You are here: 

Research in diagnosis and prognosis

A key area of research looks at better ways to diagnose and stage cancer, as well as predict prognosis. A prognosis is the doctor’s best estimate of how cancer will affect someone and how it will respond to treatment. Doctors and people with cancer depend on information gathered from tests used to diagnose cancer and predict its prognosis to help make treatment and care decisions.

Researchers are studying many tests and tools to help diagnose, stage and predict prognosis for different types of cancer.

Tumour marker tests

Biomarkers are molecules present in the body that can be measured within cells, tissue or fluids. Genes, chromosomes and proteins are all biomarkers. Researchers are studying different biomarkers to try to find which ones are helpful at finding cancer or predicting prognosis and response to treatment. Some biomarkers are found in abnormal amounts in people with cancer. For example, a protein may be found in higher than normal amounts, a chromosome that should be there is missing or parts of a chromosome are moved to a different chromosome (called translocation). When biomarkers are used to find or understand more about cancer, they are also called tumour markers.

Some tumour markers are specific to one type of cancer, while others are related to more than one type of cancer. More than 20 tumour markers are currently used to make cancer treatment decisions. Not everyone with a certain type of cancer will have a high level of a tumour marker that is linked to that cancer. Some types of cancer don’t have any known tumour markers yet. To help understand more about cancer types, researchers are collecting and storing tissue samples from cancerous tumours. This is called tumour banking or biobanking. It allows researchers to study tumours to look at genes, proteins and other features that could potentially be used as tumour markers.

Developing new tumour marker tests can help doctors to find cancer earlier, improve diagnosis and predict prognosis. Tumour marker tests allow doctors to better understand cancer, such as whether it is more or less likely to spread or how it will respond to treatment. Tumour marker tests help doctors choose treatment by identifying targets for targeted therapy drugs. Tumour markers may also be monitored to see how well a treatment is working. Tumour markers and tumour marker tests are part of the growing field of personalized medicine.

Gene-based diagnostic tests

Gene-based tests find differences between normal genes and genes that are changed (mutated) in cancer cells. Genes are pieces of DNA that tell each cell in your body what to do. Doctors sometimes look at DNA, an entire gene or many genes together to see if there are changes. Doctors can use genes that are changed or mutated as tumour markers. Researchers have linked some genetic changes or mutations to cancer, but we are only beginning to uncover the full picture of which genes may or may not be involved. For example, mutations in the BRCA1 and BRCA2 genes are linked to breast cancer and mutations in the EGFR gene are linked to some non–small cell lung cancers.

Microarray analysis is a type of gene-based test that allows researchers to look at many expressed genes together. This test can find genes that are turned on or off because of gene mutations or other genetic changes that may be related to a certain type of cancer. Analyzing many genes at the same time to see which are turned on and which are turned off is called gene expression profiling. New technology, called next generation sequencing (NGS), is becoming the preferred method of detecting mutations in multiple genes at the same time. NGS can detect fused genes, which are formed when there has been an abnormal relocation of parts of genes. Fused genes can lead to uncontrolled production of an abnormal protein, making a cancer more aggressive. These abnormalities are potential targets for new therapies (targeted therapies).

Eventually, researchers hope that more and more gene-based diagnostic tests will help doctors identify the best treatments for specific cancers and that more treatments will be tailored to each person’s cancer.

Liquid biopsy

A liquid biopsy is an exciting alternative to a standard biopsy.

A liquid biopsy tests the blood or other body fluid for cancer. It looks for cancer cells, pieces of tumour DNA (called circulating tumour DNA) and other substances released by the tumour. The test can be done on a sample of blood removed during a blood test.

In a standard biopsy, a doctor removes tissue from the body with a procedure that usually involves a needle biopsy but may involve surgery. Doctors then recommend treatments based on what this sample of tissue tells them about the cancer, how aggressive it is and which genes are mutated.

Researchers want to find out if using a liquid biopsy can find cancer as well as a standard biopsy does. Even if it can, a standard biopsy will probably still be used for most people because it gives doctors a lot of useful information about the cancer.

A liquid biopsy may be a good option for someone who isn’t well enough to have a standard biopsy. A liquid biopsy may also be used if there isn’t enough tissue to remove and test or if the tumour is in a place that makes a standard biopsy hard to do. A possible advantage of liquid biopsy may be that it could provide information about the tumour that a standard biopsy can’t. During a standard biopsy, only a small piece of the tumour is removed and tested and so it may not represent all the abnormalities that are present in the cancer. Cancer cells, tumour DNA and other substances released by the tumour that are circulating and detectable in the blood may contain extra information that can’t be gathered from the tissue sample. This information may help find gene mutations, predict prognosis and plan better treatment.

