You are here: 

Research in hyperthermia treatments

Hyperthermia treatment is also called thermal therapy or thermotherapy. It uses heat to destroy cancer cells and shrink tumours. The temperature is carefully controlled to limit damage to normal cells and tissues. Heat can harm and kill cancer cells by damaging proteins and structures within the cells. Heat also damages tumour blood vessels and causes less blood flow to the tumour. Researchers have recently found that hyperthermia can trigger an immune response that also helps to fight cancer.

Types of hyperthermia treatments

Researchers are studying many types of hyperthermia treatments. How well hyperthermia treatment works is related to the temperature that can be reached during treatment, the length of treatment and the characteristics of the cells and tissue treated. Researchers are studying hyperthermia in clinical trials to try to find out how it can be used to treat cancer.

Hyperthermia treatments may be given twice a week, once a week or once a month, depending on which other treatments are given. Most hyperthermia treatments last 60–90 minutes. Hyperthermia treatment can be given to a small area (locally), to a large area of tissue or the body (regionally) or to the whole body.

Local hyperthermia

Local hyperthermia is also called thermal ablation. Very high heat is applied to a small area, usually the tumour itself.

Local hyperthermia can be given externally or internally. External local hyperthermia treats tumours in or just below the skin. External applicators are placed near the tumour and energy is passed through them to heat the tumour. Internal local hyperthermia uses special probes or needles placed inside a body cavity (intraluminal) or into a tumour (interstitial) deep within the body.

Local hyperthermia may be used instead of surgery to treat cancer. Local hyperthermia works best when the area being treated can be kept within a precise temperature range for a certain amount of time.

The following are different types of local hyperthermia treatments.

Radiofrequency ablation

Radiofrequency ablation (RFA) uses a high-frequency electrical current to create heat to destroy cancer cells. A thin needle-like probe delivers the electrical current directly into the tumour. The doctor uses an ultrasound, an MRI or a CT scan to guide the probe to the tumour. The tip of the probe delivers heat between 50°C and 100°C. The treatment lasts about 10–30 minutes. The area may be numbed with local anesthetic (freezing) or you may be given a general anesthetic to make you unconscious during RFA.

RFA may be used to treat tumours that can’t be removed with surgery. It may also be used in people who are not good candidates for surgery. A person may need to have several treatment sessions. After RFA treatment is complete, the doctor uses a CT scan to see if the tumours have shrunk or if more treatment is needed. RFA can be used along with other cancer treatments.

RFA is best used to treat tumours 4 cm and smaller. It is most often used for tumours in the liver, kidney and lungs. Researchers are studying RFA for the treatment of several other types of cancer.

Microwave ablation

Microwave ablation is a type of local internal hyperthermia treatment similar to RFA. The doctor places one or more probes that deliver microwaves into the tumour. Most research is looking at microwave ablation for the treatment of liver, lung and kidney cancers.

High-intensity focused ultrasound

High-intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU) is a type of local external hyperthermia treatment. HIFU uses focused ultrasound waves to create intense heat, which destroys tissue. Often an MRI is used to guide the ultrasound beam. Researchers have mainly looked at this procedure as a primary treatment for men with localized prostate cancer. They are also testing it in other types of cancer.

Regional hyperthermia

Regional hyperthermia uses low heat to treat cancer. Regional hyperthermia may be used to heat large areas of tissue, such as an organ, body cavity or limb. It may be combined with chemotherapy or radiation therapy.

The following are different types of regional hyperthermia.

Regional perfusion

Some of the person’s blood is removed and heated to between 40°C and 45°C. The heated blood is pumped, or perfused, back into the area that contains cancer. Chemotherapy may be pumped into the body at the same time. Regional perfusion may be used to treat some cancers in the arms or legs such as melanoma or soft tissue sarcoma. It may also be used to treat liver and lung cancers.

Hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy

Hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy (HIPEC) is also called continuous hyperthermic peritoneal perfusion. It can be used with surgery to treat cancers in the abdominal (peritoneal) cavity such as peritoneal mesothelioma, stomach, colorectal and liver cancers. Heated chemotherapy drugs flow through a warming device and are then pumped into the peritoneal cavity.

Deep tissue regional hyperthermia

Microwave or radiofrequency energy is passed from a device placed on the surface of an organ or body cavity. The energy given off by the device makes heat, which can be used to treat an area that has cancer. Deep tissue regional hyperthermia may be used to treat cervical or bladder cancer.

Whole-body hyperthermia

Whole-body hyperthermia uses low heat to raise a person’s body temperature. There are several ways that body temperature can be raised, such as using hot-water blankets, warm-water baths, special coiled devices or special thermal chambers that are like large incubators. Researchers are studying whole-body hyperthermia in people whose cancer has spread (metastatic cancer).

Hyperthermia and cancer treatments

Hyperthermia treatment is usually given with other types of cancer treatment, such as chemotherapy or radiation therapy. It may make some cancer cells more sensitive to radiation or destroy cancer cells that are not killed by radiation therapy. Hyperthermia may also help other cancer treatments, such as chemotherapy or immunotherapyimmunotherapyTreatment with natural or manufactured substances that stimulate and strengthen the body’s immune system., work better.

