and carotenoids)
  • vitamin E
  • folic acid and other B vitamins
  • selenium
  • calcium

We need more research to find out if vitamins or supplements can prevent certain types of cancer.

Statins

Statins are drugs used to lower your cholesterol level. They do this by blocking an enzyme that the body needs to make cholesterol. Lowering cholesterol levels can help treat and prevent heart disease. Researchers are trying to find out if statins also help reduce the risk of certain types of cancer.

Research has shown that statins may block cell functions involved in how cancer develops, grows and spreads. To know for sure if taking statins can prevent certain types of cancer, we need more research.

Aspirin and other nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs)

NSAIDs are used for pain, such as headaches or backaches. They may also be used for more severe pain in chronic conditions like arthritis or sciatica. Common NSAIDs include acetylsalicylic acid (ASA, Aspirin), ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin) and celecoxib (Celebrex). NSAIDs lessen inflammation and stop prostaglandins from being made by the body. Prostaglandins control cell growth, cell death and the development of blood vessels.

Research shows that people who take NSAIDs have a lower risk of developing colorectal cancer. Research also shows that taking NSAIDs seems to help lower the risk of developing esophageal, stomach and other types of cancer. But we need more research to better understand the role NSAIDs may play in preventing cancer. Currently, NSAIDs are not recommended as a way to prevent cancer.

Metformin

Metformin (Glucophage) is a drug used to treat diabetes. Metformin works by lowering glucose levels in the blood. People who have diabetes have a higher than average risk of developing cancer. Studies show that metformin may lower the risk of some types of cancer in people with diabetes. Researchers are trying to find out if metformin can lower the risk of cancer in people who have a high risk of developing the disease.

Using cancer treatment drugs to prevent cancer

Researchers are trying to find out if drugs that treat cancer can help prevent it. Researchers study which genes are changed or mutated in people who have precancerous conditions that can lead to cancer if they’re not treated. Then they try to treat the precancerous conditions – and prevent cancer – with the same drugs that are used to treat people with cancer who have these same gene changes or mutations.

Looking at how a person’s genes can be used to help prevent, diagnose and treat cancer is called personalized medicine.

Other areas of cancer prevention research

Other areas of research in cancer prevention include:

  • trying to find out how socioeconomic status (a person’s economic and social position compared to others including income, education and type of work), a person’s biological and genetic makeup and other factors can cause higher rates of cancer in certain populations
  • developing better programs, policies and interventions to protect the public from cancer-causing substances
  • trying to find and test new ways of preventing cancer in people who have a higher than average risk of developing the disease, such as people who have certain gene mutations
  • developing new and better ways to find and treat precancerous conditions so they don’t develop into cancer

precancerous

Having the potential to develop into cancer.

A precancerous condition can (or is likely to) become cancerous (malignant).

Also called premalignant.

Lynch syndrome

An inherited condition that causes a large number of polyps to develop in the lining of the colon and rectum but not as many polyps as are found in familial adenomatous polyps (FAP).

There are 2 types of Lynch syndrome. Type A increases the risk for colorectal cancer, and type B increases the risk of several cancers, including colorectal cancer and other digestive system cancers, and ovarian and uterine cancers in women.

Also called hereditary non-polyposis colorectal cancer (HNPCC).

Stories

Kim Moreau Help Whip Cancer has made such a difference in the lives of so many women.

Read Kim's story

Cancer affects all Canadians

Icon - 1 in 2

Nearly 1 in 2 Canadians is expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:

Recherche sur la prévention du cancer

Nous en savons déjà beaucoup sur les manières de prévenir le cancer. Si nous, en tant que société, mettons en pratique toutes nos connaissances sur les saines habitudes de vie et les politiques qui protègent la santé de la population, nous pourrions éviter environ la moitié des cas de cancer. Mais nous devons en apprendre davantage sur la façon dont cette maladie se développe et la façon de l'empêcher de se manifester.

De nombreuses années d’études d’importants groupes de personnes peuvent être nécessaires pour déterminer quels facteurs  pourraient prévenir ou réduire le risque d’apparition du cancer. Les chercheurs trouvent souvent utile d’étudier des groupes de personnes dont le risque d’être atteintes de certains types de cancer est plus élevé que la normale afin de découvrir les meilleures façons d’essayer de le prévenir. Leur risque peut être élevé parce qu’elles ont un état précancéreuxprécancéreuxSe dit d’un état susceptible d’évoluer vers un cancer. ou des antécédents familiaux de cancer ou bien parce qu’elles fument. Les chercheurs tentent aussi de trouver comment empêcher le cancer de réapparaître chez les personnes qui ont été traitées pour cette maladie.

Certaines recherches sur la prévention du cancer portent sur les facteurs qui suivent.

Alimentation

La recherche a démontré qu’une alimentation riche en fruits et légumes peut aider à prévenir le cancer. Elle a également démontré qu’une grande consommation de viande rouge ou transformée accroît le risque de cancer colorectal. On doit étudier davantage le lien exact entre ce que vous mangez et le cancer, mais des preuves scientifiques permettent de dire que certains groupes d'aliments, des aliments individuels et des substances spécifiques dans les aliments peuvent réduire le risque de cancer.

Activité physique

On doit effectuer d'autres études afin de préciser le lien entre l'activité physique et le cancer, mais des données scientifiques permettent d'associer le fait de bouger à une diminution du risque de cancer. On doit en apprendre davantage sur les types d'activités physiques qui sont les meilleurs pour réduire ce risque.

Comportement sédentaire

On parle de comportement sédentaire quand nos activités ne nécessitent que très peu de mouvements et qu’elles n’exigent que peu d’énergie, comme s’asseoir devant un bureau ou s’étendre pendant de longues périodes. Le comportement sédentaire diffère du manque d’activité physique.