Tumours can develop new genetic changes and mutations as they grow and spread. Liquid biopsies are becoming useful in detecting new mutations that occur in people who stop responding to the initial targeted therapy given. They eliminate the need for another tissue biopsy using more invasive procedures, such as surgery. Knowing about these changes may lead to a better understanding of why a treatment is no longer working or a better understanding of new mutations to target with a different treatment.

A liquid biopsy may be most useful in looking for cancer that has come back as part of follow-up care after treatment has ended. Since tumour DNA may not be found in the blood right after treatment, it’s best to test for tumour DNA a while (such as a few months) after treatment is done.

Robotic biopsy

A robotic biopsy removes cells or tissue to look at under a microscope. A robotic biopsy uses robotic surgery, which is often done by laparoscopy through 5 to 6 small surgical cuts (incisions). In robotic surgery, the doctor sits at a control station close to the operating table, watches a monitor with live video and uses controls to move 2 or 3 robotic arms that are connected to surgical instruments that remove tissue.

Imaging techniques and devices

Imaging tests, such as x-rays, MRIs, ultrasounds and CT scans, are a common way to rule out or confirm many diseases, including cancer. Imaging uses special machines and techniques to create images of the inside of the body to see if it is normal and how well it is working. Imaging is a way for doctors to find the exact location of cancer and to check for cancer that has spread. Information from imaging tests is used to stage cancer and help plan treatment.

Researchers are developing new imaging tests and continue to study current imaging tests to see if they can find better ways to diagnose cancer, predict prognosis and plan treatment.

Virtual endoscopy

Virtual endoscopy is an imaging test that uses a CT scan to create images of the inside of a hollow organ, like the intestine. A computer makes a 3D picture of the organ from several images. Doctors can use this 3D view to look at the lining of an organ much like they would during a regular endoscopic procedure, but without having to insert an endoscope. Researchers are looking at virtual endoscopy as a way to diagnose and stage colorectal and lung cancers.

Breast tomosynthesis

Breast tomosynthesis is an imaging test similar to mammography. It uses an x-ray machine that moves around the breast and takes pictures. The pictures can be stacked together to make a 3D image of the breast to help doctors find breast cancer. Researchers are trying to find out if breast tomosynthesis can detect breast cancer better than mammography.

Improving nuclear medicine and other imaging techniques that are currently used

Researchers are looking at ways to make current imaging tests better. For example, they are trying to make spiral (multi-slice) CT scanners work faster and improve the quality of the images to give more detail.

Nuclear medicine imaging tests look at changes to molecules inside of the body to help diagnose cancer. It is a type of medical imaging that uses radiopharmaceuticals to look at organs and tissues and see how well they are working. Some nuclear medicine imaging tests that researchers are trying to improve include positron emission tomography (PET) scan and single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT). Both use radiopharmaceuticals and a scanning machine to collect information about molecules in the body. A computer uses this information to create images.

PET scans help find cancer by measuring how much sugar (attached to a radiopharmaceutical) is absorbed by cells. Cancer cells absorb more sugar molecules than normal cells, and do so more quickly than normal cells. Through research, PET scans are getting better at finding smaller and slower-growing cancers.

SPECT is an imaging test most commonly used to see how blood flows, particularly in the heart and the brain. Researchers are looking at how SPECT may be useful in detecting certain types of cancer. For a SPECT, antibodies (attached to a radiopharmaceutical) that find and stick to cancer cells are injected, swallowed or inhaled. Then a SPECT scan can be done to detect the radioactive substance and show where the tumour is.

Lower radiation doses

Many imaging tests, such as CT scans and x-rays, use radiation. Imaging machines that use high doses of radiation, such as CT and nuclear medicine imaging tests, are being used more often than they were in the past. So researchers are trying to develop better guidelines to protect people from medical radiation, such as:

  • using these tests only when they are absolutely needed
  • using other tests that don’t give off radiation (such as ultrasound) when possible
  • tailoring radiation doses to each person based on their size so that as little radiation as possible is used (this is especially important for children)
  • keeping track of how much medical radiation you are exposed to over your lifetime
  • monitoring better how much radiation the machines deliver

Researchers think these guidelines will help make sure you have the benefit of tests that use medical radiation when you need them but with as little risk as possible.

stage

A description of the extent of cancer in the body, including the size of the tumour, whether there are cancer cells in the lymph nodes and whether the disease has spread from its original site to other parts of the body.