Challenges with hyperthermia treatments

The main challenge of hyperthermia is to make sure the hyperthermia cancer treatment is as effective as surgery or radiation therapy. So far, the results are promising and hyperthermia may be as effective as surgery or radiation for treating certain tumours, but more research and long-term studies are needed.

There are also other challenges to using hyperthermia that need to be figured out before it becomes a standard cancer treatment. These challenges include keeping the body within an exact temperature range and being able to accurately monitor temperature inside of a tumour. Researchers are trying to find better ways to monitor temperature during hyperthermia treatment. Some studies are using thermometers on the end of a probe to measure temperature during treatment. An MRI may also be helpful in monitoring temperature.

Researchers are also trying to find out how to use hyperthermia to treat tumours inside deeper organs of the body.

Stories

Woman at market in front of CCS poster This truly is a life-saving program, and we are so grateful to Husky Energy for making it happen.

Read more

Making progress in the cancer fight

Icon - arrow

The 5-year cancer survival rate has increased from 25% in the 1940s to 60% today.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:

Recherche sur le traitement hyperthermique

Le traitement hyperthermique est aussi appelé traitement thermique ou thermothérapie. Il a recours à la chaleur pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses et réduire la taille des tumeurs. On contrôle soigneusement la température pour limiter les dommages aux cellules et aux tissus normaux. La chaleur peut affecter et détruire les cellules cancéreuses en endommageant les protéines et les structures qu’elles contiennent. La chaleur endommage aussi les vaisseaux sanguins de la tumeur et réduit l'apport sanguin à la tumeur. Les chercheurs ont récemment découvert que l’hyperthermie peut déclencher une réaction immunitaire qui aide aussi à combattre le cancer.

Types de traitements hyperthermiques

Les chercheurs étudient de nombreux types de traitements hyperthermiques. Leur efficacité est liée à la température qu’on peut atteindre, à la durée du traitement et aux caractéristiques des cellules et des tissus traités. Les chercheurs étudient l’hyperthermie en essais cliniques pour essayer de savoir comment on peut l’employer comme traitement du cancer.

On peut administrer le traitement hyperthermique deux fois par semaine, une fois par semaine ou une fois par mois en fonction des autres traitements suivis. La plupart des traitements hyperthermiques durent de 60 à 90 minutes.  L’hyperthermie peut s’appliquer à une petite surface, c’est-à-dire localement, à une grande surface de tissu ou du corps, soit par région, ou au corps tout entier.

Hyperthermie locale

L’hyperthermie locale est aussi appelée ablation thermique. On applique une très grande chaleur sur une petite surface du corps, habituellement sur la tumeur même.

On peut administrer l’hyperthermie locale par voie externe ou interne. L’hyperthermie locale externe permet de traiter les tumeurs qui sont dans la peau ou juste en dessous. On met des applicateurs externes près de la tumeur et de l’énergie circule dans ces applicateurs pour chauffer la tumeur. L’hyperthermie locale interne a recours à des sondes ou à des aiguilles spéciales qu’on insère dans une cavité du corps (endoluminale) ou dans la tumeur (interstitielle) logée en profondeur.

On peut avoir recours à l’hyperthermie locale au lieu de la chirurgie pour traiter le cancer. L’hyperthermie locale est la plus efficace quand la surface traitée peut être maintenue dans une plage de température précise pendant un certain temps.

Voici différents types de traitements hyperthermiques locaux.

Ablation par radiofréquence

L'ablation par radiofréquence (ARF) a recours à un courant électrique de haute fréquence pour dégager de la chaleur qui détruira les cellules cancéreuses. Une sonde mince semblable à une aiguille émet le courant électrique directement dans la tumeur. Le médecin se sert de l’échographie, de l’IRM ou de la TDM pour diriger la sonde vers la tumeur. L’extrémité de la sonde libère une chaleur dont la température varie entre 50 °C et 100 °C. La séance de traitement dure de 10 à 30 minutes. Il est possible qu’on gèle la région avec un anesthésique local ou bien on pourrait vous administrer une anesthésie générale afin que vous soyez inconscient durant la séance.

On peut avoir recours à l’ARF pour traiter les tumeurs qu’il est impossible d’enlever par chirurgie. Les personnes qui ne sont pas de bonnes candidates à la chirurgie peuvent aussi être traitées par ARF. Plusieurs séances peuvent être nécessaires. Une fois que le traitement est fini, le médecin se sert de la TDM pour voir si la tumeur a diminué de taille ou si plus de séances sont nécessaires. L’ARF peut être associée à d’autres traitements du cancer.

L’ARF est la plus efficace contre les tumeurs de 4 cm ou moins. On y a le plus souvent recours pour les tumeurs au foie, au rein et au poumon. Les chercheurs étudient l’ARF comme traitement de plusieurs autres types de cancers.

Ablation par micro-ondes

L'ablation par micro-ondes est une forme de traitement hyperthermique local interne semblable à l'ARF. Le médecin insère une ou plusieurs sondes qui émettent des micro-ondes dans la tumeur. La plupart des recherches portent sur l'ablation par micro-ondes comme traitement des cancers du foie, du poumon et du rein.