La recherche indique un lien entre le fait d’être trop longtemps assis et une hausse du risque de cancer. Mais on doit mener d’autres études pour comprendre comment le comportement sédentaire est lié à des cancers spécifiques et pour découvrir des moyens efficaces de bouger davantage et de passer moins de temps assis.

Chimioprévention

Prendre certains suppléments comme des vitamines ou des médicaments spécifiques pourrait aider à prévenir le cancer ou sa réapparition. Ce domaine d’étude est appelé chimioprévention. On étudie la chimioprévention chez des personnes dont le risque de cancer est moyen, mais les chercheurs se concentrent surtout sur la façon de prévenir le cancer chez les personnes dont le risque est supérieur à la moyenne.

Vitamine D

De nombreuses études démontrent un lien entre la vitamine D et le risque de cancer. De plus en plus de preuves scientifiques révèlent que la vitamine D peut réduire le risque d’apparition de certains types de cancer. La preuve que la vitamine D réduit le risque de cancer est plus importante pour le cancer colorectal, mais on doit mener plus de recherches pour en être certain.

Autres vitamines et suppléments

Des chercheurs tentent de savoir si la prise de certains suppléments et vitamines peut aider à prévenir le cancer. Ce sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • vitamine A (dont les rétinoïdes et les caroténoïdes)
  • vitamine E
  • acide folique et autres vitamines B
  • sélénium
  • calcium

On doit faire plus de recherches pour savoir si les vitamines ou les suppléments peuvent prévenir l’apparition de certains types de cancer.

Statines

Les statines sont des médicaments qui font baisser votre taux de cholestérol. Leur action consiste à bloquer l'enzyme dont le corps a besoin pour fabriquer du cholestérol. Une diminution des taux de cholestérol peut aider à traiter et à prévenir les maladies cardiaques. Les chercheurs tentent de savoir si les statines aident aussi à réduire le risque d’apparition de certains types de cancer.

La recherche a révélé que les statines pouvaient bloquer les fonctions cellulaires liées à la façon dont le cancer apparaît, se développe et se propage. On doit mener d'autres recherches afin d'établir clairement si les statines peuvent prévenir certains types de cancers.

Aspirine et autres anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS)

On a recours aux AINS pour la douleur dont les maux de tête ou de dos. On peut aussi les administrer pour les douleurs plus intenses causées par les maladies chroniques comme l'arthrite ou la sciatique. Les AINS fréquemment employés sont entre autres l’acide acétylsalicylique (ASA, Aspirin), l’ibuprofène (Advil, Motrin) et le célécoxib (Celebrex). Les AINS réduisent l'inflammation et empêchent le corps de fabriquer des prostaglandines. Celles-ci contrôlent la croissance et la mort des cellules ainsi que le développement de vaisseaux sanguins.

La recherche révèle que les personnes qui prennent des AINS risquent moins d’être atteintes du cancer colorectal. On doit poursuivre les recherches pour mieux comprendre le rôle qu'ils peuvent jouer dans la prévention du cancer. Actuellement, on ne recommande pas les AINS pour prévenir le cancer colorectal.

Metformine

La metformine (Glucophage) est un médicament qui sert à traiter le diabète. La metformine réduit le taux de glucose dans le sang. Les personnes atteintes de diabète risquent plus que la moyenne des gens d’avoir le cancer. Des études démontrent que la metformine peut réduire le risque d’apparition de certains types de cancer chez les personnes atteintes de diabète. Des chercheurs tentent de savoir si la metformine peut réduire le risque de cancer chez les personnes dont le risque d’en être atteintes est élevé.

Emploi des médicaments anticancéreux pour prévenir le cancer

Des chercheurs essaient de découvrir si les médicaments administrés pour traiter le cancer peuvent aider à le prévenir. Ils tentent de trouver quels gènes ont été modifiés, ou mutés, chez les personnes atteintes d’un état précancéreux qui peut mener au cancer s’il n’est pas traité. Puis ils traitent l’état précancéreux, et tentent ainsi de prévenir l’apparition du cancer, avec les médicaments administrés aux personnes atteintes de cancer qui présentent les mêmes changements, ou mutations génétiques.

Analyser comment les gènes d’une personne peut aider à prévenir, diagnostiquer et traiter le cancer est appelé médecine personnalisée.

Vaccins pour prévenir le cancer

Les chercheurs continuent d’étudier des vaccins qui pourraient aider à prévenir le cancer. La recherche a déjà démontré que le virus du papillome humain (VPH) aide à protéger contre le cancer du col de l’utérus et d’autres cancers liés au VPH dont le cancer du vagin, de la vulve et de l’anus. Les chercheurs essaient de fabriquer des vaccins anti-VPH qui aideraient à protéger contre plus de types de VPH.

Ils tentent également d’élaborer des vaccins qui protègeraient contre le cancer colorectal chez les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Lynch et d’autres contre le cancer du sein chez les femmes porteuses de la mutation génétique BRCA. On développe aussi des vaccins pour aider à prévenir le cancer du pancréas et le cancer du poumon en ciblant des mutations génétiques spécifiques liées à ces cancers.

Histoires

Eleanor Rudd Nos efforts n’ont rien de comparable à ce que les femmes vivent lorsqu’on leur dit : “vous avez le cancer”.

Plus de détails

Quel est le risque à vie d’avoir le cancer?

Icône - 1 sur 2

Selon le plus récent rapport Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer, environ la moitié des Canadiens pourraient recevoir un diagnostic de cancer au cours de leur vie.

Apprenez-en plus