Stages are based on specific criteria for each type of cancer.

The process of determining the extent of cancer in the body based on exams and tests is called staging.

gene

The basic biological unit of heredity passed from parents to a child. Genes are pieces of DNA and determine a particular characteristic of an individual.

deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA)

The molecules inside the cell that program genetic information. DNA determines the structure, function and behaviour of a cell.

endoscopy

A procedure that uses an endoscope (a thin, tube-like instrument with a light and lens) to examine or treat organs or structures in the body.

Cells or tissue may be removed for examination under a microscope. Doctors may also use endoscopy to control bleeding or remove tumours and foreign bodies.

Specialized endoscopies are named for the organ or structure they examine or treat.

mammography

A procedure used to x-ray the breast.

Doctors use mammography to look for tumours or cysts (sacs that are usually filled with fluid or semi-solid material) in the breasts.

Different types of mammography include screening mammography and diagnostic mammography.

The x-ray image produced is called a mammogram.

radiopharmaceutical

A drug that contains a radioactive substance.

A radiopharmaceutical can be used to diagnose and treat cancer and other diseases.

Also called radioactive drug.

Stories

Eleanor Rudd We realize that our efforts cannot even be compared to what women face when they hear the words ... ‘you have cancer.’

Read more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how 16 factors affect your cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life! Presented in partnership with Desjardins.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:

Recherche sur le diagnostic et le pronostic

Un domaine clé de la recherche porte sur de meilleures méthodes pour diagnostiquer et stadifier le cancer ainsi que pour en établir le pronostic. Un pronostic est l’acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera une personne et comment il réagira au traitement. Les médecins et les personnes atteintes du cancer dépendent de l’information collectée lors de tests pour établir le diagnostic de cancer et son pronostic afin de prendre des décisions concernant le traitement et les soins à administrer.

Les chercheurs évaluent de nombreux tests et outils qui aident au diagnostic, à la stadification et à l’établissement du pronostic de différents types de cancer.

Dosage des marqueurs tumoraux

Les biomarqueurs sont des molécules présentes dans le corps, qui peuvent être mesurées dans les cellules, les tissus ou les liquides. Les gènes, les chromosomes et les protéines sont tous des biomarqueurs. Des chercheurs évaluent différents biomarqueurs pour essayer de savoir lesquels sont utiles pour détecter le cancer, ou pour établir un pronostic et prédire une réaction au traitement. On trouve certains biomarqueurs en quantités anormales chez les personnes atteintes de cancer. Par exemple, une protéine peut se retrouver à des taux plus élevés que la normale, un chromosome qui devrait être présent ne l’est pas ou des parties d’un chromosome se sont déplacées sur un autre chromosome (translocation). Lorsque les biomarqueurs sont utilisés pour détecter ou comprendre davantage le cancer, on les appelle aussi marqueurs tumoraux.

Certains marqueurs tumoraux sont spécifiques à un seul type de cancer, alors que d’autres sont associés à plus d’un type de cancer. Plus de 20 marqueurs tumoraux sont actuellement utilisés pour prendre des décisions relatives au traitement du cancer. Ce ne sont pas toutes les personnes atteintes d’un certain type de cancer qui auront un taux élevé d’un marqueur tumoral lié à ce cancer. Certains types de cancer n’ont pas encore de marqueurs tumoraux connus. Pour comprendre mieux les types de cancer, les chercheurs font la collecte et l’entreposage d’échantillons de tissus prélevés dans des tumeurs cancéreuses. C’est ce qu’on appelle l’entreposage dans des banques de tumeurs (tumorothèques) ou biobanques. Cette méthode permet aux chercheurs d’étudier des tumeurs afin d’analyser les gènes, les protéines et d’autres caractéristiques qui pourraient être employés comme marqueurs tumoraux.

La mise au point de nouveaux tests de dosage des marqueurs tumoraux peut aider les médecins à détecter un cancer à un stade plus précoce, à améliorer le diagnostic et à établir un pronostic. Le dosage des marqueurs tumoraux permet aux médecins de mieux comprendre le cancer, par exemple de savoir s’il est plus ou moins susceptible de se propager ou quelle sera sa réaction au traitement. Les tests de dosage des marqueurs tumoraux aident les médecins à choisir le traitement en identifiant les cibles à utiliser pour les agents ciblés. On peut aussi surveiller le dosage des marqueurs tumoraux afin de connaître l’efficacité du traitement. Les marqueurs tumoraux et le dosage des marqueurs tumoraux font partie du domaine en croissance que représente la médecine personnalisée.