Ultrasons focalisés de haute intensité

Les ultrasons focalisés de haute intensité (UFHI) sont une forme de traitement hyperthermique local externe. L'UFHI a recours à des ultrasons focalisés pour créer une chaleur intense qui détruit le tissu. L'IRM est souvent employée pour guider le faisceau d'ultrasons. À ce jour, les chercheurs ont surtout étudié cette intervention comme traitement principal d’hommes atteints d'un cancer de la prostate localisé. Ils évaluent aussi son efficacité pour d'autres types de cancer.

Hyperthermie régionale

L’hyperthermie régionale a recours à une faible chaleur pour traiter le cancer. On peut l’administrer pour chauffer de grandes surfaces de tissu comme un organe, une cavité corporelle ou un membre. Il est possible de l’associer à la chimiothérapie ou à la radiothérapie.

Voici différents types de traitements hyperthermiques régionaux.

Perfusion régionale

On prélève une certaine quantité de sang qu'on chauffe entre 40 °C et 45 °C. Le sang réchauffé est ensuite retourné par perfusion dans la région atteinte par le cancer. Il est possible qu’on administre une chimiothérapie également par perfusion au même moment. La perfusion régionale peut servir à traiter certains cancers au bras ou à la jambe comme un mélanome ou un sarcome des tissus mous. On peut aussi y avoir recours pour traiter un cancer du foie ou du poumon.

Chimiothérapie hyperthermique intrapéritonéale

La chimiothérapie hyperthermique intrapéritonéale (CHIP) est aussi appelée perfusion péritonéale continue hyperthermique (PPCH). On peut l’associer à la chirurgie pour traiter un cancer de la cavité abdominale (péritonéale) comme le mésothéliome péritonéal, le cancer de l’estomac, le cancer colorectal et le cancer du foie. Des agents chimiothérapeutiques réchauffés sont perfusés, au moyen d'un dispositif chauffant, dans la cavité péritonéale (abdominale).

Hyperthermie des tissus profonds

L’énergie des micro-ondes ou des fréquences radio est libérée d’un dispositif placé à la surface d’un organe ou d’une cavité du corps. Cette énergie émet de la chaleur, qu’on peut utiliser pour traiter la région atteinte par le cancer. L’hyperthermie des tissus profonds peut permettre de traiter un cancer du col de l’utérus ou de la vessie.

Hyperthermie corporelle totale

L'hyperthermie corporelle totale a recours à une faible chaleur pour faire augmenter la température du corps. On peut faire monter la température du corps de plusieurs façons, soit en immergeant la personne dans l’eau chaude ou en utilisant des couvertures remplies d'eau chaude ou bien des dispositifs spiralés spéciaux ou des cuves thermiques particulières qui ressemblent à de gros incubateurs. Les chercheurs étudient l’hyperthermie corporelle totale chez des personnes dont le cancer s'est propagé (cancer métastatique).

Hyperthermie et traitements du cancer

On associe habituellement l'hyperthermie à d'autres types de traitements du cancer comme la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie. Elle pourrait rendre certaines cellules cancéreuses plus sensibles à la radiation ou détruire des cellules cancéreuses que la radiothérapie n'aurait pas détruites. L'hyperthermie peut aussi aider à accroître l'efficacité d’autres traitements du cancer, comme la chimiothérapie et l’immunothérapie.

Défis engendrés par les traitements hyperthermiques

Le défi principal engendré par l’hyperthermie est de s’assurer qu’elle est aussi efficace que la chirurgie ou la radiothérapie pour traiter le cancer. Jusqu’à ce jour, les résultats sont prometteurs et l’hyperthermie pourrait être aussi efficace que la chirurgie ou la radiothérapie pour traiter certaines tumeurs, mais on doit faire plus de recherches et d’études à long terme.

L’hyperthermie engendre aussi d’autres défis qu’on doit relever avant d’en faire un traitement standard du cancer. Ce sont entre autres de maintenir le corps à l’intérieur de la plage exacte de températures et d’être en mesure de surveiller avec précision la température à l’intérieur de la tumeur. Les chercheurs essaient de trouver de meilleures façons de surveiller la température au cours du traitement. Lors de certaines études, on se sert d’un thermomètre fixé à l’extrémité d’une sonde pour mesurer la température pendant le traitement. L’IRM peut aussi être utile pour surveiller la température.

Les chercheurs essaient aussi de savoir comment utiliser l’hyperthermie pour traiter les tumeurs affectant des organes situés en profondeur dans le corps.

immunothérapie

Traitement qui fait appel au système immunitaire et qui le renforce pour combattre la maladie dont le cancer.

L’immunothérapie est un type de thérapie biologique.

Histoires

Dr Daniel De Carvalho Déjouer les cellules souches cancéreuses pour stopper leur croissance

Plus de details

Quel est le risque à vie d’avoir le cancer?

Icône - 1 sur 2

Selon le plus récent rapport Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer, environ la moitié des Canadiens pourraient recevoir un diagnostic de cancer au cours de leur vie.

Apprenez-en plus