Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

About our research

Investing in the best research has led to tremendous progress against cancer. We know more about what causes cancer, how it develops, how best to treat it and how we can improve the quality of life of people living with cancer. Today, over 60% of Canadians diagnosed with cancer will survive at least 5 years after their diagnosis. In the 1940s, survival was about 25%.

In 2015–2016, the Canadian Cancer Society funded $44 million in leading-edge research supporting more than 350 projects across the country, thanks to our donors. As the largest national charitable funder of cancer research in Canada, we are leading the fight against cancer.

investment by research area infographic

Search our database of research projects currently funded by the Canadian Cancer Society.



Brock Taraba Brock has been cancer free for over a decade, thanks to the support we received from the Canadian Cancer Society.

Read Brock's story

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

La recherche

Investir dans la recherche la plus prometteuse nous a permis de faire d’immenses progrès aux dépens du cancer. Nous en savons davantage sur les causes du cancer, la manière dont il se développe, comment le traiter et comment améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Aujourd’hui, cinq ans après leur diagnostic, plus de 60 % des Canadiens atteints de cancer sont toujours en vie. Dans les années 1940, le taux de survie était d’environ 25 %.

Grâce à nos donateurs, la Société canadienne du cancer a investi 44 millions de dollars dans la recherche de pointe en 2015-2016, permettant de financer plus de 350 projets à travers le pays. La Société canadienne du cancer est l'organisme de bienfaisance national qui subventionne le plus la recherche sur le cancer, c'est pour cela que nous sommes le chef de file de la lutte contre le cancer.

Infographie des investissements par domaine de recherche

Vous trouverez tous les projets de recherche que la Société canadienne du cancer subventionne actuellement sur notre base de données.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Marie Whitehead Déceler le cancer le plus tôt possible. C’est ce qui compte avant tout. Cela pourrait vous sauver la vie.

Lisez l’histoire de Marie

Faire face au fardeau financier du cancer

Illustration de pièces de monnaie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit de précieux renseignements sur les programmes gouvernementaux en matière de revenu, l’aide financière et les autres ressources à la disposition des familles qui essaient de boucler leur budget en cette période difficile.

Apprenez-en plus