Épreuves diagnostiques fondées sur les gènes

Les tests fondés sur les gènes détectent les différences entre les gènes normaux et les gènes qui ont été modifiés (mutés) dans les cellules cancéreuses. Les gènes sont des segments d’ADN qui indiquent quoi faire à chacune des cellules de votre corps. Les médecins examinent parfois l’ADN, un gène entier ou plusieurs gènes ensemble pour voir s’il y a des changements. Les médecins peuvent utiliser les gènes qui ont changé ou muté comme marqueurs tumoraux. Des chercheurs ont relié certains changements ou mutations génétiques au cancer, mais nous ne faisons que commencer seulement à découvrir quels gènes peuvent ou non jouer un rôle. Par exemple, les mutations des gènes BRCA1 et BRCA2 sont liées au cancer du sein et les mutations au gène R-EGF sont liées à certains cancers du poumon non à petites cellules.

L’analyse des microréseaux est un type de test fondé sur les gènes qui permet aux chercheurs d’observer de nombreux gènes exprimés simultanément. Ce test peut permettre de savoir quels gènes sont actifs et lesquels ne le sont pas en raison des mutations génétiques ou autres changements génétiques qui pourraient être reliés à un certain type de cancer. Analyser de nombreux gènes à la fois afin de savoir lesquels sont actifs et lesquels ne le sont pas est appelé profil d’expression génétique. Une nouvelle technologie appelée séquençage de nouvelle génération (SNG) est en train de devenir la méthode privilégiée de détection de mutations dans de multiples gènes au même moment. Le SNG permet de détecter des gènes fusionnés, qui se sont formés lors d’un transfert anormal de parties de gènes. Les gènes fusionnés peuvent engendrer la production incontrôlée d’une protéine anormale, rendant ainsi le cancer plus agressif. Ces anomalies sont les cibles possibles de nouveaux traitements (traitements ciblés).

Les chercheurs espèrent qu’un jour, de plus en plus d’épreuves diagnostiques fondées sur les gènes aideront les médecins à identifier les meilleurs traitements pour des cancers spécifiques et que plus de traitements seront adaptés au cancer de chacun.

Biopsie liquide

La biopsie liquide est une alternative intéressante à la biopsie standard.

La biopsie liquide est une analyse de sang ou d’un autre liquide corporel qui permet de découvrir un cancer. On cherche des cellules cancéreuses, des brins d’ADN de la tumeur (ADN tumoral circulant) et d’autres substances libérées par la tumeur. On peut faire cette analyse sur un échantillon de sang provenant d’un prélèvement sanguin.

Pour une biopsie standard, le médecin enlève du tissu du corps lors d’une intervention qui comporte habituellement une biopsie à l’aiguille mais parfois une chirurgie. Les médecins recommandent ensuite des traitements en fonction de ce que révèle ce prélèvement sur le cancer, son agressivité et les gènes qui ont subi des mutations.

Les chercheurs veulent savoir si la biopsie liquide permet de détecter le cancer aussi bien que la biopsie standard. Même si tel était le cas, la biopsie standard serait probablement encore utilisée chez la plupart des personnes, car elle donne aux médecins beaucoup de renseignements utiles sur le cancer.

La biopsie liquide peut tout de même représenter une bonne option pour une personne qui ne se sent pas assez bien pour subir une biopsie standard. On peut aussi avoir recours à la biopsie liquide s’il n’y a pas suffisamment de tissus à prélever et à analyser ou si la tumeur se situe à un endroit où il serait difficile d’effectuer une biopsie standard. La biopsie liquide pourrait présenter comme avantage de fournir de l’information sur la tumeur qu’une biopsie standard ne pourrait donner. Lors d’une biopsie standard, seul un petit morceau de la tumeur est enlevé et analysé, alors il pourrait ne pas représenter toutes les anomalies présentes dans le cancer. Les cellules cancéreuses, l’ADN tumoral et d’autres substances libérées par la tumeur qui circulent et qui sont décelables dans le sang pourraient contenir des informations supplémentaires qu’on ne peut pas recueillir sur le prélèvement de tissu. Ces informations pourraient aider à trouver des mutations génétiques, à établir le pronostic et à planifier un meilleur traitement.

