You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Dr Torsten Nielsen

Bernard and Francine Dorval Prize co-recipient in 2012

Dr Torsten Nielsen Dr Torsten Nielsen is an international leader in the development of new diagnostic tools and predictive clinical tests that lead to improved treatments. His research focus is in the areas of breast cancer and musculoskeletal tumours.

The goals of Dr Nielsen’s research are to develop systemic treatments for musculoskeletal tumours and to develop practical clinical tests to identify aggressive subtypes of breast cancer. His research has already led to the adoption of new diagnostic and prognostic tests and to clinical trials in North America.

Dr Nielsen is a professor in the department of pathology and laboratory medicine and the associate director of the MD/PhD program at the University of British Columbia. He is a clinician-scientist at the BC Cancer Agency and the Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute. He also contributes to the planning of clinical trials for the Canadian Cancer Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials Group and the U.S.-based Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology.

Dr Nielsen is a highly productive and well published researcher, including a landmark 2002 article on the molecular characterization of soft tissue tumours, which is still among the most heavily cited papers in soft tissue pathology. Dr Nielsen is committed to public service, teaching and education and works to communicate the work being done in his lab with the broader community.

A-|A|A+

Stories

Dr Steven Jones Using cancer genetics to guide personalized treatment

Read more

Reducing the burden of cancer

Icon - hand with dollar sign floating above it

Canadians can help CCS fund the best research and support people living with cancer by donating and volunteering.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Dr Torsten Nielsen

Prix Bernard et Francine Dorval corécipiendaire en 2012

Dr Torsten Nielsen Le Dr Torsten Nielsen est un chef de file international dans l’élaboration de nouveaux outils diagnostiques et de tests cliniques prédictifs permettant d’améliorer les traitements. Il travaille plus particulièrement dans les domaines du cancer du sein et des tumeurs musculosquelettiques.

Les recherches scientifiques du Dr Nielsen ont pour but de mettre au point des traitements systémiques pour les tumeurs musculosquelettiques et d’élaborer des tests cliniques pratiques afin d’identifier les sous-types virulents de cancer du sein. Ses travaux ont déjà donné lieu à l’adoption de nouveaux tests diagnostiques et pronostiques ainsi qu’à des essais cliniques en Amérique du Nord.

Le Dr Nielsen est professeur au département de pathologie et de médecine de laboratoire à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, où il est également codirecteur du programme de doctorat en sciences médicales (MD/PhD). Il est clinicien-chercheur à la BC Cancer Agency et au Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute. Il participe aussi à la planification d’essais cliniques pour le Groupe des essais cliniques de l’INCC à la Société canadienne du cancer et pour l’Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology aux États-Unis.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Carol Leuken Prairie Women on Snowmobiles est une expérience qui vous transforme à jamais.

Plus de details

Quel est le risque à vie d’avoir le cancer?

Icône - 1 sur 2

Selon le plus récent rapport Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer, environ la moitié des Canadiens pourraient recevoir un diagnostic de cancer au cours de leur vie.

Apprenez-en plus