Il peut y avoir d’autres changements et mutations génétiques au fur et à mesure que la tumeur se développe et se propage. La biopsie liquide devient utile pour détecter de nouvelles mutations qui se produisent chez les personnes qui cessent de réagir au traitement ciblé initial. Elle élimine la nécessité de faire une autre biopsie tissulaire par intervention plus effractive comme une chirurgie. Connaître ces changements peut engendrer une meilleure compréhension des raisons pour lesquelles un traitement n’est plus efficace ou une meilleure compréhension des nouvelles mutations dans le but de mieux les cibler avec un traitement différent.

Une biopsie liquide peut servir surtout à détecter un cancer qui est réapparu, dans le cadre du suivi après le traitement. Puisqu’il est possible qu’on ne détecte pas l’ADN tumoral dans le sang tout juste après le traitement, il vaut mieux analyser le prélèvement à la recherche de l’ADN tumoral un certain temps (par exemple quelques mois) après la fin du traitement.

Biopsie robotique

Une biopsie robotique consiste à prélever des cellules ou du tissu afin de les analyser au microscope. La biopsie robotique a recours à la chirurgie robotique, qui est souvent pratiquée par laparoscopie à travers 5 ou 6 petites coupures (incisions) chirurgicales. En chirurgie robotique, le médecin est assis à un poste de contrôle situé près de la table d’opération, surveille un écran qui montre une vidéo en direct de l’intervention et utilise des contrôles pour bouger 2 ou 3 bras robotiques connectés aux instruments chirurgicaux qui prélèvent du tissu.

Techniques et appareils d’imagerie

Les examens d'imagerie, comme la radiographie, l’IRM, l’échographie et la tomodensitométrie (TDM), sont une façon courante d’écarter ou de confirmer le diagnostic de nombreuses maladies, y compris le cancer. L’imagerie a recours à des machines et des techniques spéciales pour créer des images de l’intérieur du corps afin de savoir si tout est normal et s’il fonctionne bien. L’imagerie est une méthode permettant aux médecins de trouver l’emplacement exact d’un cancer et de vérifier si le cancer s’est propagé. L’information que fournissent les examens d’imagerie est utilisée pour stadifier le cancer et aider à planifier le traitement.

Les chercheurs travaillent à la mise au point de nouveaux examens d'imagerie et continuent d’étudier les examens d'imagerie actuels pour voir s’ils peuvent trouver de meilleures méthodes pour diagnostiquer le cancer, établir un pronostic et planifier le traitement.

Endoscopie virtuelle

L'endoscopie virtuelle est un examen d'imagerie au cours duquel on a recours à la tomodensitométrie (TDM) pour créer des images de l'intérieur d'un organe creux comme l’intestin. Un ordinateur assemble plusieurs clichés pour créer une image tridimensionnelle (3D) de l'organe. Les médecins peuvent ainsi observer en 3D le revêtement d'un organe, comme ils le feraient lors d'une intervention endoscopique habituelle, mais sans avoir à y insérer un endoscope. Des chercheurs étudient l’endoscopie virtuelle comme méthode de diagnostic et de stadification du cancer colorectal et du cancer du poumon.

Tomosynthèse du sein

La tomosynthèse du sein est un examen d’imagerie semblable à la mammographie. On a recours à un appareil de radiographie qui se déplace autour du sein et qui prend des clichés. Les clichés peuvent être superposés pour créer une image du sein en 3D afin d’aider les médecins à détecter le cancer du sein. Des chercheurs tentent de savoir si la tomosynthèse du sein peut permettre de détecter le cancer du sein plus efficacement que la mammographie.

Amélioration des techniques d’imagerie en médecine nucléaire et d’autres techniques d'imagerie actuellement employées

Les chercheurs étudient des méthodes qui permettraient d’améliorer les examens d'imagerie actuels. Ils essaient, par exemple, d’augmenter la rapidité de fonctionnement de la TDM spiralée (multicoupe) et d’accroître la qualité des images pour obtenir plus de détails.

Les examens d’imagerie en médecine nucléaire permettent d’observer les changements moléculaires à l’intérieur du corps afin d’aider à diagnostiquer le cancer. C’est un type d’imagerie médicale au cours duquel on utilise des produits radiopharmaceutiques pour observer les organes et les tissus et connaître leur qualité de fonctionnement. Certains des examens d’imagerie en médecine nucléaire que les chercheurs tentent d’améliorer comprennent la tomographie par émission de positrons (TEP) et la tomographie d’émission à photon unique (TEPU). Ces deux examens ont recours à des produits radiopharmaceutiques et à un dispositif de balayage pour collecter des renseignements sur les molécules présentes dans le corps. Un ordinateur produit des images à partir de ces renseignements.

La TEP aide à trouver un cancer en mesurant combien de sucre (fixé à un produit radiopharmaceutique) est absorbé par les cellules. Les cellules cancéreuses absorbent plus de molécules de sucre que les cellules normales et le font plus rapidement que les cellules normales. Grâce à la recherche, la TEP est de plus en plus efficace pour détecter de plus petits cancers qui se développent lentement.

La TEPU est un examen d’imagerie le plus souvent employé pour observer la circulation sanguine, en particulier dans le cœur et le cerveau. Les chercheurs évaluent comment la TEPU pourrait être utile pour détecter certains types de cancer. Avant la TEPU, des anticorps (fixés à un produit radiopharmaceutique) qui trouvent les cellules cancéreuses et qui s’y collent sont injectés, avalés ou inhalés. Puis on fait la TEPU afin de détecter la substance radioactive qui révélera où se situe la tumeur.

Faibles doses de radiation

Certains examens d'imagerie, comme la tomodensitométrie (TDM) et la radiographie, emploient de la radiation. Les appareils d’imagerie qui utilisent des doses élevées de radiation, comme pour la TDM et les examens d’imagerie en médecine nucléaire, sont utilisés plus souvent que par le passé. Les chercheurs tentent donc d’élaborer de meilleures lignes directrices pour protéger les personnes de la radiation médicale, par exemple en :

  • recourant à ces examens uniquement lorsqu’ils sont absolument nécessaires;
  • recourant à d’autres examens qui n’émettent pas de radiation (comme l’échographie), lorsque cela est possible;
  • adaptant les doses de radiation à chaque personne en fonction de leur taille afin d’employer la plus petite dose de radiation possible, ce qui est particulièrement important chez les enfants;
  • notant la quantité de radiation médicale à laquelle vous êtes exposés au cours de toute votre vie;
  • surveillant mieux la quantité de radiation que les appareils émettent.

Les chercheurs pensent que ces lignes directrices aideront à s’assurer que vous puissiez tirer des bienfaits des examens qui ont recours à la radiation médicale au moment où vous en avez besoin tout en vous faisant courir le moins de risques possible.

stade

Description de l’étendue du cancer dans le corps, dont la taille de la tumeur, la présence de cellules cancéreuses dans les ganglions lymphatiques et la propagation de la maladie de l’emplacement initial vers d’autres parties du corps.

Les stades se basent sur des critères spécifiques de chaque type de cancer.

La méthode qui consiste à déterminer l’étendue du cancer dans le corps en se fondant sur des examens et des tests est appelée stadification.

gène

Unité biologique fondamentale responsable de la transmission des caractères héréditaires des parents à leur enfant. Les gènes sont des segments d’ADN qui déterminent les caractéristiques particulières d’une personne.

acide désoxyribonucléique (ADN)

Molécules à l’intérieur de la cellule qui ont la capacité de programmer l’information génétique. L’ADN détermine la structure, la fonction et le comportement d’une cellule.

endoscopie

Intervention lors de laquelle on utilise un endoscope (instrument mince semblable à un tube muni d’une source lumineuse et d’une lentille) pour examiner ou traiter des organes ou des structures du corps.

On peut prélever des cellules ou du tissu pour les examiner au microscope. Les médecins peuvent aussi avoir recours à l’endoscopie pour arrêter un saignement ou enlever des tumeurs et des corps étrangers.

On nomme chaque endoscopie spécialisée selon l’organe ou la structure qu’elle permet d’examiner ou de traiter.

mammographie

Intervention visant à obtenir une image radiologique du sein.

Les médecins ont recours à la mammographie pour détecter des tumeurs ou des kystes (genre de sac habituellement rempli d'une substance liquide ou semi-solide) aux seins.

Les différents types de mammographie incluent la mammographie de dépistage et la mammographie diagnostique.

L’image radiologique ainsi obtenue est appelée cliché mammaire.

produit radiopharmaceutique

Médicament qui contient une substance radioactive.

Un produit radiopharmaceutique peut être utilisé pour diagnostiquer et traiter le cancer et d’autres maladies.

Ce médicament est aussi appelé médicament radioactif.

Histoires

Dr David Hammond Les cigarettes électroniques au Canada

Plus de details

Réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – main avec signe de dollar flottant au-dessus d’elle

Les Canadiens peuvent aider la SCC à financer les meilleurs projets de recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer en étant donateurs ou bénévoles.

Apprenez-en plus